X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Reviews

111 Grosvenor Road, Pimlico, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2615 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Travel Joy was a great hostel with quality staff who do try to look after your every need. A little out of the way, however, a fantastic location on the water. Great social atmosphere and pub and the free breakfasts are a huge plus. I'd definitely recommend a stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking some time to write us your lovely review!! Thanks for really taking note of our great location. We really appreciate that you felt our welcoming and homely vibe, be assured your kind words have been shared with the entire team! Thanks also for recommending us and we all hope to see you back soon at Travel Joy Hostels!!!

77%

The hostel has a pretty good location, within walking distance of Big Ben and other sites you'll probably want to see, but my bed was a bit on the uncomfy side for a hostel of this price (sharp springs). If you're looking for a quiet place to stay, you might want to go elsewhere, but if you're up for a drink and an open mic night, this place might be up your alley

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for leaving us your feedback !!! We are glad to know you enjoyed our Open Mic Night, which is a busier night than usual... Sorry to hear your bed wasn't really comfy but you'll be happy to know we are in progress to change all our beds and mattresses, for next time ;) Hope to see you back soon at Travel Joy !

94%

Loved the atmosphere. The staff was really nice and helpful. Supernice breakfast! Good location. I could easily go back to stay att travel joy at the next visit in London.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and loved our location and staff! We hope you return, we'll be so happy to welcome you back!

89%

Really good hostel! Free breakfast is amazing and so is the food at the restaurant, not to mention free non alcoholic drinks 24/7. All the staff were absolute gems! Only problem was the mattresses weren't great but other than that everything else was fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so thrilled that you felt so welcomed and that our lovely staffed were as helpful as always ! Sorry to hear your mattress wasn't really comfy, but you'll be happy to know all our mattresses will be replaced really soon! We hope to welcome you back soon !!

63%

No computers which was a massive thing for me. They advertised it but didn't have them. I lost my computer so was desperate for this advertised facility . Staff were really good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback ! We do have a computer for our guest to use, free of charges!! We also have free printing/scan service ! You just need to ask at the reception... It was a pleasure to have you and we hope you come back to visit us again soon!

94%

Best hostel ive ever stayed at keep doing what your doing. Food was fantastic both breakfast (which was free) and the thai dinner (great quality and value for money). Staff where the friendliest and most helpful and accomodating ive ever encountered. One of the best open and inclusive atmospheres ive been in. The only way you could make this place better is to somehow uproot it and transport it to a more centralised location. However since that seems slightly impossible dont worry about it ;)

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are extremely happy we exceeded your expectations! Be assured your nice words have already been shared with the entire team. We're glad you felt our homely and family atmosphere! When the technology comes out to uproot and transport we promise you it will be the first thing we'll do (even if we have to admit we'll miss a lot to live by the River Thames, across the amazing Battersea Power Station...) We hope you visit us again soon!!

91%

Really enjoyed my stay, the staff were friendly and the open mic night was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so happy you had a good time here with us and during our Open Mic ! Hope to welcome you back soon at Travel Joy Hostels !!!

97%

One of the best hostels so far. It's a bit of a walk from the tube but definitely worth it! What is 15 minutes anyway? The staff, especially Marine, was the best. Very accommodating and nice enough to extend a helping hand. I also love the fact that they give free soft drinks and coffee on a 24-hour service. Yes. This is true! And by far, they serve the best breakfast. Freshly cooked omelettes are the best!


69%

Tiny floors, really hard to carry your luggage. Common rooms were not tidy. However, friendly staff and good breakfasts.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We do have only one common room and it's our pub/lounge area on our ground floor, sorry to hear you find it wasn't tidy enough, we will take into consideration your comment for the future. We always try to help our guests as much as possible so please next time ask the staff to give you a hand for your suitcases! Be assured your nice words have been shared with the entire team, hope to see you really soon at Travel Joy, safe travel!

86%

Battersea Power Station across the Thames as a back drop. Tour De France cycle lane traffic in the morning which is funny to see. Nice pub / hostel on top. Good staff aswell.


97%

The staf was very friendly and welcoming and I was very glad they did not have age limit. Very nice atmosphere in the livingroom!

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this really nice feedback on your stay at Travel Joy Hostels. We are very happy to hear you were pleased with your experience here. We hope you will decide to visit us on your next trip to London!

97%

One of the staffs behaviour is appalling my last day one of the girls who worked there was prolly pissed of that she had trash bin duty that she grabbed the bags and just dropped the bins and made such a ruckus while people were having drinks.otherwise nice hostel free soda coffee and tea anytime everyday.nice bar.movie nights with free popcorn.would have rated this higher if not for that incident.the rest of the staff were quite nice and helpful.clean showers and rooms.nice location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We like to hear you could make the most of our free amenities! Thank you as well for your nice words about the staff. Regarding the behavior of one of our girls that evening, be assured this is really unusual! Every staff members of Travel Joy are volunteers. Glad it didn't stop you to leave us a high rated review! We really do hope to see soon at Travel Joy, safe travel !!!

77%

Good value overall because of benefits like free drinks, breakfast, linens, and towel. Breakfast service was excellent, with free pancakes and omelettes made to order, and a great bar/lounge area with food and beers all day. Security was good except the lockers, which only work with specific padlocks. Staff was very helpful and accommodating, and I liked the location. Cleanliness was good except an awful smell in our room the first night, which later went away (rooms were very crowded).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback ! Delighted you liked our staff and our wonderful location too! We are very glad you could make out the most of our free continental breakfast and our variety of soft drinks available for guests! We hope you will decide to visit us again if you come back to London!

100%

We had a great time in this hostel! It was like a home in the big city. When we go back to London next year we go back to this hostel and to are friends.. Cause the people in the Travel Joy Hostel became our friends. Thank you for everything!!!

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you very much for such kind words and for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review !! We really really appreciate it and we loved having you here as guests and as new friends of the TJH Family!! Can't wait to see you next year and thanks again!!

94%

The hostel is very nice! They offer soft drinks all the time for free, and the breakfast is really good! They have pancakes!! For me, the only problem is the subway station, that is a little far from the hostel, they have a bus stop in front (but it's not very good to get around by bus in London, due to traffic). Along with the hostel, they have a pub with a restaurant (the food is good).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It was a pleasure to have you here with us ! We are very happy that the hostel and our amenities were of your satisfaction and that you felt our friendly vibe! Next time, you can ask the reception, the staff can show you a shortest way to the tube station, it is only less than 10min walk from the Hostel. We do hope you choose us again when your looking up London accommodation :)

97%

Possibly the best hostel in London . Great place to chill out and have a few beers . Amazing Staff and the free breakfast and soft drinks is great would highly recommend. Cheers Travel Joy . Wallabies for the next World Cup !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there.. Thanks for taking your time to write us such a nice review ! We are so happy that you liked us and that the staff lived up to expectations. Thank you for also recommending us, means a lot! Safe Travels and we hope you choose us again in the future!

80%

+ Best value in London Good location - central, 15mins walk to Pimlico station, bus stop at the front door (bus 24) Staff are friendly Plenty or organised activities Comfy lounge/bar area - Terrible pillows No kitchen for guests

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We feel very happy you had a good time staying at Travel Joy with us. We are delighted to hear the amenities, free breakfast and activities made it possible for you to enjoy your time here even more! Sorry to hear about the pillow... Thank you again hope to see you on your next visit to London!

91%

AMAZING hostel. Very clean hostel, and helpful staff. Great for money plenty of interesting and fun travelers. The free sodas and coffees were a big plus. Also it's odd, but I liked there was no age limit. No old creeps when I stayed, but some interesting and cultured guests that would've been excluded if there was an age restriction.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for this amazing review !!! It makes us very proud to get reviews like yours which encourage us to keep up the good work. We couldn't agree more with you about the age restriction, it is exactly why we do not have one !! Hope we see you soon at Travel Joy!

94%

My and my feiend spend an amazing couple of days there. The staff was soo helpful and really friendly. On our second day we jumped into the same taxi as the owner of that place and I have told him aswell what an amazing place it is and the whole atmosphere is lovely. We are deffenetly gonna come back! Thank for making our stay in London awesome!

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review of our hostel. We feel very happy to have caused such a good impression on you and your friend !! Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit to London!

89%

I arrived and asked to check in & had a wonderful woman ask me about my plans. She helped give some suggestions that helped my trip be even better. She mentioned the different things that the hostel offered each night and it was very nice. The first night I was so tired from a full day of walking & exploring that I didn't want to go anywhere so it was nice to have a salsa class in the hostel & then the next night was open mic night which a lot of locals come to too. i enjoyed my stay very much!

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hostel and staff members. It really goes a long way to motivate us! We are delighted to hear you could take advantage of our free amenities and that you found the rooms and the common area of your liking. We hope to see you next time you come to London !

(74 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback