Hostelworld.com

Turtlecove Accommodation

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Turtlecove Accommodation Located at 14 Bryce Street, , Whitianga.
Turtlecove Accommodation
New Zealand
Whitianga 3510 14 Bryce Street
88% 116
-36.8365247 175.7019048
Turtlecove Accommodation
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Great stay! The staff were all very helpful, including tips to heat the room, places to eat and visit. Breakfast in the morning was great. Some toast, and cereal, some Jam, and fruits. Enough to get you up and on the road next morning. I would absolutely stay again if presented with the opportunity to visit the coromandel in the future! Great great great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow thank you very much for such a lovely review, it certainly makes us feel really good to know that we are getthing things right and that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. I will make sure that your review is passed to the rest of our staff I know they will be very happy to read it. We wish you all the best for the rest of your journey and maybe one day you will come back to nz and Turtlecove. Regards Turtlecove Crew

17th May 2016
9.7

I was very satisfied of my stay there. Good wifi, nice kitchen and everything else you would expect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review we really appreciate you taking time to write this. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We wish you all the best for the rest of your journey. Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Can't say much about atmosphere, I was out all day and only came to sleep one night, but everything else was great, great lady at reception, told everything I Need to know , showers and bathroom really nice and clean , great interweb, comfy bed and clean bedclothes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for taking time to write a review we really appreciate it. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hostel and its facilities. Shame that you couldnt stay longer to get a feel of the friendly atmosphere here. We wish you well for the rest of your travels. Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.7

Glad I made the trip to Whitianga as this is a fantastic hostel. There was a good atmosphere here among guests but it wasn't noisy like some hostels. Lockers are provided for smaller bags and belongings. Excellent kitchen facilities. Hostel is within walking distance of Countdown and New World supermarkets. Staff were nice and friendly and the hostel was very clean. Free unlimited Wifi provided. Only gripe was that you can't do laundry until after 2pm but I would still highly rate this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hostel and your stay with us. Sorry about the laundry but we have to do the hostels laundry first or you wouldn't have clean linen on your beds, and the laundry is open until 11pm so that does give you 9hrs to do your laundry!! We wish you well for the rest of your journey Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2016
6.0

We had a private room in a cabin. It was very run down accommodation in need of a good clean. Dirty room and shared bathroom facilities, mouldy shower curtains (surely not that expensive to replace?!) and dodgy camp style bed and bedding. A shame really as it has the potential to be a nice set up but has been left to go downhill. Handy location for hot water beach and cathedral cove etc and the free breakfast was a plus point but would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow you were here for 2 days, if you did not like the cabin then why did you not come and discuss with us?? The cabins are cleaned daily, if you did not like the cleaning then again why did you not come and see us? Most people are happy with our cabins. As for the dodgy camp style bed and bedding?? Really?? It is a double bed purchased from a bedroom shop not a camping store and it has a motel quality mattress, fitted sheet, top sheet, duvet and 4 pillows, (normal bedding from a normal bedroom shop). As for the shared bathroom facilities, it is stated on the description of cabin that the bathroom facilities are a shared ablution block about 5 paces from the cabin, that cannot be changed. We apologise for the shower curtain this should never happen and again we do wish you had brought it to our attention at the time we could have fixed this straight away. We hope that the rest of your trip goes well. Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
8.3

This hostel was close enough to all of the important places. The two ladies at the front desk were funny and really helpful with the area and what to do. The rooms were nice and bright but there was only one plug in my particular room. It made sharing with six people more of a headache than normal. The showers were also freezing cold and there was only one bathroom, but all very clean. Close to everything important like grocery stores, etc. Awesome place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our hostel and our staff but.... OMG you had a freezing cold shower and you did not tell us???? We run on gas so if the water was cold it just meant a change of gas bottle which is a 2 minute job! Please please any time this happens at any hostel please say something, no one should have cold showers unless they want to. We are so sorry that this happened to you. We hope the rest of your journey went well. Regards Turtlecove Crew

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Mar 2016
8.9

Great place to stay as you explore the Coromandel. The staff were knowledgeable of the area and we were able to hike to some secluded beaches. The kitchen could get quite full around dinnertime but the whole place had a really homey feel. Thanks for a great few nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for writing a review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could send you to some of our lovely secluded beaches. Yes it seems that everyone wants to cook in the kitchen at the same time, it does make it a bit crowded occasionally but it is lovely that guests like our kitchen facilities enough to stay and cook, and mix with others. We try hard to make it feel homely. You would be most welcome anytime. Regards Turtlecove Crew.

9th Feb 2016
10.0

Our Hostess was very nice and helpful. Wish I could have stayed longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took time to right a review. Maybe next time a longer holiday in NZ? Regards Turtlecove crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2016
8.9

The owner is nice and helpful. The kitchen is good. All you can eat breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you found us helpful and that you enjoyed our free breakfast and wifi Thanks for taking the time to write a review Regards Turtlecove Crew

24th Jan 2016
9.7

Free unlimited wifi! This place was awesome! Meet so many cool ppl here and its relatively close to everything in town. Its a small town though, but your only a 5 min walk from the grocery store. I thought it was strange they only had 1 male and 1 female toilet for all the guests but it worked out fine. The staff is spectacular and the facilities are modern and clean. They have maps and recommendations of the area. Extended my stay a few extra days beyond what I planned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry, we do have other bathrooms and toilets that you could have used and we should have told you about these. Regards Turtlecove Crew.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.