Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Travellers Oasis

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Travellers Oasis Located at 8 Scott street, Parramatta Park, Cairns.
Travellers Oasis
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 4870 8 Scott street, Parramatta Park
93% 1370
-16.9259169 145.7699704
Travellers Oasis
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jul 2016
9.7

The most helpful staff you'll encounter anywhere. Mellow vibe with great people to meet. Wifi, kitchen, pool, ac, towels you can borrow for excursions, free tea and coffee... Everything we needed! Love!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.7

The best hostel in Cairns. The staff at the reception were realy nice and helpfull. They realy make you feel like you are at your friends house. They will go above and beyond to help you have a great time. The rooms were realy clean and there are beautiful hand painted signs on the walls that you can't help but read them all. A true Oasis.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Great little hostel. Staff we're awesome: they made up the room early for us when we arrived before 2pm, were friendly throughout and even helped me fix my iPhone using their computers. Location is good 10 min walk from the espanade and right next to a massive mall. They have two kitchens for cooking and the double rooms have a fridge :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Great staff, we arrived right on 12 where they were shutting down the office! They were still really happy to take us around and show us where to find our room etc. thanks for the help

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.6

At 65, I was about 3 decades older than anyone else there, apart from one woman, but it was still fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.0

Helen was amazing and extremely helpful. The hostel was nice with a safe for each bed. The kitchens were small but serviceable. The only thing that would have been nice to have that I didn't find common in Australia was either a hand dryer or towels in the washrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
10.0

Great little hostel with nice atmosphere from the guests! The hotel staff is super helpful and they run a little travel agency so they can set you up for fun day trips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.7

Wonderful and extremely helpful staff! Place is very clean and low key, but social events are organized regularly. Location is a tad annoying since you need to walk around a shopping mall after certain hours, but the main bars/cafes/restos are close enough. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.1

Fantastic place! I haven't stayed in too many hostels before, but this one is almost spotlessly clean, all the more remarkable for being in an old house located in a damp, tropical place. The atmosphere is great - a cozy, sheltered outdoor lounge area, always people around to chat and have a beer. It could be a little closer to town, but the upside is that it's really close to a mall with a supermarket. Cairns itself isn't the prettiest town, but this hostel alone is worth coming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Beautifully decorated, quirky little hostel. The Monday night joint BBQ with Tropic Days hostel is really fun - I would definitely recommend it! Only real issue we had was that we had to go outside to a separate building for toilets/showers and there was no bin inside our room. I think some rooms have better access to toilets/showers than others - we just ended up in a bad one. Just got a bit annoying if there was heavy rain outside!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.