Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tuatara Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Apr 2017
7.7

I think this hostel would have been really great if there was more of an atmosphere. You can't really blame the hostel though, not many backpackers come to invercargill. Also it was kind of annoying the kitchen was on the very top floor... but nice cafe and pretty good otherwise

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.7

Central location, friendly staff and beds were comfortable enough. Really great cafe at ground level! Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2017
4.6

The bathrooms were very dirty and the showers were clogged. Staff were helpful. The lounge is quite large. Wi-Fi worked well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Feb 2017
6.0

A hostels go it is fine. It has all the basic facilities but no character. I was very disappointed that given we checked in early to pick beds and settle to then find the Staff had agreed to let someone else have the bed I had chosen and that person had moved my belongings - Not Cool! I was actually in the cafe at the time so could easily have been asked plus there were other spare rooms and beds!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
6.6

No windows in the dorms. No shelves for upper bunks. Not enough outlets. Bathrooms need to be renovated. Not really personal and welcoming atmosphere. Location perfect. Café really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.9

private room was nice enough, fine for a night or so as it's in a good location but very average kitchen and bathroom facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.7

Felt like I was in a concrete box

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
4.6

The hostel was very run down with very poor maintenance. Bare and broken plasterwork in toilet. Poor;y equipped kitchen. I was unable to find a single wooden spoon to make scrambled egg. The room I occupied had no ventilation or opening windows which I consider is very unhygenic. Also the natural light in my room was minimal since there were very solid grass bricks in place of proper glass. I have stayed in other hostel world hostels and this one was the worst. Haing said this, staff there w

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Central city location, easy to restaurants and cinema, with pleasant and efficient staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Door locks are a bit temperamental. Sometime they work other times they don't. Need more parking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.