Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 5271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 5271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Easy check-in/check-out with a very friendly staff. I really liked the plugs/nightlights on each bed and how there's a little privacy wall, as well. Pretty great free breakfast -- toast, english muffins, bagel thins, fruit, juice and coffee. Extremely clean bathrooms. I also appreciated the level of security -- door to lobby area, then separate locked door to rooms (must show key to get in). Overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the amazing review! Glad you liked our custom designed beds. We are all backpackers too so we just thought of what we would want while traveling and came up with a privacy panel, personal reading light, shelf, outlets, and USB charger in every bed. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. Thanks again for your stay. We wish you safe and happy travels!

18th Apr 2017
8.6

It's in a really sketchy neighborhood but close to a bunch of bars. The facilities are really good - they have full private bathrooms you can use so that's nice. They also have good night activities - 1$ beers and hot dogs and free pub crawl when I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel, near good restaurants and major attractions. Beds and rooms are clean and well organized. We made a tour with Harrison and he was great, he gave us good tips for the rest of our trip. Definitely will recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave us such a great review. Glad you enjoyed one of our tours! We offer a free walking tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday morning at 10 am and a bicycle tour every Tuesday and Firday morning. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Harrison. Thanks again, we wish you happy and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel for social events, met lots of people of the organised trips. Love the Yoga/fitness room. Very big with lots of facilities. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! Glad you enjoyed some of our daily events that include walking tours, bicycle trips, hikes, pub crawls, and dinners. Hope to see you again your next time in San Francisco and we wish you happy and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Great vibe and location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the great review! Hope to see you again your next time in the city. We wish you happy and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

The facilities in this hostel are literally the best I've ever seen. From laundromats to fitness gear, from cinema to toasters, tablets, atm and coffee machines. They organize a lot of activities and the common area is huge. The beds have a charger, little shelve and privacy sceens. Highly appreciated as a traveler. Down sides: a thad expensive, very strict check-out policy, rules and employees everywhere. Makes it feel a bit childish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your stay and taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you liked our facilities and our customized beds. We are all backpackers ourselves so we thought of what we would like as travelers and came up with a privacy panel, personal reading light, shelf, power outlets, and USB charger in ever bed. We do encourage guests to check out promptly at the 10 am check out time. We are a 250-bed hostel and our amazing housekeeping staff has a lot to clean in a relatively short period of time. We appreciate your understanding.Thanks again for your stay and we wish you happy and safe travels!

16th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place to stay. 4 bed dorms, locks on the front, individual lockers inside. I felt very secure inside the hostel. The area was good, close to Union Square, which is nice if you want to shop or visit Chinatown, but less nice if you want to do actual cool things (waterfront, mission district, etc) as it's a bit of a hike. Worst part: on the edge of the Tenderloin, go a couple of blocks west or south and you can see some serious crackheads. Great atmosphere, very comfortable, very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
9.4

I had an amazing stay at USA hostels! As a solo traveler, it was easy to make friends - and the location was super central. I did have a couple issues making sense of the activities schedule, though. The information online isn't consistent with the activities currently offered at the hostel - and I got conflicting information from the front staff on a number of occasions. That was the only thing affecting my rating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for any conflicting information on our website and have ensured our activity calendar is up to date. Hope to see you again your next time in San Francisco and we wish you happy and safe travels!

6th Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent location in San Francisco, walking tours, Pub Crawls just rainy weather, continental breakfast was served in the morning. Very professional staff, rooms were clean and taken care of. Like San Francisco a lot! Originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, Palo Alto. Have traveled to all fifty states and 39 countries in North America, Europe, Asia and Australia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kate_walker18223
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

We stayed for two nights and it was perfect. It's close to Union Square and the tram if you want to use it for a ride to Fisherman's Wharf, if not, you're looking at a 45min walk. The hostel is large and spacious, plenty of showers and toilets. Lots of restaurants opposite if you don't want to walk far. We stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and it was perfect. Staff were friendly, you get a towel and the free brekkie was basic but decent enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.