Hostelworld.com

USA Hostels San Francisco

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 4,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 4,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
USA Hostels San Francisco Located at 711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco.
USA Hostels San Francisco
USA
San Francisco CA CA 94109 711 Post Street, San Francisco
91% 4552
37.7876680 -122.4136490
USA Hostels San Francisco
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
7.4

The toilet/bathroom/sink situation was a bit odd, but other than that the place was fine. The hostel is rather close to the Tenderloin, and there isn't a lot of good food options/places to visit close by. I did the walking tour the hostel offered but didn't find it very informative. It felt more like wandering with a group.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th May 2016
7.7

Friendly staff - very welcoming and helpful even after check out. Nice clean room and comfy bed. Good location - not too far from market St and only really have to go up one block that has a hill

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
9.4

met many international people. it was very clean. easy to navigate around the city from the hostel. overall great! go to rove kitchen for lunch.. its right across from the hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.1

This hostel is pretty great! Downsides: -it's a bit expensive for a hostel, but San Fran is an expensive city, so I guess it makes sense. -the way from the Bart Civic Center station to the hostel is really sketchy: homeless people, kinda ghetto, dirt everywhere... once you get to the hostel it's all ok Upsides: -full facilities with bar, snooker, kitchen, etc -great atmosphere with friendly guests and staff -free activities all the time -friendly staff, especially Sammy!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th May 2016
8.9

Probably one of the better hostels I've ever been to. Really cool hostel with something always going on. I met a lot of great people here and made some awesome friends, it is on the expensive side but compared to other hostels, but I find you get what you pay for in terms of amenities and facilities. Would recommend!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
9.1

Cleanliness- Shared bathrooms are cleaned every morning. Kitchen is monitored by staff, but you need to make sure you do your own washing up to keep the hostel clean. Common areas are kept to a high standard. Room very clean upon arrival. Location- only 10/15 minute walk into the center of downtown San Fran and access to trolley service. Bus stops located on parallel streets. Staff- have good knowledge of local and tourist sites. Ask at the desk for day/evening group activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
9.7

This Hostel was awesome! The best one I've ever stayed at, though, also the most expensive. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean and safe and the staff were wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful! Though this hostel is located just above the Tenderloin, I never felt unsafe and it is actually very centrally located to everything you need! Met many great people here and would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to beautiful San Fran!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
8.6

Great stay. We didn't join in any activities because I'd already made bookings / plans etc but they looked like great fun and seemed popular, especially the pub crawl! A great way to save money too as a lot were free activities/tours. Staff were very helpful and arranged our trip to Yosemite. Great all you can eat breakfasts too which was a good start to the day! Overall very happy with our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.1

After 3 years of pledging not to go back to hostels after several bad experiences, I have had my faith restored. The location, security, and value of this Hostel was perfect. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. It was nice being in an environment with so many strangers and not feel like they were strangers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere! Great that all tours can be done here too. USA Hostels have a good thing going :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.