Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Diego

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
USA Hostels San Diego Located at 726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego.
USA Hostels San Diego
USA
San Diego CA 92101 726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA
91% 1839
32.7129039 -117.1603059
USA Hostels San Diego
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Nov 2016
8.9

A friendly and social hostel (i.e. as social as a hostel as can be, in this era of smartphone addiction). Some of the staff members were exceptional and great with organizing activities such as excursions to bars and happy-hours. Good facilities in an excellent location. And nice little touches such as alcoves with lamps in the bed bunks and coat-racks and complimentary earplugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
9.4

A convenient spot, well-run, and particularly nice washrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
9.1

Very quality hostel, all aspects covered, great location. Some rooms close to the street can be very loud all night on friday and Saturday nights so may need to ask for a room away from the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adelescampoli4625
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.4

Great staff. No windows in the room. HVAC running 24/7-kinda noisy when you r used to fresh air..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for you stay and taking the time to leave a review! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff, we love reviews like this! We just bought a brand new air conditioning system that we are really excited about! We are still tinkering a bit to get the times and levels just right. Thanks again for your stay and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Oct 2016
10.0

Everything in here was really great. Would do it again anytime!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay and taking the time to leave us such an amazing review! Safe travels!

15th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent place to stay! The vibe is awesome, location is killer, and a hostel with breakfast? That's just unheard of. The staff are ALOT of fun and play great music during the day. Very clean place with laundry facilities available. If I'm in the area again, this is where I'm staying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for you stay and leaving such an amazing review! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Oct 2016
9.7

I had a great time staying here! The rooms were nice, each bed is quite private which is really great, bathrooms always super clean and lounge area fun. Great location - you're right in the hub of downtown which is lots of fun, and the hostel provides a free shuttle to the close by zoo/Balboa park, beach and airport. Uber pick ups are within minutes too and it's really cheap to go exploring around from the hostel. Will definitely be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and the review! Hope to see you next time, safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2016
9.7

The hostel is perfectly located if you want to be downtown. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars around and you are really close from Balboa park. It's about 20 miles from the principal beaches! The staff is really nice and welcoming, the rooms are a little small but really clean. I would definitely go back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the lovely review! We will share your kind words with all the staff. Hope to see you next time you find yourself in San Diego, safe travels!

  • nathancocks
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
9th Oct 2016
9.4

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff were friendly, the bathrooms were always clean and there were events on each night of the week to help meet other travellers. The common area was not the most social of places though, and if I had my time again I would of paid a few extra dollars to not end up with a basic dorm which had no windows and was quite noisy as it was right next to reception. You get what you pay for though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
6.3

Great location, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, a lot of events organised, kitchen and toilet fairly clean. However, not sure the hostel is worth the $85 a night for a private room. The carpet in the room was old and dirty, the laundry facility was broken, they got out of bread one morning and didn't replace it, the guide of the sunset tour didn't explain anything, there was a loud air conditioning system keeping you awake at night. All good if you pay $50, but for this price I'd expect better

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the location, the atmosphere, and the staff. The laundry room was out of service for 3 days in October due to a broken water pipe, we apologize for the inconvenience and we did everything in our power to get it fixed as soon as possible. All of our carpets are steamed clean weekly by our housekeepers. We do our best to ensure everyone gets great value for their money by offering daily free activities, a free shuttle to the beach, and amazing customer service. Thanks again for your stay and we wish you safe travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.