NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tucano House Backpackers Reviews

Rua das Araras,229, Lagoa da Conceicao, Florianopolis, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained


715 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Had a really nice stay @ Tucano. Friendly and helpfull staff. Low season was arriving so it was a bit quiet but perfect for us. We met some fellow-dutchies and had a great time. It's 45-60 min to the beach, that can be mentioned as a -. The rest is within walking distance (10 min). Special shout out to the chef. For only 18 reals he made a 4* meal. Recommended!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Great hostel with lots of organised activities in the centre however have to get a bus to all the beaches. Would recommend barra beach during the week to chill and here at the weekend to party


There's no way to stay there without having a great experience. The Crew is awesome, they has great facilities and entertainment schedule to make sure you can have the best of Florianópolis. Great Food everyday if you want to have dinner at the hostel.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Amazing staff happy to answer any and all of your questions, great atmosphere, fantastic to meet other travellers, good breakfast, lovely caipirinhas and group dinners looked incredible although we never indulged due to funds! Bit of a pain to get to from main bus station but will be the same for all the hostels, close to bus stops for all beaches.


Well located, staff ok, every day a different programming, including different dinners; but the cleanning is not goo and only few bathroons available to lots of people. There is an annex whith no bathroon available and rooms with a poor infrastructure - only a power outlet for 6 people and drip inside the room. In the main house rooms are ok.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Great hostel - I recommend.


Fantastic Hostel, really good atmosphere and staff! Great community feel with cheap


Stayed there for carnival. Good hostel but a bit pricey for what you get. One of the staff members is too loud and a bit agressive.


Maybe this hostel was great in the past, but today there are quite a few things that could be improved. Some staff are unproffesional. Some staff very nice. There were lots of rules in hostel like not permitting outsiders into the hostel...the staff had no control of this rule, so i think security was poor. Wifi was slow Dinner was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, how are you? We always appreciate the reviews, as they are always welcome and help us to improve. But this is the lowest review since tucano house was opened (7 years ago). And is the first time someone complain about our staff, specially about professionalism, as we have a very intense training to all staff and we are very honest, pure, truthful and professional. We hope next time you have a better time.


Really cool hostel with set activities for both day and night time. Staff very friendly and helpful breakfast was basic but lots of choice and good, dinner was amazing and great value for money


Lovely place, great location. The food is amazing and really reasonable and all the tours we did were a really fun day out.


Main problem was bathroom, not clean, and not enough. Female shower not even had a courtain, and no locks on the door. Good breakfast, staff friendly, beds ok, aircon.


What a great place to stay. Located in a nice quiet part of town and close to amenities. The staff are awesome. The facilities are clean. Food was great. Met alot of good people there. I had a great time there....


I loved this place and didn't want to leave--and I wasn't the only one. Everyone there seemed to be constantly extending their stay. The pool area and the hammocks are great for chilling out, the bartenders make amazing caipirinhas, the dinners every night are delicious and there are always activities going on during the day AND night. I was traveling solo and this was a great place to meet people. Also the pool party at P12 was the highlight of my trip. Stay here if you're going to Floripa!!


Really nice place, clean, friendly and lot of places to chill and relax. Great bar and best diner ever! Great for meeting new people and party. They organise daytrips as well.


A good hostel with a good atmosphere and very nice


LOVED this hostel, the people and all of the staff here. Location is perfect and easy to get everywhere by public transport although the hostel runs trips daily which makes everything easy for you at reasonable prices. The dinners nightly are really really good especially for the price. Staff all speak english and are friendly and helpful with everything you may need to ask. Was really sad to leave Tucano, ended up extending my stay from 3 to 8 days and easily could have stayed longer.


Since I am not a young party girl, I missed the calm athmosphere of other hostels. The cleanliness as well was not perfect. All the rest was very nice. Decorations and vacation feeling in the whole house, very friendly and helpful staff (from the reception to the kitchen) and delicious dinners every evening. Stay there if you are young, want to be on beaches in the day, eat good food and party at night!


A nice hostel about 10 minutes walk to the shops / buses. Everything you need is there, though their reservation management could be better, myself and another traveller on a different day were told we had confirmed extra nights only to have them bumped. Organised trips out are pretty damn good.


Probably best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff is tremendously friendly, organizes various trips per day and they serve a cheap delicious meal! Food was better than we got in many Brazilian restaurants. It is comfortable that your orders at the bar will be put on your bill. However, I have to warn you: due to the fun you will have here, you will order more (beers) than you planned. So keep some cash for paying the bill when checking out!

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)

View all Florianopolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback