X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels Hollywood Reviews

1624 Schrader Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
3003 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

One guy on night reception duty just wasn't doing his job. Around 11pm, our group had to buzz ourselves in, having waited for about 10mins to be let in. He suddenly ran down the stairs and swore at us for doing that. 10 minutes later, I saw him swinging his keys, casually hanging around the luggage storage area, again not at reception. Another group of boys buzzed themselves in and he bolted down the corridor to have another power trip with them. Really unprofessional.


100%

All I can say is everytime I have stayed at this hostel, I've had the time if my life and the staff are beyond brilliant.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great sofa area at the front to meet people and discuss the previous nights bar crawl. Although the area doesn't seem safe (which some reviews said) there's enough people around at all times and it wasn't an issue.


91%

Excellent hostel, great activities planned and organised by really good staff! It was also the cleanest and best run hostel i've been to in a long time. Only thing it misses to make it the best is the most important thing.... a bar (or simply to sell beer!)

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

No air conditioning and poor ventilation with inappropriate supply of fans, makes this place pretty unbearable in the hotter weather. The common area outside is a bit weird and dark and the people hanging around are typically pretty ghetto. They also source a lot of their staff as free labour (for allowing them to stay for free), so this results in staff not always being professional or knowledgeable. $56/night for this is terrible value.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very professionally run hostel, with excellent security. Location good, 20 minute walk from metro station, which will take you everywhere. Breakfast was average, could maybe do with a wider selection. Pillows very lumpy. Beach shuttle not as advertised... only ran once a week, that we could see and only took the first 15 people with their name on the list.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very close to the metro stations, which is a great thing, if you don't decide to drive a car! Very close to Hollywood!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Expensive but worth it for the location. The dorm rooms are big however no aircon makes them extremely hot in the evening.. although there was a heatwave in LA whilst I was there, the single noisy fan in the corner tries to make up for this but just moves the warm air around. Other than that, excellent staff, great laundry facilities and good security with security gates and lockers.


94%

Most of the staff were really friendly and accommodating. The great atmosphere over a game of beer pong was great and the pub crawls and tours that are offered are all of good value and a great way to meet others staying. Really good friendly atmosphere with good breakfast and close to all that hollywood and LA has to offer.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel! So much fun. Met some awesome people :) the only thing that sucked.... Was I got my car towed at 230 am.... And had to go get it at the impound lot... Hahaa. But I suppose that was my own fault, just be careful on parking IF you do have a rental vehicle or anything :)

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Only not so clean area of the hostel was the dishes and dishracks in kitchen. Evwything else was great. Nice breakfast, free coffee, goodnsecurity, comfy beds....thanks


100%

Best hostel ever, everyone in the room got on so well and we all had plenty to drink! Beer pong was funny, great to sit outside and chill with everyone. Johnny on reception is a legend, keeps the place going! Big thanks, amazing atmosphere here.


89%

Coming from a party hostel where everyone wanted to make friends, including the staff, compared to that hostel this hostel lacked atmosphere, but i guess that is because its a whole different target market, needless to say though, the fact that you got so much for your money and the prime location really does make up for it. I liked the fact that you held things like luau parties for guests to get to know each other, it was just less enforced than in previous hostels that ive stayed in.


97%

Was an amazing stay, amazing staff and they knew how to entertain their customers.


77%

staff has high fluctuation, 2/3 seem to be new... because they have a program that u can stay for free if u work for hostel... so they have a lot of people there, but its not always sure which one is doing what


69%

I just stayed for one night, so maybe the activities these are awesome but I didn't explore. good: nice staff to give you all the suggestion even discount for uber. laundry available even though it maybe fully occupied for sometimes. very good location, very close to the Hollywood street. Bad: people living there are not nice, they seldom talk or say hello. The room is small with 6 males and luggage is easily be a mess. Only one bathroom and restroom for 6, not enough.


86%

The hostel had good communal areas where you could sit and drink meeting other people. It also hosted many events, such as pubcrawls, comedy nights, etc which gave the hostel a good atmosphere. In addition, there were shuttle buses organized for almost every day of the week to go to a chosen location (sometimes free), The dorm beds come with a privacy cover and shelf with a power point and light which was really handy. The staff were very helpful and friendly.


100%

Great location and helpful staff.


97%

Loved it, stayed in many hostels this was the best, such high security, really strict with who comes in and out and organisation really good for trips and hikes, so easy to make friends if you join in activities. Loves that meals were cooked for everyone to eat togther so you can meet people there too. Come here if you wanna make 100 friends and love drinking. Fit staff too 🙊

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a great stay, nothing more to say :)


(103 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback