X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Trekkers Home Reviews

Thamel, J.P Road, Kathmandu, Nepal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
80 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The most helpful and friendly host that we met in Nepal. Raz is always very helpful and tries his best to offer the best service. Toally recommended.! Perfect location. Great breakfast next door by the way. Even though the whole country has power supply issue but there's always WiFi at the hotel even when the power is off. How amazing! The tour that Raz organized was great and we really enjoy our time in Nepal. Better yet, Raz can customize any tour for all type of needs.


100%

Outrageous was really the politeness and readiness for service. Very charming staff! we enjoyed the hot showers and being very central in Thamel, which is a very good location to start to almost every sight in Kathmandu, was very useful. The rooms were clean and everthing one needed was in there. Very practcial as well is the trekking office which is part of the hostel. So very recommendable place to stay!

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed here twice at both the beginning and end of our trip. The manager Deep is a very nice and helpful man; he went above and beyond in securing our Mount Everest flight tickets and was honest and fair in his price quotes. The second time we stayed at this hotel our original price was honoured. The hotel is right in the heart of Thamel, close to many restaurants, shops, tour offices, etc. Despite the action during the day, the street is quiet at night. The beds were also very comfy :)


80%

This is right in the middle of the action of Thamel. The manager Deep was very warm and inviting. Him and his staff took care of me and my boys.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was fantastic. My friends and I arrived with no plans and within two hours we had a two week trek planned through the Himalayas. Dip the manager was incredibly helpful and planned everything for us. Highly highly highly recommend this hostel.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I would highly recommend this hotel because it's a very good value for the area (very close to every point of interest, bus station, airport). The staff is also very helpful and there is a restaurant in the building. There is also a post office, a travel agency and a cybercafe. Electricity is not available all the time, as everywhere in Kathmandu. Hot water is available almost all the time, as well as the wifi connection.


94%

Dip is the manager and is absolutely brilliant. I just landed in Kathmandu and within 2 hours had planned my trek to Everest base camp. Tour guide, air tickets to lukla and lodging. He is experienced trek guide himself so very valuable advise. Free wifi in rooms as well


89%

The location was a nice and felt very safe.Its in a good central location ,you can easily walk to anywhere you as you want. The room was good and clean.I can sleep as well like a home while I stayed here. The hot shower was so good and free wifi through the hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful,addressing you and make the best for you.The manager was nice and will also help you plan and arrangement your adventures if you want.Everything was perfect. Would definitely stay here again.


100%

I like this [lace as it is centrally located within Thamel tourist area, convinient for shopping for trekking attire and equipment. The hotel Manager is very helpful and accommodating. We are happy with our stay there for two nights.


77%

Good value for money, great location in the heart of Thamel and nice warm showers in our room. Bed was rock hard though. Apart from that was fine. Power was often out but that's pretty common throughout Nepal!

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel fot the price with helpfull and friendly stuff. In low season we recieved better room than we paid. If you order breakfast in the restaurant for the early hour, dont rely on it, they could sleep. You will hear every noise made in next room or in tha hall. Cleanliness is good for the Nepali standards. They have better exchange rates than on the street.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The best place to stay in Thamel. friendly faces and great service!! The tourist office in the hotel is also extremely friendly and more than happy to help with anything you need. Will be back to stay many more times


86%

Very good location.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We originally booked 3 nights at trekkers home and then subsequently changed our plans, they were extremely accommodating with changing our dates. This is an excellent choice for people on a budget and is real value for money. We were so pleased we that we stayed again after our trek and to recognise us as returning guests we were upgraded to deluxe room at no extra charge.. The staff are excellent, helping to book transport, parcel sending etc. We would recommend this hostel, its excellent.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nothing particularly special about this hostel but also nothing to complain about.


100%

Staff were extremely helpful with organizing our trek to Annaparuna. They had a great knowledge and experience base that made everything run smoothly as could be. The guide and porters that were organised through Budget Adventure Treks & Expiditions were friendly and knew the mountains very well and made the trip an amazing once in a life time experience. The food at the restaurant was also the best we had in Nepal. Huge thanks to the teams at Trekkers Home and Budget Adventure Treks. Legends!

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel management so chiotic. Our 4 rooms with twin single beded turned into 2 triple single beded and only a room with twin single bed. The 1st night we have to put up in another hostel with only 3 rooms given and i ended up sleeping on the floor with just a mattress. Apart from that Trekker Home have clean bedsheets and we have good sleep everynight. Near by have an excellent restaurant by the Name of Helena which serve excellent foods, pastry, tea and coffee. Thanks Helena for servces.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Kathmandu Hostels

Please give us your feedback