X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Turtlecove Accommodation Reviews

14 Bryce Street, Whitianga, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
79 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Nice friendly staff, very helpful. Free food in the morning is a very nice touch too. We were in one of the outside rooms, which was nice inside, but could've done with a bit of modernising. Overall, very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Safe journey Regards Turtlecove Crew

83%

the location is really nice! It is just off the main road so there is not too much traffic, but it is still close enough to town that it is an easy walk. to stores, the isite, ect. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast is a nice plus! The only down side was you could kind of hear a lot of noise (doors closing, people walking around, ect.) but that just kind of happens in hostels. I would totally stay here again!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi well you did come back to us. Thank you again for your great review it is lovely when someone comes back and it still meets with approval. Best Regards Jean

83%

the location is really nice! It is just off the main road so there is not too much traffic, but it is still close enough to town that it is an easy walk. to stores, the isite, ect. The hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast is a nice plus! The only down side was you could kind of hear a lot of noise (doors closing, people walking around, ect.) but that just kind of happens in hostels. I would totally stay here again!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel, you would be very welcome to stay again. All the best for the rest of your journey Regards Turtlecove Crew

91%

This is a really nice hostel with good clean facilities all round. The big issue here is the very expensive wifi as other reviewers have mentioned. There is free wifi at the library in town but if like us you arrive at 5.30pm and leave the next morning this isn't much use to you. Switching wifi providers would to give some free or lower cost wifi would make this hostel pretty much perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. As for the wifi well out of my last 36 reviews 2 wanted it free, and 3 complained about the price rest did not see a problem. not quite a big issue? Perhaps we should provide guest with 100mb of free internet, but of course then we couldn't do the free breakfast, so I guess its just what you prefer. Real mattresses as to rubber, breakfast or internet? Perhaps time for a survey? Regards Jean

86%

Enjoyed it very much. 1 problem- door locks and key. was uncomfortable and unreliable.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry we do not understand what you mean by problem with door locks and key? we have checked all the keys and they open the doors that they are supposed to. Is it because the doors lock automatically and you need to use your key to get in your room each time? (better security) Perhaps you could contact us direct to explain as we certainly would like to fix any problems. Regards Turtlecove Crew



View all Whitianga Hostels

Please give us your feedback