Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tree House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Mar 2017
6.3

We reserved online about a month ahead of time only to be told they'd given our spot away by a group who wanted to over stay there booking. Cool... don't go here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry for the inconvenience, we constantly aligned our politics for be a better hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

nice medium size hostel, perfect to meet people in the backyard, its just tree steps to plaza la trinidad, the neiborhood its inside the historic area, you can walk to all the best places in cartagena, alfonso is a nice person, they dont speak a lot of english but he make the effort to explain all the thinks about the hostel and cartagena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
6.9

Pretty average overall. The best thing about this place were the newer bathrooms which were kept very clean. But the common areas were too cramped for my tastes and when people smoked it permeated everywhere. The included "breakfast" is 2 slices of white bread and a small piece if fruit, nothing really. AC in our room was broken and only came on full blast which left us shivering or had to be turned off. Verdict: I hung out in a few other local hostels which had better amenities for the same $$

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
4.3

Personal grosero y con mala disposición y huele muy mal la habitación, no es muy limpio el lugar

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.3

The pictures were a little deceiving. There's a rule that the common area needs to be empty and silent by midnight, which I did not like since Cartagena boasts its nightlife. All in all it was a nice stay but a little more expensive than I had thought being on a backpackers budget. If money is tight, there are definitely cheaper options in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.0

Overall a very good although basic hostel. It's small but has a decent courtyard that makes for a relatively social environment. The wifi is pretty average and so is the kitchen. The staff are friendly however whilst I was there none spoke English, although I was told one of the other staff members that wasn't there at the time did speak English. I had trouble explaining some discrepancies in the charges however they were courteous and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • masteryas4549
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
6.6

I liked the atmosphere of the hostel. Great location... and enjoyed sitting the open lounge, small, but easy to talk to people. internet is good. quiet at night. The lady working in the morning was really rude, the breakfast is 2 slices of toasts n 2 papayas... coffee was never ready. it could be chilly at night bcoz of the air con. kitchen was dirty. when i had to pay for the room, the owner picked the highest exchange rate. i should have paid 150k, and asked for 170k... so we agreed on 160k.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Really nice people. I will definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Dec 2016
5.1

When we arrived we were coerced into paying up front for a whole week even though other people staying at the hostel were paying after they stayed. After having to pay we had to leave for emergency reasons and we were flatly refused by the owner to have our money returned. To top this off they requested documentation to prove our need to leave. Out of the 6 people in our group, only 3 of us received change from our payment at the start. The guy at night was nice, woman during the day not so much

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall things were good, but lasting memory is their treatment of another group of travelers regarding a cancellation request. Their request was within policy, but the lady claimed she had no authority to refund the balance, which was reasonable. However, she refused to call the owner and insisted he would check in later as she hid the remaining cash. Of course, he never called (if he even exists). Eventually they got the police involved and eventually resolved. So unnecessary and petty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.