Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Aug 2017
8.9

My sister and I shared a private room without ensuite for two nights. We had a great stay, awesome private room with great facilities. Really comfy beds, metal frames but some genius put rubber between the connections so they aren't squeaky. Facilities in the hostel were good, it's pretty big. We had some of the free breakfast which was nice and the common area is a good place to have a few beers with other travellers. Really great fun, helpful staff, particular shout out to Eryn of course :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.4

was quite "Okay" some small things was inconvenient. e.g. there was practically no room ventilation. (you need to open the window during sleep, but then it gets too cold!) also, whats the deal with letting people clean the dishes during breakfast?! i mean how come you dont have dish washers?! 😉 or get paper utensils (im on vacation n dont wanna do dishes) also the street from the bart (subway) station had a lot of homeless ppl (not tourist-friendly) final thing, was a bit overpriced!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Nice hostel! would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
10.0

LOVED my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
9.1

Great, great staff. Very organised and clean hostel. The only thing I'd say something about is regarding the check in and check out hours. Amazing drinks on Saturday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! We will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. Glad you enjoyed the free party that happens every Saturday night at our hostel! Hope to see you again your next time in San Francisco and we wish you happy and safe travels!

4th Aug 2017
10.0

I though the San Francisco Hostel was great. I enjoyed it, and I'm an "adult". I can't imagine young travelers not taking advantage of this housing options. I didn't require much help, but the staff were as helpful as professional hoteliers. The location was great. The next time I visit a new city. This doesn't have anything to do with the hostel, but I wish I purchased a transportation pass. On my next trip I plan to ride around on public transportation for about 5 hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.9

Great hostel. Union square is in walking distance. They offer a lot of activities when you stay there. Yes there are homeless people near the hostel, but you will see them everywhere in the city. Safe neighborhood. Love my stay with them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
7.7

Good location and clean but expensive unless you are traveling alone

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the review. We know San Francisco can be expensive that is why we give our guests the most value for their money by providing free daily breakfast along with free daily activities. Activities include free walking tours, pub crawls, seaside hikes, bike trips, and parties. Thanks again for your stay and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.7

Overall had a good stay, place was clean and had everything you need. Location was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel about a 5-10 minute walk from union square! Daily activities to do, amazing and friendly staff, excellent wifi and good breakfast!! Definitely a great place to stay while in San Francisco!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the excellent review! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. Glad you enjoyed our free daily breakfast that includes all you can make pancakes, bagels, fresh fruit, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and tea. Hope to see you again your next time in San Francisco and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.