Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
USA Hostels Ocean Beach Located at 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego.
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA
San Diego CA CA 92107 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107
95% 1677
32.7462439 -117.2503423
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

The facilities were really excellent, the location is great and the place is very clean and well kept. The staff were great and made the stay really memorable. Great set of activities too - smores by the bonfire at the beach were a highlight. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

The staff is awesome at USA OB. The location is great- it's right by the beach, sunset cliffs, restaurants and bars. It's a super cheap uber ride away from the airport. They have great activities and the facilities are clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave us such an amazing review! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff! Great to hear you enjoyed some of our daily activities! Whether it is a bonfire at the beach on Sunday night, the Cowles mountain hike on Tuesday, or beach Yoga on Wednesday or Saturday we always try to have something fun going on. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you safe travels!

20th Nov 2016
10.0

Laughter filled the atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! Hope to share some more laughs with you the next time around. Safe travels!

17th Nov 2016
10.0

This place rocks! I have stayed at several Hostels in HI and this one is on par with some of the best! Definitely in my top 2 or 3 all time favorite places to stay when it comes to staff, overall cleanliness and location. It was my first time in San Diego and it won't be my last! The only negative feedback I have to share is the amount of cigarettes that were smoked in the common areas. I hope OB Hostel can work something out and make it an environment that everyone can enjoy! Thanks O.B.Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.0

Es ist ein gutes Hostel, es war alles sauber und sah einwandfrei aus. Die Zimmer sind jedoch extrem klein, ich konnte kaum meinen Koffer abstellen und öffnen. Die Duschen waren sehr schlecht, es kam kaum Wasser raus und ab und zu nur kaltes Wasser. Die Atmosphäre in diesem Hostel war überhaupt nichts für mich. Es ist ein Hippiehostel. Wem das nicht zusagt, der sollte dort nicht hin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Best place ever. Missing OBI!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and this amazing review! We aren't going anywhere so hope to see you again sometime soon, safe travels!

13th Nov 2016
10.0

I had an amazing time here! Even though he was new, Daniel knew so much about the area and helped me figure out where to go in OB and helped make my time in San Diego the absolute greatest. The hostel was so clean and perfect and I will definitely return! Thank you Daniel and the rest of the USA Hostel staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
6.9

Very close to the beach, good atmosphere and cheap. But the bathrooms often smelled bad and toilets were very dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not find the bathrooms clean. All of the shared bathrooms are cleaned three times per day. Once in the early morning, once in the afternoon, and once at the end of the day. We usually receive very positive feedback in regards to the cleanliness of our hostel. Although we strive to ensure every guest finds the hostel extremely clean it is always disappointing when one does not. Thanks again for your stay and we wish you safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Great, would definitely stay here again! Staff are lovely, location is fab - right on the beach! All the facilities you could wish for, fully equipped clean kitchen, laundry, breakfast, wifi etc! Free shuttle is offered as well as beach bonfires, pub crawls, the list goes on!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Good place good staff good location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the stay and the lovely review! Will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff, safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.