X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Travellers Inn Reviews

290 Jalan Besar, 208953, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
809 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Showers were not clean, linen was OK but very poor overall room


80%

really nice staff


46%

This is not a backpacker hostel! It mostly has people from surrounding nations staying here while they find houses/jobs in Singapore - some of which stay for months or more. The location is quite a walk from the Farrer Park and Little India station - so not the most convenient. The room and bedding was clean - but cramped and basic. The bathrooms were very average - and a shared bathroom between men and women. The only saving grace was having a locker in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, for the record, the guests you met during your 2 nights stay were here for training cum holiday and not here finding jobs/houses as mentioned by you. We are close to Lavender MRT and Farrer Park MRT and if you would have taken the routes as per our directional map, you will find that it is not that far. :)

63%

Had to ask for toilet paper twice in 2 days because they didn't refill it. Also the bathrooms were pretty dirty, and I'm sure they were not cleaned daily, beyond a quick wipe down. The staff helped me plan my trip around singapore, sitting down with me and going over the map. Breakfast is white bread, peanut butter, butter, jam, tea, coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear J, regrettably there were some guests during your stay period loved the toilet papers we provide. :) They kept taking despite our staff kept filling up. For the record, the toilet and shower rooms are cleaned daily, at least twice a day., hence, unfortunately, you had to meet inconsiderate users during your stay period. :)

74%

Good hostel, unfortunately not the best location. Some construction works + big traffic made sleeping only with earplugs possible for me. Apart from that all good. Very friendly staff, clean, nice AC in rooms, free fast wifi, modern toilets/ showers


77%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is basic but clean. Breakfast is basic; toast with coffee or tea. The only thing that bothered me was the noise. My room was next to the busy road. This caused a few sleepless nights. Location is good; close to two mrt stations (10 minute walk). There were many backpackers staying here from all over the place.


97%

Highly enjoyed my time at the Travellers Inn. very friendly staff, great location, excellent wifi, close to public transport and shops. I'd definitely recommend to friends and would stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi T, BiG Thank You for your kind review ! :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to strive to do our BesT for all our guests ! :) Thank you once again and hope to be of service to you when you next visit Singapore ! :) Have a GreaT 2014 ! :))

100%

I stayed here 2 weeks ago and everyone in the staff was very friendly, it wasn't a hostel, it felt more like home. I am definitely going to stay here again and I recommend this place to friends. It's very clean and affordable.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello A, Happy New Year ! Thank You so much for your kind review and appreciation of our efforts ! Sure hope more Guests (if not all ;) ) are as kind and as appreciative like you ! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to see you again soon ! :)

97%

Locate between 2 different metro lines. This adds flexibility in planning your route to see the city. Daniel and his staff are very knowledgeable and will offer their recommendations on the sights and activities. If they're in doubt, they're quick to Google. The bunks are nice that they're sort of enclosed to provide privacy. But it's a little tight got to sleep diagonally.


97%

Wonderful staff who are very very friendly. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Lots of noise outside however it's very easy to sleep to once you're asleep.


100%

we booked private room for 1 night last Friday night 29/11/2013. the room is very clean, AC works very good and cold during the day. they also serve free breakfast with toast and coffee/tea. the host, is genuinely kind person, he makes us feel like its our home and very helpful to advise us where we're going to go or to do. the location is closed from Lavender MRT about 10 minutes walk. they have security system to go in or out the hostel, its very safe.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Travellers Inn is not a bad hostel but not a great one either. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights in their only private room. The room is right outside the common room so you will hear lots of sound. The hostel is pretty central and is near to both MRT-stations Farrer Park and Lavender. There is a busy road right outside and the windows are not so isolated. The breakfast is roasted bread with peanutbutter and jam. The shared toilets and showers are clean. We will not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear O, we pledged to provide our best services, clean and safe environment for all our guests, of which you and your girlfriend experienced as mentioned upon your check out. You also commented the toilet and showers were clean but we scored a low '2'? We hope the overall low rating is not due to the inability of not being able to cancel your last minute booking upon your arrival which seems unfair.

86%

Staff were really lovely and friendly, an asset to the hostel

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

all in all is very good, and cheap for backpacker like me! The staffs also very helpful in case you need information, they will always ready to help!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

good hostel with warm room for dinning room. cool and cozy,

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay with us ! :) Hope to see you and your family/friends soon ! :) Take care ! :)

49%

We don't think toilets were cleaned on daily basis - we were under impression that they were cleaned not more often than every two days. We forgot to tell the staff about early checkout, and the lady that came at 7:30 at the reception desk was not rude and unhappy that she needs to check us out. Otherwise the premium bed was ok, thought it's hard to name it very premium. We were able to rent power converters from the reception with $5 deposit which was really good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, the the record, we pride ourselves to provide clean, safe and homely environment for all our guests. Our toilets are cleaned at least twice a day with regular checks to upkeep the cleanliness. It is unfortunate that the guest before you has a habit to wet the toilet floors and surroundings and it does not seems fair for the low rating.

89%

Big kudos for this survey. What software program are you using to analyze the statistics? SPSS? SAS? Maybe consider 7 satisfaction columns instead of 5. Also ad a question about what country the visitors are coming from? This you can use for future marketing.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback