Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tuatara Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
6.6

No windows in the dorms. No shelves for upper bunks. Not enough outlets. Bathrooms need to be renovated. Not really personal and welcoming atmosphere. Location perfect. Café really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.9

private room was nice enough, fine for a night or so as it's in a good location but very average kitchen and bathroom facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.7

Felt like I was in a concrete box

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
4.6

The hostel was very run down with very poor maintenance. Bare and broken plasterwork in toilet. Poor;y equipped kitchen. I was unable to find a single wooden spoon to make scrambled egg. The room I occupied had no ventilation or opening windows which I consider is very unhygenic. Also the natural light in my room was minimal since there were very solid grass bricks in place of proper glass. I have stayed in other hostel world hostels and this one was the worst. Haing said this, staff there w

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Central city location, easy to restaurants and cinema, with pleasant and efficient staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Door locks are a bit temperamental. Sometime they work other times they don't. Need more parking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
7.1

It was okay apart from no hand soap toilet/ shower room Friday 17th and returned 10th still no soap plus none in the mens. My clothes didn't seem to dry in the dryer either, although someone did take them out???? As far as back packers go comfortable bed I think under our bed was not checked thoroughly for last people's rubbish. We did not use kitchen so can not rate it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
7.1

Rooms are a bit soulless, but that's the theme of Invercargill. Everything was quite clean, bathrooms not bad. Didn't really use any of the facilities, but the Cafe/Bar didn't look bad, and staff were fine and helpful in reservation amendments prior to my stay. Location is in the 'centre'. No real complaints, but on-street parking is only free from 6pm to 9am the following day. PRO TIP: Visit the Zookeepers Cafe for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
6.0

Behind the fancy front desk the hostel seems in disrepair: old bathrooms, with some loose mouldy tiles, peeling paint etc. The dorm did not have any windows, so it felt like a cave. It did have a card-locking door though, so it was a secure cave. The kitchen was always full off dirty dishes unfortunately, likely as most people will spend one night here before moving on. I would try to find other places to stay if I were to return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi is free for a reason because it doesn't work, it's a bit old fashioned and the rooms often have no windows but other than that it's a comfortable bed for a rest when passing invercargal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.