X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ubuntu Backpackers Reviews

8 Cherry St, Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
99 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We only stayed for one night but had a great time. We were directed to Super tubes apon arrival to see the surfers and got some great photos. We went out for dinner and then hung out with staff and other guests after having some interesting talks. Quick visit but would return again.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely venue and social facilities and friendly staff. The only comment i would like to make in addition to that is the I was disappointed to hear that showers needed to be kept to less than 5 mins! Near enough impossible for a girl with long hair.


91%

Great staff, cool atmosphere, breakfast included and a really good spot for surfing. Would definitely go there again!


89%

We stayed five days at Ubuntu and had a great time. Facilities are great, are so are the staff. One complaint is that we were put in the double room in the main building (there is another building across the street), where music in the common rooms plays from 8am to 11pm non stop. It makes for a great atmosphere and the music isn't particularly loud, but it did keep us from sleeping/woke us up a few times. Other than that, it's a very good hostel and the price is more than fair!


91%

Lovely homey setting super close to beach, shops restaurants and three supermarkets. The hostel is well run with lots of nice touches such as TV lounge area with plenty of DVD options, free WiFi, coffee tea & breakfast. Double w shared bath was a nice size. The hostel is not so big that it gets too crowded. The atmosphere is very chill and comfy. Feels like your staying at a friends house more than a hostel. Parking is free and outside the house and safe.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Our stay overall at the hostel was good. The room was a bit chilly during the night and we requested to rent surf boards early in the morning but the staff member who was supposed to get them ready for us left to go surfing despite telling us he would get the boards for us, therefore we took 2 on our own resulting in one having a strap that did not work properly and would not stay on so we could only use one of the boards. Upon return we let next staff know so she only charged for working one.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome. However < Mandela Bay Hostel was not existant in Port Elizabeth. Scary!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A nice place where you should have the time to stay several days and to learn to surf if you not already do. its a pity we only had one day left. the staff is very helpful and friendly and the food they offer is great and at a affordable rate.


80%

relaxed hostel at a nicelocation. very helpful and friendly staff


100%

Was impressed with the cleanliness even in the kitchen!


74%

Ubuntu is a great place if you´re looking for a sort of hippie style, laid back hostel. They have great areas where you can chill out inside as well as outside and even a small breakfast is inclusive. I wouldnt really want to cook in that kitchen or stay there a long time but for one night it was fine.


54%

Why does this hostel have such a good rating. It is loud, windy and not really cozy at all. The cleanliess is okay for an hostel but I have seen better. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach with good waves. But on the way you see some strange people hanging in front of the liquor store ;) But thats pretty normal for ZA. The offered brakfast is okay, they offer toast, jam and some cereals. They dont have an 8 bed dorm as hostelworld says.. its a 10 bed room!

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Seriously!!! One of the best places i have been. The staff was really nice.thanx for everything...such a nice time!!!

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Stayed here as the hostel had a high rating and can see that it would because of the atmosphere but probably not the best place to stay in a couple.our room was pretty old looking and not very clean,curtains didn't close and the surfaces were sticky! The owner also bathed the dogs in the communal shower. Needless to stay we didn't shower there and were glad to be leaving the next day!the place also smelled really strongly of weed!

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Cool place with a relaxed atmosphere. The guys arrange all type of activities for their guests (Surfing lessons, sandboarding....) We ended up staying an additional night.


97%

Loved every second of my time there! Cheers for everything guys!!


100%

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and hostel in general was very sociable and personable. I loved it!


83%

Even tough my husband and I were at least a quarter of a century older than the other guests, we felt accepted. Our daughters totally loved the place. One night was a bit noisy for us, but the other was very quiet. So, all in all, a very nice stay.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ive been to, ever.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a great vibe and such cool, friendly people.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Jeffreys Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback