Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ukelele Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.6

It was off season so yeah fair enough but I was the only person in there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.7

Not bad location during the day, far from night life, atmosphere in winted bad, smells like toilet everywhere, mattress not quite good but could be worse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.9

Staff was friendly and helpful. Architecture is beautiful but it doesn't see a renovation for a long time. Localization is good, just a few minutes from the bus station and exchange money place, Female bedroom upstairs had a really bad musty smell, windows didn't close properly making the room a little bit cold during the night, bathroom aren't the strongest part of the hostel either - weird smell. Breakfast is just ok (basically toast, butter, dulce del leche, yogurt, tea, coffee and milk).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vortex_sanjose408
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 52 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.7

A fantastic place to stay in Montevideo. The dorm room is big with plenty space to sort out your luggage. The shower/bathrooms are plenty. love the open area to hangout with other traveler or just be by yourself. Wifi is great on the first floor and can be out-ranged at certain corners on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is decent. Overall, I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.4

I recommend this hostel. It is in an old mansion, which is really beautiful. It felt safe, and the location was good. The breakfast is pretty basic - just toast and cereal. I stayed there in winter, which is the low season, so the place was practically empty. I imagine there is a lot of activity in the summer, as the hostel has its own pool. Beware that there is a cat that lives there, if you have allergies.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th May 2017
6.0

This could be a great hostel but there is minimal work being done on the place and is slowly being run down.No ttoilet paper in one toilet all day and bins not cleaned everyday.Needs to be closed and given a refurb..keep the otginality of the building but upgrade and repair...new lockers .fix the shutters on the windows ..replace the light globes all small things..fix the sockets so when u pull the plug out all the wiring doesn't come out..need I go on

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
10.0

This is definitely the most charming hostel I have ever been to. Indirect lighting all over, great ambient music and a lovely smell in the reception, friendly and helpful staff, a preserved antique house, very clean, nice bathrooms, a music room! The common are is very pleasant if you want to work in your computer or just relax, wi-fi is very good too. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

I was very impressed with Ukelele. It has a great location, being less than a ten-minute walk from la Rambla and also being just several blocks from a major bus stop. The hostel was very clean when I arrived and was kept clean continually throughout my stay. If you need some place longer term, I think Ukelele would work. The kitchen has a stove, oven, microwave, and fridge. It's pretty calm and tranquilly, without too much noise. Breakfast is very basic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
8.6

Good hostel in a great, central location. Friendly, helpful staff. Good wi fi. Bathrooms aren't great, but rest is good. I had a private room which was good value. Dorms looked good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.4

overall a good hostel, but the time I visited there, there wasn't that many other visitors so the hostel was super quiet. But the staff were nice and the kitchen is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.