X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tribu Hostel Reviews

Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, Holbox Island, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
368 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Alles perfekt bis darauf, dass ich meine Bettwäsche einmal wechseln lassen musste, weil sie dreckig war und die nächste aber auch immernoch ein paar Flecken hatte. Bleibt aber die beste Wahl für Holbox!


97%

Really enjoyed staying here! Went on my own as a solo female traveller and felt at home so quickly. Staff were really friendly and gave me any info I needed,. They even took a group of us out for dinner one night to a great cheap traditional Mexican restaurant. Atmosphere was really friendly and open. Kitchen facilities were perfect - all clean and everything you need! Free water Comfy beds Great location!! from places to get brekkie to the nicest spots on the island


100%

Super tolles hostel! Detailreich und liebevoll gestaltet! Gibt nichts negatives!!


100%

I don't know where to begin but most of all, I felt like it was my home from the very beginning. The owners and people working there are the nicest. It had really made my stay in Mexico. You really feel like you are part of something amazing there. The hostel have everything you need. Don't even think twice and stay here for as long as you can! The island is paradise, streets are made of sand. I can't wait to return.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, the best service and a really nice atmosphere!


100%

One of the best hostels ever! Thanks for a brilliant stay Tribu xxxxxxx


100%

We arrived at Holbox expecting to stay for 3 nights and stayed instead for 8. The Hostel is perfectly situated for ease to the beach and the owners have created a fantastic space & atmosphere in which fun can be had and friendships made. Look no further for your stay on Holbox.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great very friendly people. Poor aircon, and annoying kitchen closes at 11pm. Otherwise fantastic stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola amiga! Thank you for your comment! We appologize if the aircon wasn't working at it's fullest during your stay but we've had maintenance done now and also installed a new aircon in the 6 bed dorm nextdoor, so hopefully the temperature is a bit more bearable now. Hope to see you here again one day!

74%

Mi estancia en tribu ha sido una de mis mejores experiencias en hostel, el ambiente es algo definitivo para aconsejar a otros viajeros como yo, todos con la misma onda y con ganas de divertirse y hacer cosas en grupo. Tribu te ofrece todo eso y mucho más con varios tour para realizar y actividades todos los días si eso es lo que vas buscando.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, great atmosphere, it was very hot at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola amigo, thank you for your comment! We've taken your words into consideration and have now installed airconditioning in the 6 bed dorm as well. Hope to see you back here at Tribu one day in the future! :)

100%

Increíble el hostel. El staff muy amigable y el ambiente muy acorde a la onda de la isla. 100% recomendable

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I highly recommend Tribu enough. The owners at Tribu were friendly and accommodating. I would see them daily with their two young boys and dog. They fostered a welcoming place of serenity with loads of fun and I met new/interesting people - some of which have become great friends who I am still in contact with. Tribu has scheduled bar activities for those looking to mingle and I did Yoga overlooking the Caribbean on the terrace. To me,Tribu represent fun, safety and a break from stresses of NYC

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Gracias por esta experiencia maravillosa en holbox El tribu me encantó ! Muy buena onda ! High recommanded Hostel ! XOXO Paulina

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

El hostel es muy lindo y el personal muy amable y atento, esta ubicado cerca del centro y de la playa. El bar es muy lindo tambien, volveria sin dudar! Lo unico que me hubiese dejado 100% conforme es el desayuno, el cual no esta incluido, y a mi en lo personal me encanta desayunar en el hostel cuando viajo, es un buen momento para compartir con otros viajeros y me es mas comodo que salir a desayunar afuera o tener que prepararlo alli! Igualmente pase unos dias maravillosos alli! Recomendadisimo!


83%

Great hostel over all, but I wish they improve some conditions. I wish they had a kettle for heating water for making the morning coffee/tea. Heating water in a pot on gas stove is extremely time consuming. Also, critical lack of wifi. The wifi was in and out every 30 seconds. Also, in the area where wifi is available, there are only 3 plugs!!! There was a constant line up of people who wanted to plug in their electronic devises. Same story in the dorm. However, their staff is super amazing!!


97%

Great hostel! We had a really good time, the whole hostel was very clean and the staff super friendly and helpful! The private room was very nice, nearly like in a hotel. They have their own bar, a terrasse, yoga classes, tours,... and the hostel is located close to the beach and the town center. Would definitely stay there again!


100%

I have stayed in many hostels all over the world and this one is without a doubt the best so far. The staff is great, everything is very clean, colourful and beautiful decorated, every night there are activities in the hostel bar. The island itself is the absolute paradise-Really cant think of anything negative

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Auf dem öffentlichen Klo stank es oft sehr stark da sie den Mülleimer selten geleert haben , deshalb war er auch ständig überfüllt .


89%

Tribu Hostel ist ein wirklich schönes Hostel, da es nah am Strand liegt, sehr sauber ist und eine tolle Atmosphäre bietet. Ein paar kleine Kritikpunkte sind das Fehlen eines Mülleimers im Schlafsaal sowie der Dusche. Außerdem gibt es in Dusche so gut wie keine Möglichkeiten, die Klamotten oder Handtücher etc. aufzuhängen und als letztes möchte ich die "Leiter" erwähnen, mit der man in das obere des Etagenbettes gelangt. Diese ist eine Zumutung (vor allem beim Abstieg).


97%

Dieses Hostel gleicht einem Hotel und es fehlt einem an nichts. Eine der wenigen Unterkünfte in Mexiko in denen ausgezeichnetes Englisch gesprochen wird. Alles war absolut perfekt, vom ersten bis zum letzten Moment.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Holbox Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback