Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Two Oceans Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
4.0

Overall I did not pay very much for this hostel so I wasn't expecting much, but there are some issues that I felt really need to be addressed. Firstly, the showers are moldy and are in need of a deep clean for aesthetic purposes but mostly just for health reasons. There is dirt everywhere and I did not feel comfortable with the quality of the rooms and especially the bathroom. Water was shut off in the mornings and never communicated to the guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
5.7

The hostel is nicely situated on Long Street. The showers and kitchen are pretty dirty and are not looked after very well. All in all ok, if you want nothing else but a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mfg_sara745
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jun 2017
6.3

It's half price compared to most of other hostels in Cape Town. You can't expect that much. I wouldn't recommend this hostel. There are much better hostels in Cape Town in Long Street (Best street if you like to party) or Green Point.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
9.7

I was attended to very well and the hostel was value for money given the good security and convenient location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2017
10.0

It s like a family. Not much to say.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

Only stayed for one night, but overall mostly liked the place. Had booked a girls' dorm for an extra dollar because the mixed dorm was full, but then on arriving was told that the girls' dorm had been fully booked by a school or something so was to stay in the 8-bed mixed dorm. Didn't get my dollar back though. Owner said that all the dorms are a flat rate and Hostelworld is the one who hikes up some of the prices. He was super friendly though. Dorm door to deck left open late, lots of mosquitos

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
8.0

Could have been cleaner esp the showers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • carlygug2977
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
6.6

The place is OK if you're just looking for a place to crash for not so much money in Cape Town (that's what we wanted, and that's what we got). The place is very well located (right on Long Street), but there is not a great atmosphere, the kitchen was ALWAYS dirty (people just don't do their own dishes and there wasn't any staff to help clean), and it was hard to figure out who worked there. So, good place if you just want somewhere to sleep, not great if you're looking for good atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
5.1

Our room was really dirty overall. The bedsheets where cleaned regularly (or so it looked), but it was filled with trash all over. We shared a 6 bed room and it was extremely tiny, if someone had a bag on the floor then the rest couldn't move around at all, and it wasn't just our room, they were all like that. Aside from that, everyone at the hostel was pretty nice and was always trying to help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.7

The toilets and the showers was dirty an usually there wasn't a toilet paper and soab. The hole place was sometimes smell really bad. Defiantly not enough toilet and shower rooms for the whole guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.