X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tropic Days Backpackers Reviews

28 Bunting street, Westcourt, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
346 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Overall I absolutely loved this place; comfiest bed


97%

Super friendly and helpful staff, very clean place all around. Great facilities. If you find the main floor kitchen cramped, remember there's another upstairs. Only complaint was the location of our room--sandwiched between the main kitchen and outdoor patio/common area, not much quiet time (even 6 people talking @ reasonable levels comes across as noisy when it's right outside your window!). Definitely recommend this place, but if you want a double room request another besides #10.


91%

The hostel itself is a short walk from the Cairns city center (roughly 15 - 20 mins) but there is a free shuttle bus at regular intervals. The atmosphere is laid back and it is a great place to relax. The Aussie BBQ they have on Mondays is very good. The staff is very friendly and service minded and are more than happy to help you with everything from bookings to suggestions on what you can do in and around Cairns.


97%

Amazing place. kerri, in the reception is an angel. Helpful and patience. She take care of 1 or 2 troubles i had and fix it in 5 min. Thanks sweetheart. The staff is great too. Gabriel the owner is incredible funny and charismatic.... So If you go to Cairns make yourself a favor and go there. It´s a little bit far from the center, but for me was fine cause i don´t like the noisy explanade, and they take you in the free bus if you want go there. Please don´t miss the monday night Barbacue...

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Reception was great, helpful and friendly. Even though it's a little far from town they offer a free shuttle which is great, Wifi isn't very good but if you go into town you can get the community wifi which is a lot better.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Bradley86
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely relaxed atmosphere easy to meet people. Very clean hostel with nice comfortable communal areas and lots of hammocks. Helpful staff, location is a bit out but can walk to town im 20 mins or use the shuttle bus provided. Highly recommend if your looking for a little bit quieter hostel but still fun.


83%

Fantasic hostel, free coffee and bread in the morning,very nice staff,shuttle bus, but there is a lack of toilets and showers.


94%

Great hostel! Free WIFI and shuttlebus to town, great atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

best hostel in cairns. you meet a lot of friendly people there and everything is clean. would recommend it to everyone. there's a shuttle driving into town every hour, so if you want to party or to chill, it's always perfect! FREE WIFI!


94%

I love here. Here is the first place that I stayed one place for my whole trip. They are so friendly and clean. And out of city so not noisy. But buying something is little bit uncomfotable. this is only one bad thing. there is enough area to take a rest with nature. Resonable price and free wifi free shuttlr bus free computer~ if you come to cairn to take a rest, i really recomend here!


80%

Really enjoyed my stay here. But please put some proper locks on the toilets and showers! Also, people were sleeping on the sofas and this meant that no one had real access to those facilities.


74%

Nice run hostel, only booked to stay 4 nights but ended up staying an extra two, the free wifi is a big bonus, plus their staff were all very helpful about anything, would stay again if in the area

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

super relaxed hostel out of the busy city but well connected by a free shuttle bus. Good evening activities and homely rooms :)


94%

Nice vibe, very clean, good night sleep (no party place) Barbecue was amazing, good beds! The only thing i didnt liked was that the second night i was at 3 person room connected to another 3 person room. So the other room also just our door, was a lot more noise than the night before.


97%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! Great staff, atmosphere and overall excellent place. It's a 20 minute walk from the town center, but I didn't mind. There is a regular shuttle that runs hourly. If you're around on a Monday night, they put on an Aussie barbecue. I highly recommend Tropic Days!


100%

This really is a place i will never forget! Bus to town! Best phrase ever go stay and you will see what i mean. Staff are awesome friendly and very helpful. If you want to meet some awesome travellers from all countries, have a bbq, drinks n a time to remember go here! Love you tropic days!!!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

really a good hostel but the window of my room didn't open so we needed to sleep with the door opened! please fix!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great atmosphere; it was like staying in someone's house with friends rather than staying in a hostel. The only negative was the one shower and toilet on the top floor; would be good to have one more shower.


97%

Awesome hostel, great staff and atmosphere, clean, safe...everything you can wish for. Located a 15-20 minute walk from the city center, which didn't bother me at all. Free bus from the hostel to city center and back, several times a day. Whatever you do, don't miss the Monday Aussie BBQ! The owner himself is the chef, and it is a genuine and great atmosphere. Staff is also really great when it comes to helping out with booking tours. Excellent recommendations! Would definitely stay here again!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Was lovely had a private room very reasonably priced came with a tv and private bathroom aswell.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback