Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Uenuku lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
4.9

I never met any staff, the place was pretty dirty. Bed ok but room very noisy so didn't sleep much. Location good. Overpriced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.7

This hostel could definitely use a little updating, maybe even just a paint job. There were holes in the walls and the paint was falling off in some places. The bathroom could definitely use some tlc. I felt like everything was dirty all the time. The staff were nice but they had their own time-keeping schedule for reception which is not something you'd expect at a hostel where people arrive at different times throughout the day. The location was good and it was handy that there was parking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

Double booked us, but they did sort us a place to stay at one of their sister hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
4.9

The location was ok, across the street from a good breakfast place, a bus stop, and liquor store. The staff was friendly (but difficult to get a hold of) and the price was on the cheaper side. The rooms appear to be long overdue for cleaning, likely from long-term clientele. The common area is littered with aggressive house rules, which are confusing because they are not very clear and sometimes contradict themselves. House rules should be POSTED on the listing. Not enough characters to continue

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
8.9

When I arrived in NZ, I called Uenuku to confirm my booking, only to find out that I had accidentally booked for the previous night. The manager was so kind and helpful and actually transferred my booking to the current night, without charging me anything extra. She was so helpful throughout our brief stay, and on her merit alone, I would recommend the lodging. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and well-kept, and the location was perfect for walking around Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
4.9

We found the whole place dirty and in dire need of a good clean. The outside tables were filthy as was the floor. The location in Ponsonby is very good. The staff were very eager to take your money, and demanded large upfront deposits.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.4

Basic dormitory accommodation, experience depends on others. Pluses were great location and friendly staff, downside for me of poor sleep but I should have expected that with a 10 bed dorm. Very good value, if you're lucky enough to not stay with idiots (in the early hours I had doors open, lights on, incessant doorbells, angry people slamming around)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.6

Good location, the staff were friendly nice quiet atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
5.1

Bed sheets were dirty and aren't changed for each guest (this was confirmed by someone who was in my room after I had checked out). A couple of lockers were broken in my room. Not allowed to sit in the communal areas or the back garden after 10.30pm which is really early. Only stayed for one night but it was generally a mediocre hostel. Wouldn't go back!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Oct 2016
4.0

I would avoid this hostel if you can! The location on Ponsonby Rd is great but not worth it. The staff have little care for security, their own rules or timekeeping, for example the front door and bedroom doors are often left on the latch or open so anyone had access off the st. Not enough lockers per bed. There are not enough bathrooms, I had to wait 20 minutes one morning for access to a toilet. They say the kitchen is open from 6am it did not open until 8.20am. Rooms were a mess and unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.