Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tuatara Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2017
6.6

Disappointing is the word to use. I think it is the only hostel in town so with no competition there is no effort. Staff were nice and helpful that I dealt with but there is a café inside by reception that gets more attention. No lockers or coat hooks in the room which was OK. Lockers on ground and 2nf floors at $2 and a towel for $3. TV lounge, big kitchen but no atmosphere. 1 male shower and toilet on my landing. Wouldn't really stay again but there is no where else! Seems to sum the place up

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
7.4

Decent place for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
6.3

Stayed here for two nights, first night I was in a room alone with a 50 old guy. Little bit weird. Dorms have small windows, felt like underground. Less ppl around, average common areas. Toilets were old and showers had less water. Was okay for a short stop but i wouldn't go there again. Nicest thing was dominos in the same street. Felt really lonely in that hostel and bad parking spots.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Apr 2017
6.0

Bathrooms need a upgrade. Early Bag storage is $5!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
7.7

I think this hostel would have been really great if there was more of an atmosphere. You can't really blame the hostel though, not many backpackers come to invercargill. Also it was kind of annoying the kitchen was on the very top floor... but nice cafe and pretty good otherwise

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.7

Central location, friendly staff and beds were comfortable enough. Really great cafe at ground level! Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2017
4.6

The bathrooms were very dirty and the showers were clogged. Staff were helpful. The lounge is quite large. Wi-Fi worked well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Feb 2017
6.0

A hostels go it is fine. It has all the basic facilities but no character. I was very disappointed that given we checked in early to pick beds and settle to then find the Staff had agreed to let someone else have the bed I had chosen and that person had moved my belongings - Not Cool! I was actually in the cafe at the time so could easily have been asked plus there were other spare rooms and beds!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
6.6

No windows in the dorms. No shelves for upper bunks. Not enough outlets. Bathrooms need to be renovated. Not really personal and welcoming atmosphere. Location perfect. Café really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.9

private room was nice enough, fine for a night or so as it's in a good location but very average kitchen and bathroom facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.