X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels Ocean Beach Reviews

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1091 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff was helpful and so nice and friendly. My stay here was amazing and I would recommend to anyone.

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel


46%

The hostel is under construction so everything is either shut down, dirty or not working. The location is nice, really close to ocean beach


74%

kitchen was not inviting people staying there were more hippie than we expected

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Being just 2 blocks from the Pacific Ocean, most guests find our location terrific and the local vibe quite fun. We hope you'll give us another try next year, as we're about to start a remodel of the kitchen that should make everyone feel like a gourmet chef when in there. Happy Travels.

69%

Location is close to the beach however a bit sketchy, many street people. The showers were cold, after 3 days of being told that hot water will come if you let it run for 10min(irresponsible considering there's a drought in California) still no hot water. Wouldn't recommend it for winter, maybe in summer this problem is ok. Reasonable breakfast, although no black tea. Rooms were a decent size. A few of the staff members were helpful and lovely. No free pick up from the airport as advertised.


83%

I hung out with Hannah who is a cool staff

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love hanging out with Hannah too!

91%

A great hostel, I will definitely recommend to my friends! Location is perfect. Staff is really nice and they come up with events every night where you can meet the other hostel guests - great to meet new people! Free breakfast is yummy!


1 2 Next » last »
(27 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback