X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel Reviews

177 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
189 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

very simple hotel and the cheapest in Melbourne but is very correct , free wifi , free computer for internet , free locker for this price I recommends .

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The Staff were unhelpful and lazy. The location was very misleading when it said in the description that was a city based hostel its wasnt it took us over an hour and half to walk there from the city centre. The security was bad, the lockers provided were tiny no space at all. the walk way to upstairs was dangerously unsafe to walk along. The door to the dorm didnt close, the side door to the back yard was open all the time. The kitchen and bathroom facilities were so bad we didnt cook or shower


63%

A place to spend the night or few days


40%

dirty & lousy


57%

Needs somewhere for guests to sit. The lounge is often closed during the day and all night. Other than outside there is nowhere to spend the time whilst the lounge is closed.


29%

I was violently attacked and verbally abused by a man in the 18 bed dorm downstairs I was placed in, even though I had booked a smaller room upstairs. The staff were friends with this man and stuck up for him, sitting in a large group with him after the incident and laughing about it while I was left alone in extreme distress. I checked out 2 days early with no refund and no apology.The place was filthy, people were extremely rude and violent, and staff clearly are not concerned for your safety

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Cant give a full comment cause the hotel hall was under maintenance, however the cleanliness has a lot can be improve eg. rooms a bit messy and smelly , windows frames having holes lake winds

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Stayed in the 18 bed dorm. The door didnt lock. We had no heating, the dorm was freezing day and night. Bad lighting. Unproffessional staff member. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

GREAT PLACE!! I was only there for a short time but I had the best time!!! HUGE>>>> Common area and a great vibe. You always feel welcome and Lovely people

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay here. Staff are very very friendly, like a family. Security was great, you get your own locker free. We will definitely be back and we recommend to every one. Thank you :)

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Fairly basic but friendly staff and well equipped kitchen. You need a security code to get in the door but it's largely pointless as the door is left open most of the time! Close to Fitzroy/Smith St which is a really cool area with lots of bars, cafes and interesting shops. Squeakiest bed I've ever slept in though! I only stayed one night and it was very cheap because I got a last minute deal but I wouldn't base myself here for a longer stay in Melbourne as it's too far out of the CBD.


71%

Decent hostel away from main drag. Easy to get to from airport. Local transport (not airport shuttle) to airport just over 1 hour and cheap. Initially confusing late checkin system works great. Clean enough. Small quarters and bathrooms, but good. Decent kitchen. Staff not always around when you think they will be, but friendly when they are! Small lockers for valuables. Wifi not the greatest. Forgot to give us 2 sheet sets, so we had to share single bunk (tho not the worst for married couple)!


60%

Unhappy with main reception staff as i was double-booked twice and both times had to change my staying options. I When I informed them i was unhappy about this, they explained this was why i received a discounted price- when in fact i was simply charged the price for the room i used, rather than the room i booked. This is not a discount. Night manager was helpful and friendly, no problems there.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately, due to the general style of bookings within hostels, this can happen quite regularly. You are absolutely right in that you were double booked over 2 consecutive days. However, the reason we kept you in the different room was so that you did not have to change rooms twice. In addition, you received a 20% discount on top of the cheaper rate for the room. If you are unsatisfied please let us know and we would be happy to credit you a free nights accommodation. Regards, Trax Team

86%

We had an amazing time Great people Really helpful staff, a very family atmosphere A massive common area, its a converted old bar Looks run down on the out side but amazing inside Had a great time

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks guys You were a pleasure to have stay. And yes it does look like an old dungeon on the out side haha Enjoy your Holiday

57%

everything is dirty but you get what you pay for!!! Staff are very helpful and friendly. kitchen could use a lot more pots and pans and several tea towels would be nice. not sure about the safety of the DIY walkway into the garden but interesting to say the least. we had the fire alarm go off when we were there because people were playing with sparklers. so your safe in that aspect.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

You get what you pay for. Facilities were fine, wifi does not work at all but there are computers you can use free of charge. They do seem to be renovating it though. Major issue was my bed had bed bugs. Had to sleep head to toe with my sis as could never find anyone to tell. Horrible :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
"First thing i have to say is "Whoooaaa up there" "Bedbug" is a curse word in the accommodation industry and can get thrown around very liberally when in most cases is caused by people sweating in there sleep and not changing there sheets In regards to our hostel, we are checked and precautionary sprayed every 3 months and offer a 100% refund if we ever did have any Secondly, our reception is open 12 hours a day and a live in manager Thirdly ... I dont have a thirdly haha.Thanks for the review

91%

These guys are great, had an amazing time, Great value for money, free wifi and the biggest common area i have ever seen!! I recommend to everyone

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Had a good time!!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place to stay, your own locker and very clean new bathrooms Staff like family make you feel like family Great time

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
:) Thanks guys, and whats a little confusion between friends, its the gel that binds us haha Have a great trip and thanks for the stay

91%

Very good place, I think the only part that is not good maybe is the reception is separated from the place... though won't get much communicate with staffs...Actually hope it's gonna be able long term to stay in this place




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback