Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Trek Global

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Mar 2017
8.6

Decent hostel for the price! Great facilities but lots of long term people. But still sociable, and each floor has their own facilities. I had a great time here and would definitely recommend. It is about a 10 minute walk to Cuba street so not bad, staff are helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.4

Hostel was fine but wouldn't have wanted to stay more than a couple of nights. Full of long term residents who's clothes were all over the room. My sheets had not been changed from the person before (i used a sleeping bag liner so not the end of the world). Facilities are god and good location but not greaf for solo traveller and one of my least favourite hostels in New Zealand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great, a very friendly place to be. The only thing I would comment on would be the mattress on the bottom bunk, it was really thin and you could feel the boards underneath you. The mattress on the top bunk was a lot better. Other than that, I would stay again. Oh, and the kitchen on the second floor was super duper clean!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.3

Was slightly sceptical about staying here after reading bad reviews but this is actually my favourite hostel in Wellington. It's very reasonably priced, well situated and the staff friendly. Yes, there are a lot of long term backpackers, but I actually preferred this as there were less people moving in and out everyday. Can be noisy at night but quite by 11. Showers and kitchen facilities alright, good that each floor had their own facilities though. Definitely hostel of choice in Wellington

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Mar 2017
5.1

Party hostel !! The first night I stayed at this hostel there was a big party going on and the police arrived. Getting to the female dorms is like walking through a labyrinth. Luggage room was completely full and dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
8.9

For my arrival in the country Trek Glogal was perfect. Very good localisation, good stuff and very clean !! I recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
7.1

Solid backpackers though full of students who had yet to find more permanent accommodation. The staff were a little rude and dismissive the day before I stayed which disappointed me. Wasn't over impressed with the bathrooms either hut they did the trick. It is a nice enough place to sleep and given the proximity the central Wellington you probably won't be doing much else there anyways!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lucsreibe
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Feb 2017
7.4

WiFi only free for one hour...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.9

Wifi only for one hour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Feb 2017
7.1

Location is great and the hostel has everything you could need, all be it the kitchen on our floor very small. Our communal area was also full of long-term tenants so atmosphere wasn't great for ourselves being two backpackers. Staff were very helpful when we needed an item sending back to us in the UK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.