X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

USA Hostels San Francisco Reviews

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
4296 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stunning hostel.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Bathroom facilities are under stress from the level of usage and cleaning is not high on the priorities. I reported the situation twice before any action was taken and it seems that these issues are not considered important.


94%

Fantastic hostel, amazing city. Would recommend staying here to anybody.


91%

Great Hostel, facilities were excellent with enough showers and toilets. Common room with pool table was good too. Generally not to much noise after 11pm but it's a hostel so you have to expect a little bit or else you should be staying in a hotel. The location was excellent only a short stroll to Union Square. A few of the neighbouring streets are a little sketchy but nothing to really worry about. Only downfall was the price. But considering how expensive SF is in general.


86%

Thanks for a friendly stay! Good value and clean facilities. Keep up the good work.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel but expensive.


89%

The hostel atmosphere was really fantastic it had a wonderful vibe of likeminded people and all our roommates through the nights were a wonderful bunch of varied people. Breakfast was a great addition to the stay. Although the hostel was actually more expensive than a few of the hotels we have stayed in it was in a really great location and the staff were really helpful in letting us know the best things to do and how to get there. A fantastic stay! Well recommended!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent atmosphere staff very friendly and activities with ed and john were great fun. Would definitely come back


94%

It was great to stay there, great organisation, and they make you feel comfortable ! recommended !

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, friendly staff always things going on. We had a private room it was a good size and very clean. It was always a bit smelly though we think likely from the ally way it was next too leaving window open made it worse but then room would get quite hot, there was a ceiling fan though which was nice. The private room was very expensive for a hostel but then again everywhere in San Francisco is very expensive.


89%

Hostel prices in san francisco are just unbelievable, therefore value for money was not great. Smoke of weed all over the house and in front of the hostel was quite strong. But prime location just a few blocks from union square was perfect. Bar street also close by, great mix for a good time.


100%

Great location, very easy to get to via public transport, great breakfast and the hostel provides great free tours. No complaints.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The group activities were well organised helping everyone to get to know each other helping me to meet some nice people. One of the managers Brendan leads by example leading some of the walking tours.


83%

The hostel is really big. Maybe that is why the staff is not so close. They just do their job bureaucratically. It is near de mains square and public transportation. The breakfast is good! You can make your own pancakes! But, it is really crowd. The bedroom is confortable and also de bathroom.


100%

After staying with you guys, it will be difficult to stay in any other hostel around the world, you are WAY above the rest, keep on the good work, and stay as you are ! Everything is perfectly clean, everything has been thought for backpackers, everything is really perfect.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Never ended up staying there as I got really sick on my trip but the staff were quick to respond to my email and didn't charge me even though I cancelled pretty last minute. So grateful to them. But I had stayed there 5 years ago and it was great so my review is based on then.


77%

Enjoyed our stay. Has a drama booking our airport shuttle. We booked for 5.20am but the person who did it booked for 5.20pm so we had to call the shuttle company last minute to call up. The person on reception was very helpful with this issue this morning (10/8)

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A really great hostel, i didn't stay at any others in SF so i can't compare it to any local ones. The bike tour is great, the walking tour is great, free wine and cheese? can't complain. Free pre drinks? Yes please. All the activities they do are definitely worth doing. Also, if you ask Brendan nicely after the walking tour, he may be able to take you out on the bikes in the afternoon (Defo worth doing!! - Thanks Brendan!). Very clean, location is good as well. Just quite $$$ (Book early!).

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really clean and well presented. Very very high quality

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is located in a great location. Lots of things to do nearby. The staff is really helpful. Common areas have a cool vibe and are well maintained. They have lots of things going on like pub crawls, bike tours, walking tours, etc which are great, Shout out to Brendan for taking us on an amazing walking tour and for showing us the city on bike, he was really helpful. Will definitely recommend anyone visiting SF to check out this hostel. It's one of best I've stayed at.


(2495 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback