X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Turtlecove Accommodation Reviews

14 Bryce Street, Whitianga, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

the location is really nice! It is just off the main road so there is not too much traffic, but it is still close enough to town that it is an easy walk. to stores, the isite, ect. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast is a nice plus! The only down side was you could kind of hear a lot of noise (doors closing, people walking around, ect.) but that just kind of happens in hostels. I would totally stay here again!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi well you did come back to us. Thank you again for your great review it is lovely when someone comes back and it still meets with approval. Best Regards Jean

83%

the location is really nice! It is just off the main road so there is not too much traffic, but it is still close enough to town that it is an easy walk. to stores, the isite, ect. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast is a nice plus! The only down side was you could kind of hear a lot of noise (doors closing, people walking around, ect.) but that just kind of happens in hostels. I would totally stay here again!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel, you would be very welcome to stay again. All the best for the rest of your journey Regards Turtlecove Crew

91%

This is a really nice hostel with good clean facilities all round. The big issue here is the very expensive wifi as other reviewers have mentioned. There is free wifi at the library in town but if like us you arrive at 5.30pm and leave the next morning this isn't much use to you. Switching wifi providers would to give some free or lower cost wifi would make this hostel pretty much perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. As for the wifi well out of my last 36 reviews 2 wanted it free, and 3 complained about the price rest did not see a problem. not quite a big issue? Perhaps we should provide guest with 100mb of free internet, but of course then we couldn't do the free breakfast, so I guess its just what you prefer. Real mattresses as to rubber, breakfast or internet? Perhaps time for a survey? Regards Jean

86%

Enjoyed it very much. 1 problem- door locks and key. was uncomfortable and unreliable.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry we do not understand what you mean by problem with door locks and key? we have checked all the keys and they open the doors that they are supposed to. Is it because the doors lock automatically and you need to use your key to get in your room each time? (better security) Perhaps you could contact us direct to explain as we certainly would like to fix any problems. Regards Turtlecove Crew

89%

Really nice hostel,nice people but internet is quite expensive and there was only one toilet and two showers. Still we recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for taking time to write a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are sorry you think internet is expensive, but you do get a free breakfast, real mattresses, lots of hot water and free internet in town only 3 mins away. As for shower and toilets, well nearly right, there are two showers and one toilet for women, but also two showers and one toilet for men upstairs, and there are 3 more toilets and showers that were available for your use. Regard TC crew

86%

No free wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
That is true we do not have free wifi but you can get it free at the library or at a motel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay regards turtlecove crew

86%

In contrast to most hostels in NZ Turtle Cove does not offer any kind of free wifi. Not even 100MB a day. The sleeping was good. Overall not more than avarage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow bunk beds with real mattresses (not foam rubber), bed linen supplied, free breakfast, clean, friendly, close to supermarket and town and yet we are only average because we do not give you any free internet (which would only cost you $3 nz and which is available free at the library). Not much I can say to this review really. Very very sad for us but we hope the rest of your journey went well. best regards Jean

86%

Lovely little hostel with nice double room units in garden. Comfortable and clean. No issues with noise and well located for easy walk into town.


100%

Thoughly enjoyed my stay at this well run, clean hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for writing a review we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all the best for the rest of your journey. Best regards Jean

54%

Our room was lovely, however the wifi was awful. Firstly I couldn't get it to work and the manager was less than helpful she said "I don't know how iPhones work" which is fair enough but she didn't even seem to know how the wifi worked at all! Secondly when I finally got it to "work" I got charged 5 times (which should have given me 5 days worth) however it was so on and off (mainly the latter) that I only got a few hours in total. My friend had a similar problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a review on our wifi, I do know how our wifi works and it was fine for others, I dont know how your phone works but wifi info says you were only charged once, a phone call could have made sure. Atmostphere: over 25 guests, they seem to like it, I guess its how you interact with others. Value: You chose ensuite dorm our most expensive, but which is still way cheaper than the same type room in Ak. plus we have real mattresses and a free brekkie!



View all Whitianga Hostels

Please give us your feedback