Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 4.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 4.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.9
Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel Located at 177 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne.
Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3066 177 Johnston Street,, Collingwood
54% 334
-37.7997812 144.9911642
Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
7.1

Very underrated here! A cool location near Fitzroy and a long walk or bus or tram to the cbd. Great value prices probably cheapest I've seen. Staff are friendly and although quiet in winter had a cool atmosphere. However, the kitchen was often not clean, food went missing and there wasn't enough cutlery to go around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
6.9

It is pretty good despite the negative reviews published.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • samgchambers
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd May 2016
4.0

It's not the worst place you could stay. Cool location near Smith St which has cool shopping and restaurants. I just wish I realised most people stay here long term which makes the rooms dirty and has there stuff everywhere! Throw out old peoples things if they leave them behind! I think the hostel should have a room for there short term guests and make sure it's clean! Really weird atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.9

Looks rough from the outside, but it's quirky on the inside and the staff are cool, beds are comfortable enough, would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
4.9

Imagine a squat! A ramshackle of buildings and tin shacks shovelled together makes what is Travellers Trax @ the Barley Corn. The hostel itself is full of drunks and homeless people. You enter through a side alley, by some garbage bins. Not clearly sign posted and easily missed. I believe the hostel was undergoing some renovations, but the place should be shut down whilst these are being carried out, the place is like a building site.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2016
3.1

Worst hostel ever. Weird people, everything dirty, even the blankets... cheapest hostel but not worthy at all! Better pay a bit more rather than staying here...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
8.0

It's good location n near the station. Only walk for 5 min. The space is not enough for the room n a bit messy. No place to put the toothpaste, toothbrush or towels at the sink. But the bathroom was clean. The owner n Ppl was nice. This place good for young ppl.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
2.0

This hostel is not fit to be used as a dog kennel and have warned others about how bad it is. I was forced to leave after the first night and could not get the rest of my money refunded. Consequently I had to sleep under a tree for the remaining nights until I acquired more money. The reception was so rude she needed a good smack in the mouth.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2016
5.4

The bathrooms were very dirty. I stayed in two different rooms. In the first one the floor was covered with ants. The second room was slightly cleaner, except for a used condom in the corner... Furthermore I thought it was disappointing that lockers aren't included in the price. The atmosphere was good and the staff were friendly though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.