X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels San Francisco Reviews

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
3942 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic hostel, amazing city. Would recommend staying here to anybody.


91%

Great Hostel, facilities were excellent with enough showers and toilets. Common room with pool table was good too. Generally not to much noise after 11pm but it's a hostel so you have to expect a little bit or else you should be staying in a hotel. The location was excellent only a short stroll to Union Square. A few of the neighbouring streets are a little sketchy but nothing to really worry about. Only downfall was the price. But considering how expensive SF is in general.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent atmosphere staff very friendly and activities with ed and john were great fun. Would definitely come back


94%

It was great to stay there, great organisation, and they make you feel comfortable ! recommended !

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel prices in san francisco are just unbelievable, therefore value for money was not great. Smoke of weed all over the house and in front of the hostel was quite strong. But prime location just a few blocks from union square was perfect. Bar street also close by, great mix for a good time.


100%

Great location, very easy to get to via public transport, great breakfast and the hostel provides great free tours. No complaints.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The group activities were well organised helping everyone to get to know each other helping me to meet some nice people. One of the managers Brendan leads by example leading some of the walking tours.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is really big. Maybe that is why the staff is not so close. They just do their job bureaucratically. It is near de mains square and public transportation. The breakfast is good! You can make your own pancakes! But, it is really crowd. The bedroom is confortable and also de bathroom.


100%

After staying with you guys, it will be difficult to stay in any other hostel around the world, you are WAY above the rest, keep on the good work, and stay as you are ! Everything is perfectly clean, everything has been thought for backpackers, everything is really perfect.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Enjoyed our stay. Has a drama booking our airport shuttle. We booked for 5.20am but the person who did it booked for 5.20pm so we had to call the shuttle company last minute to call up. The person on reception was very helpful with this issue this morning (10/8)

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A really great hostel, i didn't stay at any others in SF so i can't compare it to any local ones. The bike tour is great, the walking tour is great, free wine and cheese? can't complain. Free pre drinks? Yes please. All the activities they do are definitely worth doing. Also, if you ask Brendan nicely after the walking tour, he may be able to take you out on the bikes in the afternoon (Defo worth doing!! - Thanks Brendan!). Very clean, location is good as well. Just quite $$$ (Book early!).

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really clean and well presented. Very very high quality

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is located in a great location. Lots of things to do nearby. The staff is really helpful. Common areas have a cool vibe and are well maintained. They have lots of things going on like pub crawls, bike tours, walking tours, etc which are great, Shout out to Brendan for taking us on an amazing walking tour and for showing us the city on bike, he was really helpful. Will definitely recommend anyone visiting SF to check out this hostel. It's one of best I've stayed at.


100%

The front desk staff always friendly.brian,I think that's his name,super nice andhelpfull


89%

Could be more bathrooms.


94%

Excellent hostel. Really good facilities. The staff were lovely and helpful. The only name I remember is Siobhan but the others were also great.


100%

Absolutely amazing hostel. Extremely clean, great AC, great activities, staff are fantastic - especially Ed! Cannot fault anything about this place, it's worth paying an extra few dollars for. You will not be disappointed! Seemed to attract a really cool, fun crowd and the atmosphere was really nice - everyone was super friendly. Try the bike ride! Really good experience and a fun way to meet other travellers. Not a bad word to say about this experience - even breakfast is delicious!


86%

Room was bloody hot overnight. No bueno Great walkabout Sunday with Ed.


91%

The hostel is very secure (key cards needed to be shown to enter the building, and enter dorms, as well as large lockers being available to store luggage). Right near Union Square, and lots of information about getting around San Fran. Would definitely stay again.


94%

First I considered the value a little bit higher but I decided to trust on the comment on the website and I can say they totally true. I found a friendly enviroment, an staff prepared to support the guest, the security and the high cleanliness. The building always clean, from the entrace to the bathroom. Really quiet hostel, I could sleep very well. The kitchen was always clean and organised and the breakfast was good. The USA Hostel surpassed my expectation.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(170 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback