X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tribu Hostel Reviews

Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, Holbox Island, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
505 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Perfect stay at a wonderful place! Thank you so much!


100%

Such a great, chilled out place in paradise. Couldn't have asked for a better stay and the staff are lovely! Definitely go for the rooms with AC!


89%

Really gorgeous hostel, everything laid out really well - they give you a band illustrated map of the island to show best restaurants and bars etc. Great atmosphere - hammocks everywhere. Quite pricey for a hostel but the pace to stay on Holbox. Do use lockers provided though as a guy in our room got his phone stolen but would still highly recommend.


89%

Unfortunately, the wifi wasn't working due to a storm, as was the ATM on the island, but the staff were super helpful and friendly! Love the look of the hostel, super nice hammocks and kitchen!

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your stay and for your review... We are really sorry for the inconvenience of being without wi-fi for more than 2 weeks, but you've been a wonderful guests and there is a good news : internet is BACK! Also our phone lines are working so we can get back to normal working life. Hope to see you next time in Tribu!

86%

Really nice place with great atmosphere. However, the wifi did not work during our stay and we had one night without electricity and water. The staff apologised for that and was very helpful and caring. Great free activities like slag line workshop at the beach!


100%

Big hostel with nice staff, all commodities and great atmosphere


100%

Amazing atmosphere, lovely, kind staff... If I'm ever back in holbox I'll be coming back here


94%

If you're going to go to Laguna bacalar this is the place to stay. It's right on the water, has a big communal kitchen and breakfast is provided. The sleeping arrangement is a little unauthedox (1 door is a school bus and tents are available) but all in all this hostel was great. Would recommend the 6 bed door that has AC!


94%

for some reason, Tribu never received our reservation ?.... BUT all of the staff there were absolutely amazing!! They were able to get my friend and I into a dorm, and everyone was so sweet to us. We had a blast at Tribu... the game nights, dancing, etc was all great and I would go back in a heartbeat!! Muchisimo gracias!!


100%

really nice place to enjoy the beautifulness of isla holbox, nice place to chill in hammocks, friendly and helpful staff, nice bar bar upstairs closes really early, very few possibilities to charge your phone, not much space in the room to put your staff, nothing to hang anything (just outside)


74%

Poor WiFi.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are really sorry for the inconvenience but due to the saturation and the rainy season, the entire island of Holbox suffered poor connection during this summer. We told to our guests and we also report the problem with the internet company, but Holbox is an remote island and it takes time to fix all kind of problems...usually people come to enjoy the nature.

54%

The hostel is nice however they refuse to turn the A/C during the morning and afternoon even though the heat is unbearable. Moreover, we booked a whale shark tour for which you must pay in advance, but we couldn't go on the tour because one mate got really ill over night. They refused to return us the money. The cost was 1100 pesos each which a lot of money we paid for nothing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, You booked the whale shark and didn't want to go because you felt sick...we understood the situation (also because before opening the hostel, we've been backpackers as you) and asked, begged the company to consider your reservation and let you go the next day without any additional charge. The next day, you refuse to go, saying that you were too tired and preferred to go on the beach even though we told you that in this case you would loose the money...

1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Holbox Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback