Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel in the world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing amazing!!! Would recommend this place great vibe and yoga on the beach topped it off xx great work team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

The stage was great. I really enjoyed the smoors on the beach. My only complaint was the parking. I'm not from California and the parking signs were confusing and I ended up with a $52 parking ticket 😡 I just wish I had better instructions on were to park. I could have stayed in a hotel with parking for what the ticket and the hostel cost😡😡😡😡😡😡😡 If I had been dericted or been given better instructions on were to park. It would have been nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
4.9

DO NOT LET STAFF WATCH YOUR BAGS. I had my laptop stolen from my suitcase while it was supposed tore in a staff only storage area. It was probably one of the foreign volunteers who stay there free and work part-time. The bathrooms were disgusting. I went to take a shower and it basically looked like mud was all over the floor. The mirror in the bathroom was spotty and the sink had toothpaste and abandoned toothbrushes in it. Pros; Cheap place to stay, friendly hookers across the street at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing stay - can't wait to come back. Would love to volunteer here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel. Beds are so comfy and cozy, with two plug sockets and a reading light for each bed. Bagels in the morning were yummy. Location is great right on ocean beach, but of course a bit of a way from other areas, however the free shuttle bus is great and ocean beach is an amazing area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Do not waste your time on guessing over what hostels to stay at, this one is the clear winner. With the beach just down the road, amazing back patio, wonderful staff! Grocery store directly across. And amazing tacos just steps away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Super happy to have stayed at this hostel. The staff and the volunteers were very friendly and welcoming people! Ocean Beach is a really chilled out environment but there is always something to do. Location is perfect! The hostel itself is modern with clean tidy dorms and bathrooms. Definitely will be coming back to OB hostel to stay again. Thanks guys!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere and location, friendly and helpful staff. Free and cheap daytrips run by the hostel. Highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Overall the place is great, anyone that complains or rates this place anything less then perfect is crazy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.