X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Two Ducks Hostel Reviews

Via calatafimi N. 41, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

57%

Rating
841 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 55%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 47%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This hostel doesn't deserve so much bad reviews. Room and bathroom were clean and everything was fine. It's a hostel for real backpackers who just need a clean bed to sleep in.


57%

Pirate hostel, just this. We stay in another place, another building. Was not bad, but, we didn't wait this...

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The location of the hostel is really good. There is a separate apartment that they may take you if the other rooms are full. Which is not bad but it is underground (but clean). There are no lockers in the rooms which is a down side. The upside of the other apartments which is underground is that there is not many people staying there although it is for 10 people (two room of 4 and 6). So it is quiet. To its price, it worths it.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good price! About a 20min walk to the Pantheon. Super close to the station. A good fruit market every morning around the corner from the hostel! Kitchen was pretty decent with cooking stuff. Problem = only one toilet/ shower room for our floor (approx. 20 people!) This meant waiting ages for the loo in the morning. You were allowed to use the other floors showers also but that was a trip from 1st to 5th floor in your PJs!


46%

The part of the city that Two Ducks is located is famous of hostels and hotels. However this area has some homeless and junky people. Rome is very safe and I was coming back to hostel in the night and it was ok, however I did not feel secure. I have seen more comfortable hostels for lower price. And at the beginning I was taken to some "room" in the basement, which was very moisture, there were bars on the windows and steel reinforced doors... I felt like in the movie "Saw IV".

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

로마의 모든 호스텔이그렇듯 찾는데 1시간반걸림.....ㅠㅠ 찾고나면 그담부턴 위치좋다고생각함!


60%

A very pokey little hostel, with not a whole lot of room to move in the room/common area/bathroom. The beds were quite saggy. I wanted to cook and the 'kitchen' (small stovetop) was a bit of a mess, but the staff cleaned it for me which was nice of them. The staff were overall nice, and wifi was only strong in the common area.


57%

You get what you pay for.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

On arriving to the 5th floor shabby "lobby" which also functioned as an appartment for the owners, we were thankfully guided to another location (after paying up front in cash, of course). The other location was a mouldy basement in an appartment-complex with a non-opening window and terrible shared bathroom. I would recommend choosing one of the several other hostels/hotels in the area at the same price.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Made finitely different from any hostel I've been to... You stay in an apartment with the workers, but it's typical hostel dorm room style, the kitchen is sorta yucky but it works, we felt safe and the guys who run it were really sweet , albeit exhausted.


77%

Don't let the negative reviews of this place put you off. It's a bed for the night in a great location in Rome for an even better price. What else do you need?


60%

The beds were bending and seemed to be very old, there was only one bathroom for an entire floor, we arrived tonight and the water was coming out cold from the shower, as if not enough, the bathroom was dirty. And all happened in the only one night we stayed there.


40%

Not very nice place to stay. Very dirty cramped and one bathroom between 4 rooms of 8 people. So it took hours to get out in the morning. Rooms were very hot because there were so many people crammed into them. Okay for one night but I personally wouldn't stay here again. Hard to find when you get to the apartment block and it's not sign posted that the reception is on the 5th floor


20%

Dont stay at this hostel , its very dirty and bad...

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Please, do not stay here!I mean it! It is a dirty place run by two indians.They have a couple apts arouns the train station area.Everything is SUPER DIRTY.People there is so freaky! There is not 24hs reception at all.We arrived at 7am and has to sneak into the building (it is an apt in the 5th floor) and a guy that was staying there opened the dor of the apt for us,While the indian receptionist was sleeping in the floor of a smelly room Where you have to leave the luggage! DO NOT STAY HERE!


83%

Very good hostel, I recomend to everyone who wants to stay in Rome with little money. The hostel is very good, the location is excellent, the staff is very respectful and the rooms are just ok, I really reccomend this hostel mainly because of the friendly staff and the really good location. The cheap price is also a good thing to consider. The hostel is less than 5 minutes from the main station of the city and nearby the hostel there are several restaurants and markets to buy stuffs and food.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

We booked a 6 bed mixed dorm but when we entered the room, it was actually 7 bed mixed room. There are two sleeping rooms, one kitchen and one shower room. We are quite satisfied with our staying there, while the only problem is the shared shower room. The location is okay. Kind of far from the city centre but still walkable. Personally the value for money is rather high.


66%

Very basic hostal. Near to train station and metro, and you can walk to some places. The kitchen in the apartment is small but ok. It's ok if you just want to sleep there, not to spend time there.


31%

I ve seen a rat, i ve been sleeping in bedroom like a submarine because there was water in the bed, and the bathroom was sickness.


71%

nice central located, it was just what we were looking for in Rome :)

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback