Hostelworld.com

Tuatara Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
Tuatara Lodge Located at 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960, Invercargill.
Tuatara Lodge
New Zealand
Invercargill 9810 30 - 32 Dee Street, P.O. Box 960
71% 168
-46.4000000 168.3500000
Tuatara Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2016
5.4

Staff were helpful and polite. I requested a female dorm on arrival and the receptionist put me in my own room. Torn carpets in room, ill-equipped kitchen, no atmosphere, very quiet hostel but with music blaring from reception which could be heard in rooms, bathrooms were unclean and laundry room closed most of the day with very outdated washing facilities i.e. duct tape holding doors together. Fine for a night but no more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • gcarpenter
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.9

I have heard interesting things about this hostel all being negative! Mainly because there isn't much to do in the town but that shouldn't reflect the hostel. Throughout all my hostels the beds here were the most comfortable and cleanliness! It was the best night sleep I've had. The showers are pretty good too. Downside is the wifi is terrible only worked in the cafe which shut at 9pm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.1

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly, the location is excellent, the room was nice and clean as were the toilets and showers. We were able to access Wifi in the nearby kitchen which was handy. The kitchen had a reasonable supply of utensils. Some other sites do provide free tea and coffee which is handy for short stays. I would happily stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

Despite appearances from the outside, this was a nice hostel. Rooms warm and comfortable. Decent bathrooms, and a pretty well equipped kitchen. Wifi is free and works. Invercargill itself hasn't got much to entertain you for more than a day but this hostel is fine if you are staying in Invercargill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
1st Apr 2016
6.9

A convenient hostel for an overnight stay. Must pay NZ$3 to rent a towel. No hooks or shelf in shower to place dry items.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.4

Not a bad place. Not all the hobs worked in the kitchen and there wasn't an oven. Wifi was very weak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Mar 2016
6.9

Good location, near to local shops etc. Ok for a few nights. Rooms are pretty small though and cafe music downstairs starts really early in the morning and is very loud!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2016
7.1

An alright stop for one night. The lady on reception was lovely!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice comfy quiet bedroom, also liked the TV lounge

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
4.3

I must say I was more than a little annoyed with our stay at this backpackers. They over booked our room and hadn't provided the clean linens as prescribed in the advert. The curtains in the room were coming off the rails and had broken fixtures and not all the bathroom lights worked - Imagine having to use the toilet and get changed in the dark with the door open slightly with people barging in while you are changing because that was the only toilet available at the time on that floor!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.