X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Uig Youth Hostel Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The view from outside the hostel was awesome. That is the greatest part of it. The room was good, but missed a plug to charge the phone. The common room has old furniture. Staff is good. The facilities where not that great. Toilet didn't always flush and there could be more showers.


77%

Its is very nice, however no free WiFi. Uig itself is not a hot spot.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Th hostel has an amazing view from the window in kitchen. It provides a wonderful moment when preparing food in kitchen. Just two things have to be noticed: there is no free wifi and the hostel is close from 10 or 10:30 to 17:00.


97%

I had a wonderful stay and the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The facilities, in particular the kitchen and the drying room were excellent. Thank you for making my visit to Skye one of the best holidays I have ever had, such a beautiful place and I can't wait to come back.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

good reception, very nice, no problem thanks


49%

No card payment facilities,over 2 mile uphill walk to hostel.no free wifi and dirty facilities,very inconvenient!

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel location is on the hill with a picturesque view overlooking the pier and Uig Bay. Local bus services will stop at the bottom of the driveway if requested. Payment by card is available and works well. Occasionally overseas visitors have had problems with their prepaid cards, or credit cards not being accepted. This is usually because of insufficient funds being available to them.

94%

Very good hostel for us because of the excellent atmosphere.


100%

had a fantastic stay, great view, very clean, would stay there again


97%

A very helpful and informative warden.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Check-in after 1700 is kind of late. Coordination with the bus schedules would be helpful.


91%

A proper backpacker's hostel. We stayed in the annexe; the showers of course go cold whenever anyone flushes a toilet in the next room- not abnormal for hostel- but considering Skye is awfully cold, esp in mornings, it made for some harrowing leg-shaving, and then putting on hiking gear... ouch. The room dividers in the dorm rooms are amazing. A real treat for the traveller, rare in hostels- would have made my stay, if I had been in the dorm. I love the helpful signs : ) and fantastic staff!




View all Isle of Skye Hostels

Please give us your feedback