X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Trek Global Reviews

9 O'Reily Ave, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

This place is dull, the staff the building. The room i stayed in was filthy as a pig sty. used plates on the floor, worn clothes, unknown white powder (god knows what) right next to my bed. Wondered why the staff never checked or pass any warning. Only the the reception and ground floor facilities looked great. the rest was just good enough to get by. I am not coming back again. Pretty cheap though and great location. That's the only pro i can say.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We were concerned to read that your stay with us was not enjoyable. We would have been grateful if you had let reception know of your concerns at the time, and we would have done our best to find a solution. All the best for your future travels, Trek Global Team

83%

It was a nice stay in Trek Global Maybe the drinking ban hour should be at 12 instead of 11.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! We need to consider all our guests with the drinking curfew, as some guests need to get up early in the morning while others like to stay up later, and we think that 11pm is a good compromise. Enjoy your future travels, Trek Global Team

66%

There was just a lounge on the ground floor. Not that comfortable when you are staying on the 2th floor. Nice were the many security doors. Staff was friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Unfortunately we don't have enough space to have a lounge on each floor, due to having kitchens in each wing. We have tried to solve this by having lots of communal space on the ground floor for all our guests to enjoy. All the best for your future travels, Trek Global Team

89%

Overall, a great hostel. After complaint about first room stinking, staff moved us straight away :) Place is cleaned regularly and facilities are great, as is location. Couldn't walk in bathroom without shoes as floors soaking from showers (could do with sorting this). Long termers would put tea towels on security doors so that other people from outside dorm could get in which I didn't think was great and may explain why food gets stolen (as per signs on fridge).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate you taking the time to send in your feedback. The issue with the doors is one we are currently facing, so there will be improvement in the near future. We hope to see you again at Trek in the future! Kind Regards, Trek Global Team

54%

The hostel wasn't the worst we have stayed during our world trip however, the staff were by far the worst. All three of the receptionist/hostel owners were rude, condescending and slightly nasty. Wanaka is a beautiful place and is well worth a visit, although I'd strongly advise against booking with this hostel. There is plenty of accomodation in the area in a similar price range that is far better. Do yourself a favour and avoid!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. Normally our customer service is rated quite highly on Hostelworld, so we were quite surprised to read your review. We have taken this very seriously and have contacted you directly for further details. Our hostel is based in Wellington, and you did mention Wanaka in your review - we were wondering whether it was possible that you reviewed the wrong hostel? We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand, Trek Global Team

97%

As an older lady new to hostels, I was a little concerned how it would work out. I needn't have worried- I stayed in the retreat


83%

in my opinion it wasn't necessary to clean the bathrooms 3 times a day.. and everyday (I've stayed there 3 nights) in the time I wanted to shower.. (so that was bad luck but I think most people, especially when they want to checkout, want to shower at 9am) I've stayed in the red section, so I had to cook with the longterm stayers.. those facilities aren't enough in that case.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice staff, we booked a two bed dorm but to make sure we got in the same room we got upgraded to an ensuite double! The bathroom in the was a bit disgusting though - clearly not cleaned. Would stay there again


94%

Other customers of the hostel were noisy on street outside our window throughout the night. Many swipe doors made security great. Would be good to have a sink in the 'female only' area, and maybe a separate toilet, so you don't have to line up waiting for showers. Car-parking was an issue, as we didn't know to book ahead, and there were no spaces left, so we had to pay for street parking ($4/hr!) Otherwise brilliant location though, clean, and friendly staff. Freebies were much appreciated!


66%

The location was excellent as it was right in the centre and a short walk to te papa. It was very clean and the staff on the desk were friendly. The only thing letting it down was the atmosphere as there were a lot of long term guests who were loud, drunk and smoking (wacky backy). We would recommend people to stay here if you can put up with the loud noise as such a good location.


57%

Not one of the better hostels in NZ. Good location and friendly staff. But the hostel was not clean at all, the showers were disgusting. And very noisy, not helped by the fact that the hostel backs onto some flats and they were banging music out


66%

Wasn't really much of a friendly vibe there, kitchen was dirty. Rooms were clean though, showers were nice and big!


63%

Mostly longtermers there, so it is more laid back.


77%

Small rooms that get very hot at night. Everyone very friendly within the hostel. A kitchen on every floor so never feels over crowded. Would recommend this place


91%

Excellent hostel. Brilliant helpful reception staff. Best hot powerful shower in NZ. Good atmosphere, easy to meet people. The 2 bed female dorm is worth the extra money. You get exclusive use of the small rooftop garden and hairdryer and straightner.


91%

Very nice staff, good location


46%

There was a strong smell of rotting garbage on the second floor. The whole place was filthy and the rooms are too close to the common area.


66%

Okey hostel, good rooms and kitchen, nice and clean.


69%

I think the staff need to keep a closer watch over the people staying here. The floor we were on was very dirty, due to people not cleaning up after themselves (beer bottles left everywhere, half eaten bowls of food in the kitchen in the morning etc) The bathrooms should be cleaned more frequently as well thank you :-)


51%

Very noisy with people and doors banging the beds rattled like there where about to collapse the room was filthy when I check in and stayed that way through my stay also there wasn't anough bathrooms


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback