Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Trek Global

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
7.7

Not a bad place, but unfortunately got there on a night when a lot of people were partying and there were 50+ people being loud outside the hostel around 11-12 at night with what looked like a bouncer stopping them going inside to drink. Bed, kitchen and bathroom were alright, nice enough but nothing really wow about the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

i enjoyed my stay and have no complaints and i will stay again when next in wellington,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th May 2017
6.0

Not my type of hostel (if you want to get some sleep). Very party-kind-of-hostel. My room was clean but kitchens - one in each floor- were not clean at all. Microwaves were really old and dirty, and there weren't enough dishes, glasses etc for all the people. Besides kitchens were cleaned around 7 / 8 am so if you wanted to have breakfast early you wouldn't find it very comfortable...Staff was friendly though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
7.1

Very noisy hostel, the rooms have windows that don't isolate the noise from the common lounge and terrace... so it's a bit as if the party was happening in the room. Also the kitchens are too small for so many people. The kind of place you don't want to stay at more than 1 day..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Had a problem with someone else in our room, reception were so helpful and sorted it out for us. Very efficient and it was no bother at all

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
8.6

Decent hostel for the price! Great facilities but lots of long term people. But still sociable, and each floor has their own facilities. I had a great time here and would definitely recommend. It is about a 10 minute walk to Cuba street so not bad, staff are helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.6

Good hostel, great Central location. Limited bathrooms for sharing in our "purple wing", not a problem if you're not in a rush. Great wee place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.4

Hostel was fine but wouldn't have wanted to stay more than a couple of nights. Full of long term residents who's clothes were all over the room. My sheets had not been changed from the person before (i used a sleeping bag liner so not the end of the world). Facilities are god and good location but not greaf for solo traveller and one of my least favourite hostels in New Zealand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great, a very friendly place to be. The only thing I would comment on would be the mattress on the bottom bunk, it was really thin and you could feel the boards underneath you. The mattress on the top bunk was a lot better. Other than that, I would stay again. Oh, and the kitchen on the second floor was super duper clean!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Had a great time here mainly because the people were long term and mostly spoke English. They were up for a laugh and knew the best places to go. Hostel toilets and kitchen weren't the best but not terrible. Is a party hostel so if you wanna sit and relax you wont be doing much of that as its quite noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.