X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel Reviews

177 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
243 Total Reviews
  • 59%Value For Money
  • 50%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

No way I could slate this place :) Loved every moment of being here and made friends for life! Don't be afraid to chill outside with everyone. You'll enjoy your stay a million times more


69%

The staff were all very friendly and really helpful with everything we asked them for. The hostel is conveniently located pretty close to transit. It's close to some pretty cool streets with good restaurants, shops, etc. It's definitely the cheapest hostel around, but it is for an 18-bed dorm which is definitely a lot of people. I think the hostel has the potential to be really great, but there were a lot of long-term people who were drunk and loud every night.


89%

A really lovely stay

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a lot of fun there, only stayed for one night and arrived very late but was easy to get my keys and the night manager was very helpful. The staff let me stay all the next day and use the internet and lounge room until my lift arrived to get me. I will 100 percent stay there when I come back

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel ever

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We were asked to leave a review here by the staff at the hostel I read the comments left by other people and i see why.. This hostel is NOT THAT BAD Seriously.. It is old and not everything works right (some leaking taps and things break) but its an old building, they have a guy who lives there who just fixes things haha) But thats what you expect for paying the cheapest price I have stayed in some HORRIBLE hostels, this is not one! Dont expect the ritz and you will be fine Very safe also

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I met my friends in this hostel, They stayed there for much longer than i did, But i really enjoy this hostel This is second time that i come back with them, i was told to stay here by people i meet on my farm work and i really enjoy it They tell us that no one writes to leave good review here This is a good review. Some things are dripping and broken but i see them fixing things and its ok for me

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My friends and i stay here when we are in Melbourne It is good hostel

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and my friends stay here when ever we come back into Melbourne from doing our farm work It is very sad that the reviews are so low for this hostel and that is why we have been asked to leave an honest accounting If you want a cheap place that always seems to be full of fantastic people this is the place to stay It is very clean but people have a lot of stuffs that does spread out and it is an old building Great location for us, free internet and free locker. Perfect

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

If you like drugs, other druggies and don't have valuable stuff it's nice.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We almost did not stay in this hostel because of the bad reviews online. This is a great place to stay, we had a lot of fun with the staff are really nice, and the people are all really friendly and fun It is an old hostel and building and some sinks drip but i see the cleaners everyday and place is very clean, just old It is the best price and perfect hostel if you want to meet great people.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

We were going to stay 8 nights but decided to only stay the one. The area is awful - broken windows and dirty - and then the hostel is an absolute mess. The door to our room was just left open so we didn't want to leave our stuff. The whole atmosphere made me feel uncomfortable. The toilets were absolutely gross and the light didn't even work in one. Even if you're looking for a cheap option, don't stay here.


74%

All in all, if you're backpacking into Melbourne and you're looking for a cheap, closeby and active social environment than travellerstrax is not bad, The staff there are helpful, the backpackers diverse (and mostly German), and is within walking distance to shops, Yes, not all the sinks work, yes somebody may "borrow" your milk and yes you may not feel entirely secure about leaving your stuff in a room of 6, but for what it's worth, it's laid back and fun

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This place was ok, value for money it is what you expect. The place was cleaned on a daily basis. It was cheap and basic, nothing amazing but nothing too bad, however there where lots of non guest there and my dorm was never locked, even if I did lock it other guests opened it and left it unlocked. I had no problems but I kept all valuables on me at all times.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Before i stayed, my friend said don't stay in this hostel. And when i was staying there, i know why my friend said that. Totally not a good place to stay, I felt unsecure staying at the 18 bunk bed dorm, the dorm so dirty and smell soooo bad. Location is quiet far from Cbd. Better pay more money to get a better room at cbd.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice girls!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

It's great if your looking for very cheap accommodation but other than that it's horrible, it's quite far from cvs, the rooms are small and cramped, it's dirty and they give you keys for the rooms but hardly anyone used them during my stay and just forced the door open. I would definitely prefer spending a little more for a cleaner and more centralised location


49%

Some of the staff people was not friendly at all and neither the facilities in the kitchen (not much cooking equipment), WIFI (never work on my iPhone), toilets (2 or 3 for boys only but only one mix in the ground floor), showers (same as the toilets). The way to get the room in the ground floor is not secure, I think! The security is very poor! You have a code on the door on one side of the hostel, but you have a door always open on the other side! So anyone can come in the hostel as he wants!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We've been here for 4 month, very very great hostel ! Nice people, nice team, good vibes ! You never would like to leave this place ! Big kiss love love , see you there !!

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The only reason you'd go to that place it's because its price. Otherwise, it's a dirty, noisy and unsafe hostel.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback