X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Two Oceans Backpackers Reviews

47 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
149 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Even though it was a slow check in process, the gentleman (manager) was extremely efficient and quick to jump on it. Very friendly staff and there was one gentleman in particular (on Sunday & cannot remember his name) who truly made it a special experience as it was my 25th! So for that Thank you. The facilities are nice and clean and for what you pay, you get a great location in the heart of town and a safe environment. Recommended! Thanks Two Oceans! :)

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Although this hostel is cheap, it is simply not worth it for short term travelers. The atmosphere does not make you feel safe or welcome. One of the male staff members would come into our room each night at about 10pm to check how many beds were still available, very frustrating when it is hard to get to sleep. The rooms are small and there is not adequate space to store luggage. Bathrooms were very dirty, particularly the showers. Kitchen was continually dirty. Do not recommend staying here.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were super friendly and always going out of their way to help us get our activities booked. Great place!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Not much of an atmosphere, but for the price it was a good stay

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The doorms have are very dirty and the beds very squeaky. The mattresses have clearly been used and are not comfortable. I stayed for a week and only once the floor in the doorm was swipped. The bathrooms are ok with the exception of the showers. The walls are very filthy and the curtains look like they've never been washed. The kitchen is very messy. The common area is not at all like the pictures. Outside it's always noise. I would never go back.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A really nice Place, i can definately recommend it. Safe ans charming and directly in the Centre. Grienend Staff will help you with all Questions.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

Pros: Walking distances to restaurants Cheap underground and secure parking available Cons: Atmosphere seemed a bit grim Very dirty Windows broken in room Plug in room for fan was very dangerous with wires exposed


91%

Not a bad place to stay, could use a little renovation though.


57%

Altogether it certainly was not bad but when I compare the hostel to other locations we have been in (also in capetown) some things come to mind: - try to clean up some details abit more, for example the wind blowers where very dirty. - try to avoid using TL light: it makes the place look dark and unwelcome - use more colours instead of just the blue. For the rest: thnx for everything! Very friendly employees and manager.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice location, friendly staff and large common grounds just the 6 bed dorm was the tiniest room I ever slept in. Otherwise great experience


71%

the male staff were really helpful and friendly but the woman working in the morning was not.


57%

The place Is on Long Street which is Great, but the cleanliness very poor. They promise you fresh towels everyday, we never got those towels. The kitchen was very dirty and the bathrooms were even worse.. To be honest this place has great potential, only if they cleanliness issue.

  • 23rd Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Tow oceans backpackers was a suburb Hostel for us to stay in, with helpful management and friendly staff and backpackers. As visitors in Cape Town for the first time I can highly recommend anyone to stay at two oceans. We found the hostle to be in a great location (Long Street) with easy access to bars, restaurants, cafes, Table Mountain, train station and bus station. Bellamy & Belise (United Kingdom)

  • 7th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not a great location and not the cleanest place.

  • 24th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I was extremely unhappy that when I showed up, no one was there to check me in. I called a number left on the door which ended up being to a cell phone. I could barely understand the person on the other side because of several screaming girls in the background, was personally insulted twice by the person I was talking to , and then was asked to wait for an hour on the street outside the hostel for someone to show up.

  • 24th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Prefect! Only spoiled by the dirty showers, and the hobo that was breaking in.

  • 10th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

In the heart of city, on the main street, 20 minutes walk from Waterfront, free tea and coffe, free internet.I booked 4 nights in luxurious room throught Hostelworld with a discount of 50 percent because of low season. Good room with satelite tv.The only problem was that I could watch tv only when in some other close hostel somebody was watching tv, and I could watch only channals which that person was watching!?Hostel staff told me that they had a problem with satelite antena because of storm.

  • 24th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Definitely a little lacking in character. I stayed there for four days and met some great people staying there, but there was only one staffer there the whole time and she never spoke. Great location, a little dirty but it is the cheapest spot on Long Street.


60%

One of the cheapest deals in town, so it has certain downsides: - not really clean (more like 75% clean, so good enough if you don´t mind) - often you will find noone at reception (staff has certain working hours) - noisy because most rooms are facing the street (that´s the price for being at long street) If you want to go for a cheap stay in an ok hostel - go for this one! It even has an computer and free WIFI, a pool table and a balkony...I rate it low, but considering the price its´s ok.


43%

We booked a special offer on hostelworld and upon arrival the manager immediately responded very aggressively and accused us of cheating on the price. He wouldn't let us explain anything and even insulted us. We left and are never coming back. I heard similar stories about this hostel and its arrogant, aggressive manager.

  • 4th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback