X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ubuntu Backpackers Reviews

8 Cherry St, Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Our stay overall at the hostel was good. The room was a bit chilly during the night and we requested to rent surf boards early in the morning but the staff member who was supposed to get them ready for us left to go surfing despite telling us he would get the boards for us, therefore we took 2 on our own resulting in one having a strap that did not work properly and would not stay on so we could only use one of the boards. Upon return we let next staff know so she only charged for working one.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome. However < Mandela Bay Hostel was not existant in Port Elizabeth. Scary!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A nice place where you should have the time to stay several days and to learn to surf if you not already do. its a pity we only had one day left. the staff is very helpful and friendly and the food they offer is great and at a affordable rate.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

relaxed hostel at a nicelocation. very helpful and friendly staff


100%

Was impressed with the cleanliness even in the kitchen!


74%

Ubuntu is a great place if you´re looking for a sort of hippie style, laid back hostel. They have great areas where you can chill out inside as well as outside and even a small breakfast is inclusive. I wouldnt really want to cook in that kitchen or stay there a long time but for one night it was fine.


54%

Why does this hostel have such a good rating. It is loud, windy and not really cozy at all. The cleanliess is okay for an hostel but I have seen better. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach with good waves. But on the way you see some strange people hanging in front of the liquor store ;) But thats pretty normal for ZA. The offered brakfast is okay, they offer toast, jam and some cereals. They dont have an 8 bed dorm as hostelworld says.. its a 10 bed room!

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Seriously!!! One of the best places i have been. The staff was really nice.thanx for everything...such a nice time!!!

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Stayed here as the hostel had a high rating and can see that it would because of the atmosphere but probably not the best place to stay in a couple.our room was pretty old looking and not very clean,curtains didn't close and the surfaces were sticky! The owner also bathed the dogs in the communal shower. Needless to stay we didn't shower there and were glad to be leaving the next day!the place also smelled really strongly of weed!

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Cool place with a relaxed atmosphere. The guys arrange all type of activities for their guests (Surfing lessons, sandboarding....) We ended up staying an additional night.


97%

Loved every second of my time there! Cheers for everything guys!!


100%

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and hostel in general was very sociable and personable. I loved it!


83%

Even tough my husband and I were at least a quarter of a century older than the other guests, we felt accepted. Our daughters totally loved the place. One night was a bit noisy for us, but the other was very quiet. So, all in all, a very nice stay.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ive been to, ever.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a great vibe and such cool, friendly people.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was great to be here, it really well situated just in front of the beach to surf, it has an amazing bar where the nights goes on and the atmosphere is really cool with party and surfing, all that a person can dream!


86%

Nice place, staff very helpful and friendly. Just one of the best places in my hole trip in Africa. Really recommend it.


83%

I had a really good stay at Ubuntu! The vibe is so nice in the house and I was surrounded by lovely people. The staff was amazing and it felt like a big family. It's definitely a spot for surfers! Thank you all for making my stay in J-bay awesome!


80%

A very fun and entertaining place to be. The staff are very accommodating and will ensure you have a great and enjoyable time in and around JBay. I don't think we would have enjoyed our holiday if it wasn't the character and entertaining atmosphere of the people who work and live here. The facilities are very basic and offer what you need for a night's rest, don't expect "4 star" stuff, it is a hostel after all. Will definitely be heading back there in the near future.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Jeffreys Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback