Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Good place. I would go back. It's essentially a pub (complete w/ some entertainment, such as salsa lessons, music performances, etc) with the rooms upstairs. Thus, you can chill out downstairs in the pub getting to know other travellers, &/or the locals. The other things I liked was that the lockers in the rooms were big (bring your own lock), the free breakfast was epic (healthy buffet items, plus you can order an omelette, also free), and there are free hot/cold drinks available all day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.1

This place is amazing! Free soft drinks at the bar, free breakfast with omelets and smoothies, free towels, and rentable locks and adaptors. The building is super cute and right on the river which is very fun! It has a nice atmosphere and the staff are super helpful, even walking you up to your room on the first day. I think the only thing I disliked it is how far it is from the city center, but by tube that's no problem. All in all a great stay and I would highly recommend for a night in London

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.3

Majority of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! Rooms were a nice size and very clean, though not quite enough lockers for every person. We didn't get to the free breakfast, but it sounded like a great deal! Only a 20 minute walk from Victoria station, with a bus stop right outside the front door! Bathrooms were quite clean with enough showers to go around! Would definitely stay again, great value for money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are super happy to read our staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! It is also lovely to know our cleanliness met your expectations and that the hostel's location helped you make the most of your visits. We look forward to seeing you at Travel Joy soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Great. I never rate. But this hostel deserves a high rating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us - we couldn't be happier to know you've enjoyed your stay so much! We definitely look forward to having you back.

22nd Mar 2017
10.0

Great spot in London. Close to everything. Staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It is really lovely to know our staff made such an impression and that our location helped you make the most of your visit. We look forward to seeing you back at Travel Joy!

20th Mar 2017
8.6

Free breakfast and it's pretty good. Hostel is decent in all respects. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.7

I'm a solo 22 year old female from US and highly recommend this hostel. I showed up early the day I was to arrive and they let me have breakfast before I could even check in. And this breakfast is not just toast...they make you an inlet and pancakes and fruit smoothies!!! Kept my bags there hours before I checked in and hours after I checked out. Free towel. Clean. Quiet. Pretty decent location..just 15 min South walking distance from center city and very close to Victoria bus sta. Highly rec!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We couldn't be happier to read you had such a pleasant experience at Travel Joy. It was particularly good to find out how accommodating our staff was and how our location helped you getting around London. We definitely hope to welcome you back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
4.9

Rooms were very cramped and pungent and the overall facilities were rather decrepit. The staff was fairly rude and pushy. Overall experience was mediocre, not a great return on investment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated, as we believe there is always room for improvement. It is quite disappointing to read you didn't enjoy your stay at Travel Joy, so please accept our most honest apologies for not meeting your expectations. About our staff's behaviour, we can ensure you we'll further investigate, as they've always been our strongest asset. We take pride in providing the best customer service we can and making sure our team is always helpful and considerate. This said, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future to give you a better impression of our hostel.

  • hvandepol
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
7.4

Security: In-room lockers per person large enough to fit a carry-on suitcase. But someone has their phone stolen in their sleep while charging. Need keycard for the three "check points" to the rooms: from Bar to stairs, from stairs to hallway, from hallway to room. Location: Bus 24 is 24 hr service, but it takes 20 mins to get to Victoria station, which was a main point between most of the places we went, including the guided tours. Grosvenor Rd is a busy street with high traffic noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad to know our location helped you make the most of your visit to London. In regards to your concerns about security, the two check points - one at the bar and one at the room - are exactly to keep our guests safe. We look forward to see you again in the future!

13th Mar 2017
6.0

Not much atmosphere to speak of. Bed was pretty awful, showers and bathrooms were fine. Location good, near transportation. Safe and quiet neighborhood. Our room was entirely 30+ which felt weird. Incredible breakfast. I'd say not good enough facilities or price for if you just want a bed, and definitely go somewhere else if you want a good environment. That being said, I was only here for three non-weekend days in March so take what I say with a grain of salt.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing a review with us. We are glad to read you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast buffet and that our location helped you make the most of your visit to London. In regards to your feedback about the 30+ guests, it is our policy to accept travellers of our age. We do look to welcome you back in the future and give you a better impression.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.