X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

U Hostels Reviews

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2101 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Hostel is very well situated in Central Madrid 2 mins from alonso Martinez metro line. Very clean hostel an staff are frindly and ready to practice their Spanish or English with you! Highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Central Madrod at a reasonable price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! It is great to know you had a great experience at our hostel! We hope to see you again soon!

100%

I´ve stayed in plenty of hostels around Spain and this is one of the best.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you found us one of the best hostels you have stayed in! We look forward to seeing you again here soon! Thank you for staying with us!

94%

Only stayed for one night between my flights, but the hostel seemed really organized, clean and the facilities were probably the best I've seen in a hostel. A bit expensive, but you get value for the money. Staff was really friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you a lot for your review! We are so happy you liked all in our hostel! We truly do our best to provide the best quality with the least expensive price possible! We hope to see you again here in the near future! Thank you for your review!

100%

Everything perfect. Thanks a lot..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you a lot for your review! We are so glad you had a great experience while staying at our hostel! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Everything looks new. Only one thing, disturbances throughout the night, caused by noise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a nice experience here and had a nice stay while being in Madrid! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards!

77%

Rooms are spacious and come with personal bedside lamp and outlet. Also gets a lot of light during the day. Decor is great and inviting. But the sliding bathroom door in the ensuite rooms have a noticeable space between the door and the wall, so the ensuite bathrooms don't actually feel as private and secure as the communal showers/toilets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you a lot for your review! We are happy you found our hostel an excellent place to stay in while being in Madrid! Our private bathrooms are designed to be as private as possible, but we will look if there was an issue in the shower door of the room where you were. Thank you a lot for your comments! We hope to see you again here in the near future! Best regards!

86%

I was missing a shower gel or shampoo in the showers. Since you can't carry these things in hand-baggage in airplanes, it would be nice to have it at the hostel.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy you chose us your hostel to accommmodate in while staying in Madrid! Such as the case in all other hostel, showers do not come equiped with shampos, gel... Though you could buy them in the reception for a very cheap price. We will take your comments into consideration. We thank you a lot for your review and we hope to see you again here in the near future!

100%

Great hostel, but weak kitchen facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found our hostel great! We do our best to provide our clients with the best hostel experience ever! Regarding our ktichen facilities, we have everything a kitchen needs like oven, microwaves, pots, pans, fridge, cutlers... though sometimes some thing get missed. Though we do our best to keep our kitchen equiped with everything that would be needed! Thanks very much for your review! We hope to see you again here soon!

100%

I met some great people!! The staff were amazing!! Perfect for solo travellers!! And the hostel was super clean and showers were amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you found everything great about our hostel! We hope to see you again here in the near future whenever you come to Madrid! Thank you so much for staying with us! Best regards!

51%

The staff were rude and unprofessional. On two separate occasions the female staff where on private phone calls for long periods of time whilst they were meant to be serving us at breakfast or in the evening at the bar. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned. There was someone's pubic hair on the shower floor and used body wash bottles in the rack. Someone opened the door to our private room both days so we were concerned about security of our belongings even though we had a private room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We´re surprised if some staff were talking on their phones while serving you! We´ll direct a serious warning to the ones who were doing that. Our bathrooms get daily cleaned at least twice, though we can´t control the bathrooms all the time. It´s normal in hostels and hotels that everyday the cleaning staff enter all the rooms to clean, as long as there is no ´´No clean today sticker´´ on the room doors outside. Thank you for staying with us!

91%

It's too bad there are consequences for rowdy guys...just sayin'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! From what you are saying, we suppose you got annoyed from some other guests? If so, you should have told us about that when you were here so we would have had a serious converation with them. We do not accept people to be irrespectful to other guests! We hope you enjoyed your stay here though and we do look forward to seeing you again here in the near future! Thank you for staying with us!

100%

Super, los recomiendo, me fue muy super bien, las habitaciones bien, baños, camas, 100 % good, I like it


100%

Excelent Hostel!! I think you should improve on fixing yout toasters but besides that it was an amazing experiencie! Keep the good work!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy you found our hostel excellent! The toaster has been fixed so no worries about that anymore :) We look forward to seeing you again here! Thank you so much for your stay and nice review!

80%

Friendly staff, clean and centrally located. Nice hostel for all ages

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy you liked everything about our hostel! We hope to see you again here! Thank you again for your nice review!

74%

A clean hostel run on a commercial, high capacity basis. You'll have to pay for any 'extras' and the organised events are quite expensive. There's nowhere to leave your car for less than €31 a night so don't drive here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are happy you found our hostel clean! It´s quite normal in all hostels to pay extras to get extra things like tooth brush, hiring a towel... so it´s not the case only in our hostels. Our organized events are very affordable comparing it to fees of our hostels (For example, our flamenco show is only for 13 Euros and includes a free drink). There are some parking places less than 30 Euros nearby. We will take your comments into consideration! Thank you very much for your review!

94%

Great hostel! Had a blast hanging with the staff, Kinga is amazing! (dobra dupa!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you a lot for your review! We are so happy you liked our hostel and even had fun hanging out with our staff! We look forward to seeing you again here! Thank you for staying with us!

97%

U Hostels is extremely well-maintained and a great place to stay. I was only in Madrid one night but I would definitely stay here again. Although it's not directly in the center of everything, it wasn't a bad walk to get to the major attractions. We stayed in the middle of the week and the rooms weren't full, so we didn't get the true hostel experience of meeting other travelers, but it was still a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! We are happy you found our hostel very well-organized and maintained! Regarding our location, we are actually located in a very luxurious location that´s very well-connected to major places in the city and as it´s only few minutes walking to the city center and the major attractions of Madrid, as you said :) We thank you a lot for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future! Best regards!

100%

This hostel was great in every way. The rooms were clean, airy, and not overcrowded. The bathrooms and sinks were cleaned every day. The common room and movie theater were nice places to chill out. The wifi connection was very weak and sometimes I had to go to a restaurant to get a strong signal. I would definitely recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy you liked our hostel and had a good experience here! Regarding our internet connection, at the time you were staying here we had some problems with it but now all the internet issues have been sort out! Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again here!

91%

LOVED this place :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you loved our place and we do look forward to seeing you again soon!! Thank you for staying with us!

83%

Great hostel!! Very well located. Nice beds, good facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you a lot for your review! We are so happy you found our hostel great! We look forward to seeing you again here in the near future! Thank you again!

(157 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback