Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
USA Hostels Ocean Beach Located at 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego.
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA
San Diego CA CA 92107 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107
95% 1536
32.7462439 -117.2503423
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved this hostel! Perfect place and the staff are lovely! Would highly recommend! I also intend on re-visiting!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TJfrombackbay
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.7

I grew up in the 60's and the atmosphere at O.B. brought back many memories. The helpfulness, friendly, sincere attitude is what I welcomed the most. Grumpy doesn't stay there. I will be back again and again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.9

We expected more from this hostel. Our room was very cramped and there wasn't much space to chill out. It was nice to be by the beach but it's quite hard to get to other parts of San Diego as public transport isn't great- Uber is a good idea. The bonfire was nice on the beach and it was good that they give you towels for free and cheap surf / body board rentals.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel, amazing location!! Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Would definitely stay again as very clean and secure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Aug 2016
10.0

OB is...the...best!! Loved our stay, couldn't recommend more highly. Say g'day to Jordie he's a champ!! Walk to Sunset Cliffs, visit Downtown, so much to do..... x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.7

This place was being renovated but the rooms and bathrooms were great! We were upgraded to a smaller room. Perfect location for the beach! And even a cute bonfire with everyone at night complete with a smore. Was great thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and such a great review! Glad you had fun at one of our bonfire nights! Always good to hear the new renovations paid off as a lot of love went into them! :-) Hope to see you your next time through San Diego and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

If I could live there forever- I would

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahaha, thank you for your stay and such and amazing comment! Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

An amazing hostel, fab activities every day! Staff were so accomadating, atmosphere was great! The back yard was great for meeting people! Loved it, wish we stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Love this place and always have a great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed at this hostel after staying at one in LA and it was honestly like a luxurious hotel in comparison! From the outside it looks cool but not very inviting, whereas the inside is a pleasant surprise! Staff are super friendly, rooms are amazing and everyone is so welcoming and friendly! I felt safe and the location was perfect. Ocean beach is the nicest beach out of them all and it's literally a 5 minute walk. I also loved how the hostel put on activities for guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.