Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Turtlecove Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.1

Great stay at Turtle Cove! Walking distance to the town centre, ample parking on street. Staff know their stuff and give great advice on where to go in the area. Brilliant breakfast to top it all off! Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • audrystephenson3544
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.7

Stayed one night at Turtlecove. Had only one other person in the room. Watched a comedy movie with other guests. Facility met my expectations and exceeded for breakfast. Jean at check-in said, "Oh we have a little breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy: just a little something to get you on your way". Well, it was more than enough to get me on my way! :) Thanks Jean and staff! All very friendly and courteous. I also did laundry which I was happy about! Would stay again and highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

It was a nice hostel. They had free breakfast in the morning. The beds were ok. It's a 15 min walk to the beach. But there is not much to do except waking along the beach. The water didn't work in the evening we got there but they where able to fix it so it was working on the next morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Wow there is lots to do here in Whitianga, plenty of walks other than just the beach. Wish you had of asked us. Yes unfortunately there was no water when you arrived as there was a pipe broken down the road so a big area of Whitianga had no water, (not just us!) but it did get fixed quite quickly and was actually fixed that night before 11pm. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip Regards Turtlecove Crew

29th Mar 2017
10.0

Very clean, very close to town & bus stop/ I site. Very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Hostel and that you found our staff helpful. We wish you well for the rest of your journey Regards Turtlecove Crew

18th Mar 2017
9.4

Nice little stay, free wifi, good beds and helpful staff. Showers not amazing but yolo. Oh and free breakfast!! For free!! Didn't cost anything!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you so much for your lovely review we really appreciate you taking time to do this for us and we hope the rest of your holiday went well Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Clean and comfortable hostel. Great location only 5 minute walk to shops, ferry and beach. The DVDs and videos are great for a rainy day. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. We wish you well for the rest of your holiday Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Mar 2017
6.9

So the stay there started out with a ridiculous rule that if you arrive after 7 pm you have to pay by credit card beforehand with a 6% fee...for us eventually the manager was nice and allowed us to pay the next morning since we were staying 2 nights. Still ridiculous since they live right next door! Another story our roommates were forced to leave the premises at 10 am since they checked out and that means leave the premises they even told them they would call the police!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ladies we are sorry that you did not like our fee for after hour arrivals. We are a small 2-man team here and as stated on Hostelworld site we do not have a 24-hour reception and our office closes at 7pm. Our rooms maybe next to the hostel but we work 12 hour days, 365 days a year and we are on call after that from 7pm to 7am for emergencies. We have to eat and sleep at some stage. You can arrange a late arrival where we put your keys into a lock box. To do this we have to take a pre-payment on your credit card, which incurs an additional fee. Unfortunately not all people are honest and pay before they leave, they have spoilt it for others so late arrivals need to pre-pay and as this costs us to do this, that cost has to be passed on to the guest. E.g. your fee would have been $3.00 nz each. Our beds have hotel quality mattresses and are cheaper than most, we give you free breakfast and free wifi as well; there are only so many things we can give free. As a courtesy, we advise you by email before arrival time, of office hours and procedure for a late arrival etc. (including fees). It is then up to the guest to decide on their arrival. We would have hoped that you would have been pleased that we upgraded you to a 4-bed dorm room free of charge and allowed to make payment the next day to save you not paying that fee. As for your roommates, unfortunately, you have not given the full story but your review is not where we would answer this. We will answer them if they ever do complete a review. We will say though that if check out� is 10am then that is the time you leave the premises, it is not time you get out of bed, have a shower, cook your breakfast, pack your backpacks, do your washing, clean and pack your car. After checkout time, we have the right to charge you a late checkout fee. As for police being called Really!! We actually do hope that the rest of your trip went well for you. Regards Turtlecove Crew.

6th Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is very conveniently located and the staff will go out of there way to help you get there, get around, and find the sites. There are big bus tours that come through but they usually only stay one night. The place is pretty quiet in between and they keep everything pretty clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hostel and that you found our staff to be helpful to you. Yes we are a popular hostel so we can busy at times but think of all the new people you can meet:) We hope the rest of your trip went well. Regards Turtlecove Crew

2nd Mar 2017
9.1

Stayed for 3 nights in a 6-person room, used it as a hub to explore The Coromandel. I love this hostel! Wifi is free and the signal is strong. The kitchen is nicely sized with all the necessary cookware. They do offer a free breakfast, but my expectations were more than was given. They gave cereal, milk and bread - better than nothing, I suppose! Maria is very kind and friendly. The toilets and bathrooms were clean, but there is not too much space for bags. Overall fantastic stay in Whitianga!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time to write a review we are pleased that you loved our hostel. We were surprised by your breakfast expectations as it was as advertised, cereal, bread to make toast, jam, butter, tea,coffee, sugar, milk. Nothing flash but enough to get you up and going and as you say better than nothing which is what others give. We will pass on your lovely comments to Maria and the rest of the staff they will be pleased to hear your thoughts. We hope the rest of your trip went well. Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Nice place. Quiet area. Very friendly staff. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for an awesome review, we really appreciate this it has made our day. Your comments will be passed on to all our staff and we wish you well for the rest of your journey. Regards Turtlecove Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.