Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tree House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 99 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 99 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.4
Tree House Hostel Located at Calle San Antonio 25 - 99, , Cartagena.
Tree House Hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 00000 Calle San Antonio 25 - 99
81% 99
10.4199265 -75.5461406
Tree House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jan 2017
8.3

The pictures were a little deceiving. There's a rule that the common area needs to be empty and silent by midnight, which I did not like since Cartagena boasts its nightlife. All in all it was a nice stay but a little more expensive than I had thought being on a backpackers budget. If money is tight, there are definitely cheaper options in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • masteryas4549
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jan 2017
6.6

I liked the atmosphere of the hostel. Great location... and enjoyed sitting the open lounge, small, but easy to talk to people. internet is good. quiet at night. The lady working in the morning was really rude, the breakfast is 2 slices of toasts n 2 papayas... coffee was never ready. it could be chilly at night bcoz of the air con. kitchen was dirty. when i had to pay for the room, the owner picked the highest exchange rate. i should have paid 150k, and asked for 170k... so we agreed on 160k.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Really nice people. I will definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Dec 2016
5.1

When we arrived we were coerced into paying up front for a whole week even though other people staying at the hostel were paying after they stayed. After having to pay we had to leave for emergency reasons and we were flatly refused by the owner to have our money returned. To top this off they requested documentation to prove our need to leave. Out of the 6 people in our group, only 3 of us received change from our payment at the start. The guy at night was nice, woman during the day not so much

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall things were good, but lasting memory is their treatment of another group of travelers regarding a cancellation request. Their request was within policy, but the lady claimed she had no authority to refund the balance, which was reasonable. However, she refused to call the owner and insisted he would check in later as she hid the remaining cash. Of course, he never called (if he even exists). Eventually they got the police involved and eventually resolved. So unnecessary and petty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
6.6

This hostel is unique in Colombia as you can sleep when you want to sleep (unlike other hostels where drugged irresponsible tourists stay up late blasting their music and hostels aren't able to do anything). Kitchen was filthy for the whole three days we were there, but washrooms were awesome.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

Little noisey due to people partying and a helicopter flying overhead during the morning hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
2.0

Had to change plans at the last minute. My phone doesn't work over seas so I read the policy sent to me by Hostel world, that if I no-showed I'd be charged for one day. So at ~$14 $8 which i'd already paid in the deposit, it was not worth the $6 to stop my trip to go somewhere and use a computer. The hostel charged me for four days. Refused a refund, stated it was in their policy. I sent them the policy I had reviewed from Hostel World in the email. Hostel world won't help or respond.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
8.0

Very nice owner, sadly no English skills at all. Lockers are missing in some rooms which makes it a bit less safe. Good wifi and nice common area. Overall a good hostel that I would stay in again, just nothing really special for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay in Cartagena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.