Hostelworld.com

Tuatara Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
Tuatara Lodge Located at 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960, Invercargill.
Tuatara Lodge
New Zealand
Invercargill 9810 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960
71% 178
-46.4000000 168.3500000
Tuatara Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
7.1

This hostel is relatively empty, which is great if you just want to read quietly and be left alone. Staff are very courteous. The facilities are poorly maintained, with broken locks on several of the bathrooms and showers, as well as toilets that spray water everywhere when you flush them. Verdict: not bad if you want a quiet place and don't mind broken fixtures.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.0

We spent just one night here, the hostel is really well located in the centre of Invercargill. But the cleaning was pretty bad, showers were disgusting. W watched tv on an antic TV and with VHS video, wich was fun, but the lounge was really good for chill out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
7.7

Could use a fresh lick of paint to liven it up a bit. Slightly dated and a bit clinical, but comfortable and friendly all the same

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
7.4

Standard hostel for the area. Some of the cooker hobs weren't working. Rooms were pretty spacious. Free Wi-Fi was very useful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2016
5.4

Staff were helpful and polite. I requested a female dorm on arrival and the receptionist put me in my own room. Torn carpets in room, ill-equipped kitchen, no atmosphere, very quiet hostel but with music blaring from reception which could be heard in rooms, bathrooms were unclean and laundry room closed most of the day with very outdated washing facilities i.e. duct tape holding doors together. Fine for a night but no more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • gcarpenter
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.9

I have heard interesting things about this hostel all being negative! Mainly because there isn't much to do in the town but that shouldn't reflect the hostel. Throughout all my hostels the beds here were the most comfortable and cleanliness! It was the best night sleep I've had. The showers are pretty good too. Downside is the wifi is terrible only worked in the cafe which shut at 9pm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.1

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly, the location is excellent, the room was nice and clean as were the toilets and showers. We were able to access Wifi in the nearby kitchen which was handy. The kitchen had a reasonable supply of utensils. Some other sites do provide free tea and coffee which is handy for short stays. I would happily stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

Despite appearances from the outside, this was a nice hostel. Rooms warm and comfortable. Decent bathrooms, and a pretty well equipped kitchen. Wifi is free and works. Invercargill itself hasn't got much to entertain you for more than a day but this hostel is fine if you are staying in Invercargill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
1st Apr 2016
6.9

A convenient hostel for an overnight stay. Must pay NZ$3 to rent a towel. No hooks or shelf in shower to place dry items.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.4

Not a bad place. Not all the hobs worked in the kitchen and there wasn't an oven. Wifi was very weak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.