Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
USA Hostels Ocean Beach Located at 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego.
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA
San Diego CA CA 92107 4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107
95% 1596
32.7462439 -117.2503423
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, super friendly staff, I'd definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.0

Called a wk ahead of time to change my res from 2 ppl to 1 person, but nobody changed it. Lady at the desk acted like she was doing me a favor by not charging me 2x. Rest of the staff were great! Be prepared for most guests to be drinking and smoking cigs. Not bothersome, tho. Quiet hrs are actually pretty quiet. If it's hot out, keep your window open!!! There is one tiny fan in each rm and the comforters are hot! Upstairs there is a dusty fan in the hall. Not sure if there is a/c or not.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
10.0

really enjoyed the stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location, friendly staff and awesome atmosphere. Rooms are very small but you get a cool shelf and light for a little privacy for your bed. The shared bathrooms were really dirty so I don't recommend using those but the female cubicle style bathrooms were really nice and clean. Nice back patio and free brekkie of juice box, bagels and oatmeal. Stuff got stolen from the fridge even though it was labelled so maybe don't use that but would definitely stay there agin and highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely incredible hostel with a great vibe. Have stayed at two hostels downtown but would definitely say that this hostel in OB is the place to be. Great patio for chilling, good breakfast, excellent surf facilities and super friendly staff. Will be coming back for sure! 😘😘😘

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • carlawatts01
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel and a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
10.0

great place to crash if traveling through San Diego. their backyard communal space is a cool place to hang out and meet your neighbors. I didn't join the bong fire trip but i heard good things about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Stayed in the same USA hostel in dorm room in San Francisco and there they have 4 beds per room. In San Diego they have 6 beds and even smaller rooms. Impossible to store personal stuff, all room is filled with travelers bags and it's a total mess. Plus rooms weren't cleaned regularly -- sand is everywhere. No AC either --just fans.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.4

Great staff, location, room, facilities and really clean! The only thing I would say that would make the hostel even better would be to have a communal area inside, because it was cold when I was there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely fantastic hostel! Hostel is really social and staff are so helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.