Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 5159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 5159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Feb 2017
9.1

Good beds, great breakfast, decent location. Fun hostel with nightly activities, free breakfast, movie room, hang-out room, and workout room. Also has a parking garage close by. Overall, would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Great place - good vibe with pool tables, theatre, close to downtown - security at place is very good. neighbourhood can be a little sketchy with lots of homeless around but felt pretty safe. Overall one of the better hostels ive stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.1

My first time at a hostel: great experience. Enjoyed the evening pub crawl and getting to know the other guests. One tip: employees be more knowledgable on the facility and local area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Clean, nice and functional hostel, maybe the best I've ever stayed at. Daily activities, including free booze on Saturday (which I guess increases their rating quite a bit :) ) The area is very central and looks safe but gets a bit dodgy for a couple of blocks (due to a homeless centre I think) if you are approaching the hostel through Jones street from civic centre, so if you have luggages or it's late I'd recommend getting off the BART/bus at the next station (Powell) instead of civic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.7

This is a clean, quiet, well-maintained hostel, with a lot of activities on offer. It's in an excellent location, though the area can be a little questionable at night. Really, though, there aren't a lot of major cities in the world that don't have questionable neighborhoods after midnight. The breakfast is pretty good - fruit, bread and butter, coffee and tea, and pancakes (self-serve, of course), though be sure to wash your own dishes when you're done. The beds are really comfortable, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

The most well-apportioned hostel I've ever been in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Great times staying at USA Hostels San Francisco. Friendly, convenient. great facilities. One issue, I'd booked 2 nights, but their eftpos machine couldn't connect so they requested that I pay what I could in cash (1 night) then come back later and pay the rest. Next morning they demanded I collect my things and check out as I had only paid one night - then extend my stay for the second night. They figured it out but only after explaining it 20 times. Bad communication or inexperienced staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Great mix of fun and quiet. Very clean. Free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Overall great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

It was phenomenal, very clean and affordable for what you got in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.