X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels Hollywood Reviews

1624 Schrader Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2888 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I love this hostel, I met a lot of people there... The rooms are pretty comfortable... Great security... The staff is not as friendly as the hostel, but you can handle with that.... They have a shuttle service from Hostel to LAX for 16 USD... I'll stay here again on my next LA visit.


86%

The excellent breakfast gets you started. Plenty of entertaining activities while indoors. Central location is PERFECT for exploring L.A. (Not just the tourist attractions but the REAL Los Angeles.) SAFE...Frequent law enforcemt patrols & close proximity of police station, the Security team keep the large homeless population at bay & brazen panhandlers in check. Front desk personnel are either VERY friendly or VERY unfriendly. LA is known for 100 degree days but there is no air conditioning

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the insightful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and our location but are concerned about the staff you mentioned. We'll write to you separately about that. Regarding the weather, this part of LA very infrequently sees days of more than 85 degrees with typically cool nights requiring a light jacket or sweater. It's more inland in 'the valley' where the temps are high. however, the recent heatwave did tax our cooling system a bit.

77%

The USA hostel in Hollywood is not as good as their one in San Fran. Excellent location, good staff, but no real indoor area conducive to hanging around and meeting people (tv is always on). There is an outdoor area but this gets way too hot. The rooms at night also get pretty stuffy. Good wifi, decent kitchen & free continental breakfast provided. Also a great pub crawl put on by the hostel and the area is fantastic for the night life! The night shift worker needs to calm down slightly.


86%

Some of the staff proved to be unhappy and unreasonable at times.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James. Thanks for the great overall scores, but we'll contact you directly about the staff. We value good customer service and want to figure out what happened during your stay. We appreciate the candor.

89%

USA hostel is a nice hostel with a very good location , staff is really helpful , would love to go back and stay

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I like very much this Hostel for the location and atmosphere


89%

Cool common aria out side. Best standard of all hostels i stayed in USA Florida/ Los Angeles. (THAT DOESN'T TAKE MUCH)


74%

글쎄요... 여러가지 행사를 많이하는건 좋은것 같아요. 무료투어 행사도 진행하고.. 근데 전체적으로 시간도 안지키고... 너무 늦게까지 술마시는 사람이 많은데다 시끄러움

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

i pad works quite slowly.


83%

All good. All roubd.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome!!!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're awesome for saying we're awesome!

57%

The Hostel was ok but the area was really bad. It's very close by to the walk of fame but this is it! Nothing to do in this area! It's 1,5 hours away from the beach and the nice areas!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret that you gave our hostel such low ratings because you did not think there was anything to do in the area. We would have been happy to help you plan your days. You could have taken our free shuttle to the beach (which takes 45 minutes), or you could go to Universal Studios (only 1 subway stop away) or taken our Beverly Hills walking tour or gone shopping (vintage to upscale nearby) or gone club hopping (right around the corner). We also take guests to Magic Mountain (about 50 minutes).

100%

If you wanna have fun in LA, this is the hostel that you are looking for! Excellent atmosphere. The staff is super nice and very organized. Normally I don't like Pub Crawl kinda parties but the one that they offer was so much fun. Their branch in San Francisco was also awesome. These guys really know how to run a hostel. Do not even hesitate a sec to book them, go head!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Compliments for two hostels in one review! Thank you so much for that. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Travels.

97%

We met a lot of great people and the staff was great too

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Los Angeles is a very big city, it would be difficult to be very well-located, since everything is spread off. The hostel is near Hollywood boulevard, but far from everything else. The little courtyard is great, I'd like every hostel has one like this! That is the best place to meet people.


94%

Hostel is right off the Walk of Fame, from where you can see the Hollywood sign. There are pan handlers and homeless people around, but safe enough. Walls were a bit thin and someone was doing wheelies in the neighbouring parking lot the first night. However everything else was very good, including the free tours.


83%

This hostel is in a really good area of Hollywood, staff are very nice and really helpful, there is good areas to meet people.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

An all-round great experience. Clean and fun. Most of the staff were great, except one had a negative attitude.


94%

Great hostel- free unlimited pancakes, just off Hollywood blvd, incredibly helpful staff, very safe and secure! Take quarters if you want to use the laundry facilities.


86%

Hostel is right in the middle of Hollywood and has a great mix of people. The check in process is brilliant with a private escort taking you to your room and explaining all the features. Wifi is brilliant and the power outlet in the beds (and lockers) is great. It is fairly pricey however this is LA.


(109 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback