Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Hollywood

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Stayed at a bunch of hostels in LA, this is easily the best. Staff are great, rooms are great, kitchen/facilities are great. They offer shuttles to beach, walking tours and pubcrawls daily which is good because there's very little to do in LA as a backpacker if you do not have a car. Not much of a vibe when I was there - but that depends on the guests, not the hostel. The music in the front courtyard is either to loud to have a convo or was just half a dozen people staring at their phones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.1

The hostels location is and isn't good. It isn't because it is in a quite dirty area and is about 6-8 blocks from all the good stuff on Hollywood blvd. I also wouldn't say it is the safest area especially for anyone travelling alone. Breakfast was good but could do with more variety and space to eat. The patio at the front is a nice area to chill out. There are some cool activities you can do with the hostel and at night it is a great location for bars in saying that noise can get a little loud

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a wonderful time, the location was great, just next to Hollywood Boulevard. The hostel organized fun activities and the staff was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

Right in the heat of Hollywood,not for the faint hearted.Bit of the seedy end of the strip and can be grubby area,but dispite the hostel undergoing some room renovations the place was spotless.Very helpful staff,always around.Nice lounge area outside,a non smoking part which was great.Bad point:Non hostel standard lockers,small normal lock useless and needed to buy a big bulky lock.Although luggage room on ground floor,had to bike lock my case as well as didn't feel secure leaving it without.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
8.6

If you're into partying and meeting loads of people (like I am), then try staying at one of the banana bungalow hostels. This was the only problem I ran into - I had a hard time meeting people but I appreciate the effort the staff put into organizing events. Everything else was superb - the rooms were clean, the breakfast was good (I loved making the pancakes in the morning), staff were friendly, very close to Hollywood blvd., and I didn't feel unsafe walking to the hostel at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave us a review. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. We were sorry to hear you did not find it easy to meet other travelers during your stay. We usually receive feedback that it is very easy to meet people through are daily events, outside on our patio, or in our lounge. We recently had some rooms closed as we were installing brand new bathrooms throughout the hostel, perhaps there simply was not as many guests around as normal during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for you stay. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Feb 2017
7.7

I think for European standards this hostel isn't great but maybe compared to other hostels in the US it's really good? I'm not sure. Cons: the breakfast isn't very nice and the rooms aren't the most attractive - the place generally doesn't look as good as the pictures. I stayed in a girls doom and they put a guy in my room for a day or so. I complained and they move him which was good. Pros - good location and lovely staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.1

Great Staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! We'll be sure to show it to our staff. Hope to see you your next time through Hollywood and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.6

Thanks for the stay, it was an overall pleasant experience. A few things to consider is the noise, we chose a private room due to our short stay and really long flights on either end of our trip but the rooms didn't seem to block any noise from the hallway at all. The food in the vending machine was also a few years out of date which some people may complain about, we are the chips lol but thought you may like to know! We felt very secure and the hostel has good facilities!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and feedback. We do our very best to control noise and enforce quiet hours. We explain quiet hours at check-in to every guest and try to politely remind guests to be conscious of noise and other guests when returning from a night out. We will look into the vending snacks straight away. Glad you felt secure and enjoyed our facilities! Hope to see you your next time in Hollywood and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

We really enjoyed staying here! The Hostel was really great, nice staff, clean and a very good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay and the amazing review! Hope to see you again your next time in Hollywood and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice location & tasty breakfast but some staff people were not really friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and for your feedback. We have a large staff comprised of people from all over the world. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our guest relations. Although we strive to ensure that every guest has an amazing and memorable experience at the hostel it is always disappointing to hear when one does not. If you would like to tell me more specifics on your staff experience and how we can improve feel free to write me at Brendan@usahostels.com . Thanks again for your stay and we wish you safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.