Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Diego

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1935 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1935 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent location, right in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter. Tons of bars and restaurants nearby, and easy access to Petco Park! Great stay, would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is amazing! The front door is locked so that you can only enter with a room key or by ringing the doorbell, so I felt very safe. The beds have great privacy walls so that you can stay up without waking up your roommates or sleep comfortably without anyone being able to see you. Everyone is SO friendly and it couldn't be easier to make friends if that's what you want to do. If you need anything at all, the staff is eager about helping you out. and the downtown location is perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

We stayed in a private room, it was very nice and well presented. Shared bathrooms were never crowded. Kitchen area was large and easy to use but could probably do with a second toaster. The nightly events were fun once you were out, but could benefit with a bit more prior organisation. Would stay here again, pretty good Hostel overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave a review! Glad to hear you didn't find our newly remodeled bathrooms crowded. We can definitely get a second toaster. :-) We do put a lot of thought into our daily activities which include pub crawls, sunset walks, and city outings. That said we are always looking to improve so thanks for the feedback. Thanks again for your stay and we hope to see you again your next time through San Diego! Safe travels!

6th Mar 2017
9.4

Super cool hostel and well put together For a Monday night it was a big noisy but once quiet hours kicked in it was super quiet We had a private room which was closet sized but functional enough. Bathrooms super clean and you can't beat the location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your stay and the kind words! Because we are located in the heart of the gaslamp surrounded by bars and restaurants we know things can get a bit noisy, however we do our best to enforce quiet hours and cancel out the noise. Glad you liked our newly remodeled bathrooms! Thanks again for your stay and we really hope to get the oppurtunity to host you again in the future. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Wonderful place for traveler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, thanks for such an amazing review! Glad you had a great stay and we hope to have you back in the future! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

The staffs were friendly, the bed was comfortable and clean. The activity was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay and the amazing review! Glad you enjoyed some of our daily activities. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

The cleanest hostel I've ever seen! Sometimes you think that there are living more staff as guests. Had a great time. Free RedBull and a lot of activities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, thanks so much! We will be sure to show your review to our amazing housekeeping staff! :-) Hope to see you again your next time in town and hope you have amazing travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location downtown with lots of bars and restaurants around. The breakfast is tasty for early birds. The staff is nice! Btw, thanks for the tips and great conversation Cassey! See you around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

That place is great! The staff very nice and friendly. Excellent location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay and the great review. Really hope to see you again your next time in San Diego. :-) safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Convenient location close to lots of bars and restaurants, cute and quirky interior, and you get free breakfast (and shots at 7:26 pm haha). I was able to get a great deal on surfing lessons in Ocean Beach from the sister hostel- I'll be back! Want to try out the sister hostel in OB too to experience a different neighborhood!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay and leaving such a great review. Glad you enjoyed being in the heart of the gaslamp and hope you enjoy being out at the beach in OB on your next trip! :-) Safe travels and hope to see you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.