X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Turtlecove Accommodation Reviews

14 Bryce Street, Whitianga, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
65 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really nice hostel,nice people but internet is quite expensive and there was only one toilet and two showers. Still we recommend staying here.


86%

No free wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
That is true we do not have free wifi but you can get it free at the library or at a motel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay regards turtlecove crew

86%

In contrast to most hostels in NZ Turtle Cove does not offer any kind of free wifi. Not even 100MB a day. The sleeping was good. Overall not more than avarage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow bunk beds with real mattresses (not foam rubber), bed linen supplied, free breakfast, clean, friendly, close to supermarket and town and yet we are only average because we do not give you any free internet (which would only cost you $3 nz and which is available free at the library). Not much I can say to this review really. Very very sad for us but we hope the rest of your journey went well. best regards Jean

86%

Lovely little hostel with nice double room units in garden. Comfortable and clean. No issues with noise and well located for easy walk into town.


100%

Thoughly enjoyed my stay at this well run, clean hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for writing a review we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all the best for the rest of your journey. Best regards Jean

54%

Our room was lovely, however the wifi was awful. Firstly I couldn't get it to work and the manager was less than helpful she said "I don't know how iPhones work" which is fair enough but she didn't even seem to know how the wifi worked at all! Secondly when I finally got it to "work" I got charged 5 times (which should have given me 5 days worth) however it was so on and off (mainly the latter) that I only got a few hours in total. My friend had a similar problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a review on our wifi, I do know how our wifi works and it was fine for others, I dont know how your phone works but wifi info says you were only charged once, a phone call could have made sure. Atmostphere: over 25 guests, they seem to like it, I guess its how you interact with others. Value: You chose ensuite dorm our most expensive, but which is still way cheaper than the same type room in Ak. plus we have real mattresses and a free brekkie!

66%

Only after paying for our stay and hunting down the person running this hostel a few times did we find out about the lack of Wi-Fi, despite numerous signs advertising it. The person manning the operation summarily told us the Wi-Fi is down, but we can use one of the XP machines that cost $2 for 18 minutes. After deciding that we still needed to book things, we broke down and paid for the dinosaur. It limped along until, at last, 18 minutes were up and we were no closer to booking anything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do not stay in our office 24/7 but we are only a push of a button away, and yes our wifi was broken, BUT had we known this was such a big problem for you during your 3 day stay and that you couldn't make use the free wifi available at the library 5 min walk from here, then we would have happily cancelled your booking. Security, well we have a safe available and your cabin locked and we do a security round after midnight every night? We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regards Jean



View all Whitianga Hostels

Please give us your feedback