X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Uenuku lodge Reviews

217 Ponsonby road, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
56 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Its a nice hostel with friendly staff. People were social and i had a great time. Carpets looked a bit old but overall it was good. Location is great.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Small, outdated place. Bathroom attached to room which was good. Room was cold and very untidy, my bed clothes including my pillow were damp. I slept on my airplane pillow because the pillow felt so wet. Not the best hostel experience


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

Normal. The bathroom was ok, just a little bit dirty, but ok. The room was bit small and old, but its ok.


83%

A rather tired looking hostel. It needs freshening up with new carpets, grouting and paint, and it will be lovely. The rooms are equipped with sinks which is a great addition, the beds are comfy and the location couldn't be better. The outdoor area is a good place to meet other travellers and it has a relaxed vibe. Upon arrival every guest should be shown how to close a door, slowly and quietly. This would avoid the incessant slamming of doors. Earplugs are a must if you fancy a lie in!


37%

The place is old in the wrong meaning of that word. The bathroom and toilets are very small and there are not enough for the all floor. You have to wait to go to toilets and because locks aren't working properly if someone is taking a shower, you need to wait to go to the toilets People at desk not very helping, hardly saw them. People in the hostel are not respectful of other's sleep and the walls are VERY thin. It's far from the CBD. Go to another place!!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Location provided on Hostel World is incorrect. Make sure to use Google to check it's true location, which is quite a hike from the centre. The hostel was a bit dirty. Rubbish was left in the room for days, bathrooms were very dusty and moldy and there were pubes on my bed when I arrived. Biggest problem is noise. There is no such thing as quiet times and staff allowed (and participated with) other guests playing really loud music and shouting all night right up to 05:00 when I checked out.


97%

Little expensive, but everything else was great!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

If this hostel were a pizza it would definitively be of the "happy" variety. People from all corners of the world have gathered here to bake in the morning, drink in the afternoon, talk clichéd existential nonsense and listen to that one infected mushroom song. You'd hope for a people so open minded they might go outside and see something of the world now that they've flown 9k miles round it. Positives: location, free parking, washed linens, location and ample internet. Cons: drum circles.


63%

Ok hostel with very friendly staff. Stayed in a dorm that had windows to the hallway so light could enter the room (and my face) during the night (provided curtains where to short). Kitchen was small but there was seating area outside that was nice.


74%

The staff was friendly and the hostel had lots of personality and a nice community feel to it. It's much farther out from the city than the map on hostelworld would lead you to believe (check Google maps first!)


86%

The young lady who checked me in was very polite and helpful, showing me to my room and answering all of the questions I posed to her. The room was well laid out, the bed was very comfortable and it was useful having a sink in there to as the toilet/shower room was very small with a distinct lack of space and the light switch was temperamental, probably just a lose wire that needs replacing. My only real gripe was with the WiFi which was painfully slow and I gave up on it in end.


94%

Great stay here. Lovely staff.


60%

This hostel is in an excellent location in the vibrant Ponsonby road and 20 minutes walk away from the CBD. The price is reasonable compared to other hostels in Auckland. What you get is super nice staff and free on-site parking. But you also get a bit run down place, a way too small kitchen which then is crowded and dirty quite quickly. Also the garden invites a lot of people to party the whole night. If you get nothing else it's a place to stay for a night. Don't expect any relaxation.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

best hostel in auckland .staff very helpfull always smiling .Really work hard to keep that place clean.free unlimited wi fi is very rare.

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Bed was dirty, hostel was old and needs a renovation, ther were flies everywhere while we were having breakfast, because the rubbish was right next to the tables, they had not enough space in fridges or in the lounge (like sofas)


63%

We chose this hostel as the picture of the room on Hostel World looked almost like a hotel (crisp clean linen and stylish furniture). We were disappointed with our room because although we paid over $60 for a private superior room, it was shabby and in need of updating. The bed however was clean and very comfortable. The hostel was mostly very quiet apart from some very loud plumbing noises every time someone used the toilet next to our room which was quite annoying. The kitchen is also small.


77%

Good Stay!

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

free WiFi! Mail Service! helpful staff, ...no real complaints...recommend...


49%

Living room smelled like a combination of cigarettes and feet. Ok atmosphere- people keep to themselves a bit here. The staff is pretty helpful though. And when I say helpful they won't tell you things to do or what's in the neighborhood but if you have an issue with your room or something in and around the hostel they're pretty good. I wouldn't recommend and probably won't stay here again

  • 12th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

the personnel and owner were more than friendly as they offered to us the sheets to use in the camper van we had just rented very nice stay and the facilities were great, our room was just a bit too smaller but the others looked great

  • 12th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback