Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostel I've ever been! Located on the super chill zone of Ocean Beach, very close to the beach, cool patio as common space, very clean and well organised. But what really makes this place special is the staff: Laura, Alvaro, Thiago, Mohamed, Lisa and Dave will never make you feel bored and will always provide the best tips to enjoy San Diego during the day and the night. Hope to see you soon guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.4

First time traveling alone. First time in a hostel. Very clean. They have activities to do. I ended up making many friends! Close to the beach! Staff was awesome plus the volunteers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jirvine07
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.7

This place is awesome and I will definitely stay here again! Five minute walk to the beach. Located right in the middle of Newport avenue so you're surrounded by good eats and shops. The staff here is friendly and interact with all the guest. There was one staff member I even went surfing with. The facilities are clean. Back patio is spacious and a great place to hang out and mingle with other guest. Rooms are a bit small but they did the trick! If you're in San Diego this is the best hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
10.0

my absolute favorite hostel on earth! Stayed here twice and both times were amazing. I rely completely on these reviews, so if there was something wrong, I'd say it. Clean, fun, has all the amenities even cute little lights and plugs on each bed. wifi's great, some rooms have private bathrooms, I never waited for one. It's one block from the beach, fun staff, great kitchen area, front and back porches. They even have beach towels, chairs and umbrellas to use for free! daily excursions are great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aidanhf8010
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.4

What a fantastic hostel! Walking distance to the beach, great transport links for other San Diego hotspots and the nightly activities were great. Breakfast wasn't fantastic (bagels a bit rubbish) but otherwise spot on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, one of the best places I've stayed in the entire US.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Honestly it's one of the best hostels I've ever been to!! Completely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel with great staff, perfect location for Ocean Beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best weeks of my life

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic stay at Ocean Beach, the hostel is so clean and modern, with loads of activities on offer where you can meet great people, in an ideal location close to the beach. This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! Glad you enjoyed some of our free daily activities that include beach bonfires, yoga, coastal bike rides, and pub crawls. We hope you met some great new friends as that is what hosteling is all about! Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.