Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4,776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4,776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
USA Hostels San Francisco Located at 711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco.
USA Hostels San Francisco
USA
San Francisco CA CA 94109 711 Post Street, San Francisco
90% 4776
37.7876680 -122.4136490
USA Hostels San Francisco
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.0

The staff were friendly and helpful, the hostel was clean and the kitchen well setup. My only issue was the noise, we were on the first floor back bedrooms which were immediately above the kitchen/bar area and we heard music booming until late and restarting again at 7am. Understandable in the evening, but no need for it in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
6.3

Bathrooms were so dirty and gross. Stains on the carpets. Lockers were not big enough to fit my backpack in. Staff were good though and there seemed to be a lot of organised activities. Close to Union Square.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • erinlewis9
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.0

Great Hostel! More like a hotel. Cleanliness of common areas could be a lot better. Staff were very pleasant however they seemed a little false. Bedrooms were spacious and clean with privacy. Would definitely stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Excellent hostel. Value for money, clean and tidy with considerate guests. Top quality would stay again and recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

I stayed for 3 nights because the other hostel I booked wasn't available for my full stay. The place is clean but I don't like the shared bathrooms or the fact that they aren't full bathrooms with a toilet and sink etc. The rooms were clean. The atmosphere isn't super cosy but you get what you need. It isn't a place I would want to hang out and chill. The place I stayed at on Ellis street was (although the location was a bit sketchy). This location is great but it's pricey for w

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Extremely safe! Very clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and taking the time to leave such a great review! We do our best to ensure our guests are extremely safe by having a locked security door at night and also making guests show their key card in order to be buzzed through a second security door by our 24 hour a day reception staff. Hope to see you again your next time through and we wish you safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel itself is pretty awesome. It's in this old style San Francisco building, the staff is friendly, the security measure are awesome, there's lots of activities organized and it's clean. It's just in a sketch location. Not super sketchy, but you will encounter tons of homeless people and things like that when going anywhere, and you're just a short walk from Turk street, which is an extremely sketchy street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.4

It's a fantasic place. I chose not to participate any of the events, but lots of activities offered to guests. Close to everywhere. Staffs were helpful. Clean and convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and such a great review! Glad you found the hostel clean and the staff helpful, will pass along your kind words to the staff. Hope to see you your next time in San Francisco! Safe travels!

  • NevilleMarc
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Negatives: Bathrooms could have been cleaner; not entirely sure that this is the fault of staff though, rather people just not flushing toilets properly. Also, was extremely hot one of the nights I had stayed there to the point where it was hard/almost impossible to sleep. Also, pretty expensive for a hostel. Positives: This hostel is perfect for someone travelling solo. It has a great location, great amenities, best lounge/kitchen combo I've seen and awesome staff. I'd stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and for the feedback! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff! We clean our common bathrooms 3 times per day. Once in the early morning, once in the afternoon, and once more around 5pm. It is a bummer when people don't flush the toilet or leave a mess in a common bathroom. :-( Thanks again for your stay and we hope to see you again your next time in town! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

Great, friendly and helpful staff. Worth the price compared to other hostels in the U.S.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and the review! We will be sure to pass along the kind words about our staff. Hope to see you again your next time in San Francisco and we wish you safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.