Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Trek Global Reviews

9 O'Reily Ave, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


370 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


If you are backpacker,you shouldn't stay there.Many long term residents.Place is more like Student Dormitory,near University.We stayed 2 nights in 4 bed room,yellow zone.They mix long term with short term.No good.1st night: drunk girl with ALL her belongings on floor and over locker (clothes,razorblades,glass w/ beer).2nd night: 2 drunk guys invaded our room at 3am to play a joke on their friend.They wrong his bed and tried to pull my blankets.Manager gave us private room for our 2 other nights


The common room was really messy but otherwise great place. Very secure!


Okay hostel, only stayed one night. Quite difficult to find from the train station as the street is easy to miss. Maybe include the church in your directions so people have something to look out for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! It is quite tricky to find our backpackers - including the church in directions would be helpful - thanks for the tip! Safe travels, Trek Team


The staff time is so good and te shower is awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Trek Global =) We hope to see you back in the future! All the best, Trek Global


I have plan to back there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Safe Travels, Trek Global


Just a place to stay. The mattress was so worn I felt the metal through on my back but the staff was really great! Boys were on the girl only hall so that was a little iffy. Other than that pretty average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your mattress, we are in the process of replacing the mattresses throughout the hostel, so hopefully if we see you again you will be more comfortable! All the best for your future travels, Trek Global


We stayed on a double bedroom for two nights and didn't spend much time at the hostel. Must say that was very noisy at night till 11:30 or further with the guests playing guitars and drums! And was quite smelly too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for your stay. Apologies about the noise, we do have noise restrictions on site after 11pm, so we will make sure that this is followed up with our security team. We hope to see you again if you visit Wellington in the future, Trek Team


The staff were super helpful and accommodating. Weather was sketchy and Ferry might have been cancelled, they continually checked and even held 6 beds for us just in case...we didn't even have to ask.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Glad we could help - it can be such a pain when your travel plans don't work out! Safe travels for the future, Trek Global Team


A good backpacker. Perfectly situated in Wellington centre. A nice staff at reception. Every kitchen and living area is cleaned regularly (many times per day), and the dorms as well. The bad point was the size of the kitchen in the yellow section (where the 6 persons dorms are situated). It was the size of a small home kitchen, only two people could fit in. And the table beside was only for 4 people.


a very pleasant stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review Trek Global! We really appreciate your feedback =) Kind Regards, Trek Global Team


This place is dull, the staff the building. The room i stayed in was filthy as a pig sty. used plates on the floor, worn clothes, unknown white powder (god knows what) right next to my bed. Wondered why the staff never checked or pass any warning. Only the the reception and ground floor facilities looked great. the rest was just good enough to get by. I am not coming back again. Pretty cheap though and great location. That's the only pro i can say.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We were concerned to read that your stay with us was not enjoyable. We would have been grateful if you had let reception know of your concerns at the time, and we would have done our best to find a solution. All the best for your future travels, Trek Global Team


It was a nice stay in Trek Global Maybe the drinking ban hour should be at 12 instead of 11.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! We need to consider all our guests with the drinking curfew, as some guests need to get up early in the morning while others like to stay up later, and we think that 11pm is a good compromise. Enjoy your future travels, Trek Global Team


There was just a lounge on the ground floor. Not that comfortable when you are staying on the 2th floor. Nice were the many security doors. Staff was friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Unfortunately we don't have enough space to have a lounge on each floor, due to having kitchens in each wing. We have tried to solve this by having lots of communal space on the ground floor for all our guests to enjoy. All the best for your future travels, Trek Global Team


Overall, a great hostel. After complaint about first room stinking, staff moved us straight away :) Place is cleaned regularly and facilities are great, as is location. Couldn't walk in bathroom without shoes as floors soaking from showers (could do with sorting this). Long termers would put tea towels on security doors so that other people from outside dorm could get in which I didn't think was great and may explain why food gets stolen (as per signs on fridge).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate you taking the time to send in your feedback. The issue with the doors is one we are currently facing, so there will be improvement in the near future. We hope to see you again at Trek in the future! Kind Regards, Trek Global Team


The hostel wasn't the worst we have stayed during our world trip however, the staff were by far the worst. All three of the receptionist/hostel owners were rude, condescending and slightly nasty. Wanaka is a beautiful place and is well worth a visit, although I'd strongly advise against booking with this hostel. There is plenty of accomodation in the area in a similar price range that is far better. Do yourself a favour and avoid!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. Normally our customer service is rated quite highly on Hostelworld, so we were quite surprised to read your review. We have taken this very seriously and have contacted you directly for further details. Our hostel is based in Wellington, and you did mention Wanaka in your review - we were wondering whether it was possible that you reviewed the wrong hostel? We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand, Trek Global Team

View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback