X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

USA Hostels San Diego Reviews

726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1189 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good hostel in the heart of the Gas lamp area of San Diego.Close to bars and good restaurants.


100%

Everything was amazing, great experience! Would definitely choose USA Hostels again!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The best thing about this hostel were the staff, especially Marky Mark. Absolutely fantastic stay here, I love San Diego.


91%

Great peoplo deff coming back

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great experience! We had an awesome time in this hostel!!! It's located in the main party street which makes it a little bit louder during the weekends, but besides that absolutely great - excellent breakfast!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

lovely, colorful, friendly, Great Breakfast

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome- could just be a bit cleaner in the bathrooms.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • KateCecilia
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

At first I wasn't too impressed, but then I grew to love this place. Check in was a bit slow - they explained it's not usually as busy as it was, but they should have had an extra person to deal with the luggage storage and answering the phone and door buzzer to speed things up. The shared bathrooms could have been cleaned more often IMO. Overall, the staff was laid back and it was really fun staying here. :)


100%

I loved this place. San Diego is an amazing city and this place is the perfect base to explore it from. The pub crawl was really fun and the beds with the privacy pods are a brilliant idea. I'd definitely stay here again.


89%

The environment is so nice and I like the kitchen so much . It provides not only nice free breakfast but also the Kitchenware that guests can make lunch or dinner by themselves . Everything is great!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place, good atmosphere, Nice stay 😊

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was so hot in the room for two nights, almost no air in the room, I was about to sleep in the bathroom, because it was fresh... There is no air conditionning. Very well-located: downtown, near the plublic transportation, in the middle of dozens of good restaurants and bars.


66%

Decent hostel right in the middle of downtown. If you plan on sleeping though, good luck here. All the noise from the bars in the area made it hard to sleep without earplugs and unfortunately, I was there during a heatwave. No a/c was rough but usually you don't need it in San Diego. Nice kitchen and breakfast. Security was good and it was very clean.


89%

We loved it here met some really cool people that we will be keeping in touch with ! :0)

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

There were noisy rooms/people even after 11pm, i dont know if the staff is responsible to stop them or it s coming from the staff already since there are many people working there for free bed. 4 Mixed Room(#2) on the first floor has no Window, no air inside except the AC which makes also noise. Its location is great and the Value for Money is good.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a high quality hostel - there's not a lot more you could ask for! The softest, most comfortable bed I've slept on in my whole 3 months travelling. The location is incredible, you walk outside right into the Gaslamp Quarter - literally between two busy, hip restaurants! It's clean, friendly, there's even iPads free to use if you need. If I had one tiny criticism it would be the fact you need a really big lock for the in room lockers (small ones don't fit) but everything else was great!


71%

It was a fine hostel but I was overcharged the entire deposit amount from hostelworld which they refused to accept was a deposit and not an extra fee. I tried explaining that hostelworld takes a deposit and the remaining balance is owed upon arrival, yet they didn't understand that. So it was not worth the money as we each paid about $38 for a dorm room.


100%

Best staff ever!


94%

overall,everything excellent,location in the heart of down town,staffs super friendly,just one problem ,the showers,water gets cold or hot which is a plumming problem and requires to change the watering system to prevent sudden shortage of cold or hot water,.....thanx to all of you guys who work hard and friendly ,see you soon zozo :)


80%

Great spot. Staff were a bit up and down though. Hard to tell who was who. And some were helpful, some didn't have much of an idea. Only three toilets shared between an entire floor... But they were mostly immaculate. I'd stay here again

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback