Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tuatara Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
Tuatara Lodge Located at 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960, Invercargill.
Tuatara Lodge
New Zealand
Invercargill 9810 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960
76% 219
-46.4115068 168.3470732
Tuatara Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Central city location, easy to restaurants and cinema, with pleasant and efficient staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Door locks are a bit temperamental. Sometime they work other times they don't. Need more parking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
7.1

It was okay apart from no hand soap toilet/ shower room Friday 17th and returned 10th still no soap plus none in the mens. My clothes didn't seem to dry in the dryer either, although someone did take them out???? As far as back packers go comfortable bed I think under our bed was not checked thoroughly for last people's rubbish. We did not use kitchen so can not rate it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
7.1

Rooms are a bit soulless, but that's the theme of Invercargill. Everything was quite clean, bathrooms not bad. Didn't really use any of the facilities, but the Cafe/Bar didn't look bad, and staff were fine and helpful in reservation amendments prior to my stay. Location is in the 'centre'. No real complaints, but on-street parking is only free from 6pm to 9am the following day. PRO TIP: Visit the Zookeepers Cafe for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
6.0

Behind the fancy front desk the hostel seems in disrepair: old bathrooms, with some loose mouldy tiles, peeling paint etc. The dorm did not have any windows, so it felt like a cave. It did have a card-locking door though, so it was a secure cave. The kitchen was always full off dirty dishes unfortunately, likely as most people will spend one night here before moving on. I would try to find other places to stay if I were to return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi is free for a reason because it doesn't work, it's a bit old fashioned and the rooms often have no windows but other than that it's a comfortable bed for a rest when passing invercargal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
7.1

It's an older place needs some work but good location for what I need. Nice staff. And a pub next door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Dec 2016
7.1

Good location. Place a bit too old and not the warmest and nicest atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.9

Nice bar underneath and friendly staff. After I had a lovely coffee at the nice I checked in with big expectations. But the staircase was creepy. The room was clean and I had a dormroom for myself. But it was at the street Side and the street lights were so bright I was darker in the room when the sun was out in the morning. The bathroom was old. I was glad I stayed just for one night. It is located in a nice neighberhood though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.6

Atmosphere is lacking a bit, as well as the kitchen, but staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the many bathrooms are spacious, clean and warm. Bag storage is available, good wifi too, and they have a piano.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.