Hostelworld.com

USA Hostels San Diego

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
USA Hostels San Diego Located at 726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego.
USA Hostels San Diego
USA
San Diego CA 92101 726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA
91% 1688
32.7129039 -117.1603059
USA Hostels San Diego
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st May 2016
5.7

Really noisy - I was in a front room so street noise was really bad, but not unexpected, but the hostel also cranked music with lots of base early in the morning and thru the day. Hostel not very big, felt stuffy and not much room to hang out. Moved to the HI hostel down the street - much happier

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback and for your stay. We are in the heart of the gaslamp so we are surrounded by great restaurants, bars, and nightlife so sometimes some of that noise can seep through. We are currently installing air conditioning and a new ventilation system into the entire building that will be completed shortly to address any issues of the hostel seeming stuffy. We like to play music throughout the day as most of our guests feel it adds to the atmosphere, that said we will make sure that it is not turned on in the early morning. Thanks again for your stay and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
6.6

Good location but there is noise until 3:30 am outside, buskers, traffic, stereos, outside the window every night. Privacy pod beds are a good idea but the bunks themselves are so cheap that the slightest movement from someone above or below you is like an earthquake. Good hostel but very overpriced I paid 41 dollars for a room with excessive noise and no a/c. HI is much better

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and for you feedback. We are in the process right this moment of installing air conditioning and a new ventilation system into the entire building. We apologize if you felt warm in your room, we are very proactive on feedback and as you are not the first guest to mention this we are installing the AC. We are in the heart of the gaslamp and the moment you step outside you are surrounded by great bars, restaurants, and nightlife so occasionally that noise does spill through. Thanks again for your stay and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
10.0

First hostel ever and I was left with a wonderful impression. Now I'm inspired to travel the world! Great rooms, great staff, delicious breakfast...privacy, perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! Welcome to the world of hostelling and it inspires us to hear we are inspiring people to travel! That is what a great hostel is all about and what we strive to do! So thanks for making our day here with this review! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff were incredible, super friendly and helpful. Hostel is easy to get to with lots of public transport close by. If you want to get a peaceful nights sleep this isn't the place. Windows are so thin (pretty sure it was just plastic) that doesn't block any sound out and curtains don't even cover the whole window. They were doing maintenance on the bathroom downstairs so there were only 3 bathrooms and 3 showers meaning you had to wait most of the time. Felt like it was a little overpriced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

A really cool hostel that's very social, with plenty of activities... and a social staff, that hangs out with the guests and partakes (the exception being a few cliquish long-termers that live at the hostel, who keep their distance - but most of the staff were very fun and cool). Music playing (even in the bathrooms, which is awesome) and a solid pancake breakfast. Excellent location in central San Diego, access to all parts of the city. Comfortable beds and large lockers also. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Everything was perfect! Such great staff and guests. I will absolutely stay here again. I just wish that there were separate men and women changing areas after showering. With only three showers, I felt bad having to take up space to dry off, apply lotion and all the things we do in a locker room behind the shower door rather than in a locker room with only women. It would be nice to have separate facilities so I don't have to wake my suite mates or take up shower space. But, will be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place, especially if you want to be in downtown and are coming from the airport. Right at all downtown attractions. Great staff. Great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
8.9

Great hostel in a wonderful location. Staff was excellent. Loved that they had breakfast, though it would be nice to have something with protein offered (only pancakes and fruit). Could have been cleaner, but it's hard with that many people coming and going all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
10.0

We had the best fun here at USA hostel San Diego! The staff were so welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful! Defiantly the place to come if you want to party

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eviebrown
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! I love this place, perfect location, super safe and the staff are amazing! If you're heading to San Diego this is the place to stay, Thanks for having me guys, I'm sure I'll be back at some point in the near future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.