X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

U inn Berlin Hostel Reviews

Finowstrasse 36, Friedrichshain, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
986 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Takes 1 train and an underground to finally reach the place, take note that if you are travelling alone I would not reccomend this place at all- neighbourhood is quite shifty looking. Room was a bog-standard 5 bed sleeper, no fan, no towels, no aircon, smelly. staff were friendly enough, although compared to other hostels I've visited their communication was minimal. atmosphere was okay, no one sat In the lounge but there was a nice bar next door. do not go wandering the streets alone!


83%

Clean, cheap, safe, quiet, nicely located near some good places to go out in Friedrichshain. Almost everything you need from a hostel. Personally I prefer a hostel that is a bit more lively, with hostelgoers hanging out in the hostel before going out in the city. This was a very quiet hostel and so isn't really a good place to go if you are travelling on your own and want to meet people.


77%

Good / clean hostel, very close to metro and near by to lots of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. We stayed 4 nights and it was perfect for what we needed.


74%

Good hostel, just off main road in Friedrichshain, easy to find and access. clean, friendly, good stay.


91%

Was a pleasant stay! Very clean. A smaller hostel, so it is a bit quieter, but I appreciated it when trying to sleep. Even though it was smaller, it was still very easy to meet great new people. The location is not the closest to main tourist attractions, but it is not hard to get there by public transport, and the hostel itself is in a great neighborhood for food and drink. Highly recommend the Gin Chilla bar down Warshauer street.


60%

The breakfast should include some actual bread from a bakery and some cheese / meat. It currently consists of aldi-tier trash toast and marmelade-like substance, along with muesli + milk, which is simply not enough to properly start your day. During my stay, guests also checked in after 12 am, which cost me several hours of sleep.


80%

This hostel had a great atmosphere and was good for meeting new people. The security wasn't great as the lockers were locked with pad locks and they were all gone by the time we got there so we had no locker. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean and tidy. One downfall was the location as the hostel was hard to find. I would recommend it :)


86%

Small, but cozy hostel in a great location (20 min metro from city center). Definitely explore the area in the evenings, there is tons of nightlife within walking distance. The breakfast was simple (cereal, toast, coffee), but well worth the 2.5 euros. Coffee is especially good. There's a nice workstation with two computers which was pretty useful. Have some euros handy to pay for the stay and a key/locker deposit (~20 euros). Also the lobby area is closed from 1-7 am, so plan accordingly.


100%

was very great at U inn. Beatiful neighborhood and friendly reception. Many markets and secondhand stores. i like the place. Gracias :)

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Grait Hostel, nice people and clean. Thank You!!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Please do not charge for such a poor breakfast. Put air conditioning in the rooms with window on the smoking street. Change the matress to a good one, or at least a medium one. Clean better the bathrooms and put some hangs to put clothes. Sorry, but this was the worse hostel iin my trip, but suprprisinly with the higher rating!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Breakfast. we feel that 2,50euro for toast, jam, Müsli and cornflakes and orange juice and a quality italian coffee is a good offer. If you didn´t like it you didn´t have to have it - we do have really nice bakeries around the corner as well if needed. We clean the showers twice a day and get normally the best ratings for cleaning...but it is a hostel with shared bathrooms...if you like private bathrooms we recommend to book a hotel instead.

83%

Really enjoyed staying at U Inn. Although it's a little far from the centre, it's really easy and pretty cheap to get the U Bahn in. Also really handy if you're flying in or out from Schönefeld, as it's only an S Bahn ride away via Frankfurter Allee. Facilities were good, and there was a good atmosphere in the hostel!


91%

This hostel is just sublime, tucked away on a northern street in Friedrichshain, it is a really great place to stay. Great staff, close to many good restaurants and bars, wifi which actually works in your room (you'd be amazed at how rare this is), a nice lounge area where you can listen to music on Spotify or just chill... I would and will stay here again. Thumbs up...


97%

Great atmosphere, quiet yet social as there is a lounge and kitchen where people can hang out. It was a bit far away from central Berlin, but really close to two train stops that are very easy to use to access most locations in the city.


80%

The hostel is clean and secure. Some of the reception staff were friendly and really helpful but unfortunately one girl in particular was the opposite and really avoided any extra interaction. There isn't a lot of atmosphere as the commons area is very small like the kitchen. While we were there the hostel didn't run any special events. Everyone seems to stick to themselves. It was also weird that a person in a private room has to go through the mixed dorm to get Into their room.


77%

A small but cozy hostel. Really to meet people there


89%

laundry facilities would be a great addition to this hostel. The breakfast they provide for 2.5€ is not worth the money.


100%

excellent! perfect location, hostel clean and cosy! well furnished kitchen!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This was a great place to stay. You had to get the U5 line out a few stops, but it really doesn't take long to get to and allows you to see other parts of the city. The staff I spoke to on both check in and check out could have done with being a bit more welcoming but other than that I would be happy to stay here again.


57%

This hostel overall was a disappointment. There is no laundry, the location is shady (we heard gunshots twice), the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful, and they charge for everything. You will pay extra for breakfast, late checkout, paying for anything with a card, not putting your sheets in the right container. There is a metro stop nearby and you will have to use it to get out of the awful neighborhood that the hostel is located in. In addition, the atmosphere is bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your stay as most of our guests do. I am living in Berlin since over 20 years and NEVER heard gun shots. We are in the student district with lovely coffee shops, yoga studios and vintage shops. If you want it more posh you would need to go to Berlin - Mitte-district. And yes, we charge for Breakfast and LO - but never charged for putting your sheets in the wrong container! That sounds ridicules. Yes, the metro is close and it is a good system.

(73 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback