X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels San Francisco Reviews

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3806 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

An excellent stay, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. They have handy printed directions to key tourist spots. The rooms are clean, as are the bathrooms and the kitchen space. Breakfast is pretty good, with make-your-own pancakes a nice touch and staff always on hand to help. Overall, an enjoyable experience.


97%

very good staying, good tour! Nice staffs!!


86%

This place had great facilities with helpful staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable. There were tasty cheap dinners also free drinks available some nights which made nightly rate worth it. I would definitely stay here again. Also the location was perfect, it was completely safe and relatively close to public transit, otherwise most places to walk are not far away.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is huge! There are several rooms. It looks like a regular hotel, but for young people. The staff is not friedly (I guess the don't know who is the travellers). There is a free breakfast and different activities to visit the city during day and night. It's 25 minutes from Pier 37 by walking (huge hills), but it's easy to get a public transport.


86%

Our double private room had the weirdest of smells in it. Opening the window didn't help unfortunately.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very friendly staff, awesome people at the hostel, great location and so many things to do! the location is ideal and very close to everything.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

best hostel I have ever stayed in!! the atmosphere was so great! they had regular activities. the privacy pods were great because they stopped you being woken up when other people came in late. the staff were super friendly 10/10!!


86%

Great planned activities every day and night which brought people together and helped as a solo traveler to make friends easily. The English guy who took our pub crawl was an absolute legend. many nights have free drinks served which was great. Very good lockers and sheets get cleaned regularly. Most staff were really relaxed and nice and helpful. Breakfast could do with a bit of improvement. Boiled eggs and yoghurt for some healthy options otherwise it's bread pancakes or sugar coated oatmeal.


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in the USA so far. Met some awesome people, the staff were all very nice and helpful at all times, plus the free tour with Brendon was so helpful and a great way to see some of the city


97%

This is a great value for the money and probably the nicest and best-run hostel i have ever stayed at. Also i passed by some of the other SF hostels and they are not nearly as well located. Highly recommend.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

By far the best hostel in town! Great location, amazing staff and many activities (some of them free!) Our tour guide (Brandon) was amazing! He took us to Chinatown, north beach and whereabouts. Really glad I ended up here!


83%

We had a private room which was great, clean and comfortable. The bedsprings are super loud however and all of the doors need some grease . Staff was not exceptional but did what was needed. Not a bad stay .


83%

It's very clean and in a good location not too far from Union Square. The staffs are friendly and the hostel has a very good and friendly atmosphere. The only problem is the neighborhood around the hostel. It's very noisy late in the evening as some would sing or played music right outside the hotel around 1 - 2 AM.


97%

Was a great experience. Either you want to rest after a long day in the city, or do some activities at the hostel. I can totally recommend it!

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved it. wish I could stay longer. I'll be back

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • PeterPan1989
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Breakfast was great, facilities were great, showers were good too, but it was a bit miserable not having a proper window in the room though


94%

The Hostel offers everything you need - the staff is super friendly - they even keep your luggage secure for free - Everything is walking distance so it's pretty well located :) I enjoyed myself staying st USA Hostel in San Francisco - they are offering pretty much events as well... But i wouldn't recommend doing the one day adventure trip to Yosemite National Park 1day Tour ... take at least a TWO DAY TOUR ;)

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

love you!


97%

Super good vibe in the place!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The room that we got was very very small, thus the room's price was expensive for this room size. After we inserted our baggage to the room there was no free space left except the beds. This is why i gave not a high grade for the "Value For Money" parameter.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(160 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback