Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ukelele Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel I have stayed at! Beautiful music room and great pool with a patio where everyone meets up in the evening. Very good ambiance and spacious rooms. I really recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

It was an amazing experience! I met incredible people and the place is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Best hostel experience ever! The people who work here are the nicest and most accommodating staff I have ever met! I was having a rough time when I arrived and they helped me so much. The hostel is a beautiful old house with a high ceilings and a great pool and kitchen! The location is close to everything but seems like it's not the safest at night. 10/10 would reccomend, a geat value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.9

It was a beautiful and spacious hostel. The staff were very very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing. Nice location close to everything. Only complaints would be the facilities.. No air con- it was very very hot. pillows were quite dirty and there are only about 2 power outlets in the rooms for 6 people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Eukalyptuus
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Ukulele is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff are so friendly and helpful, having the pool there was amazing, and the general vibe was very laid back and nice. The 12 bed dorm felt very spacious and beds are comortable, there's AC there, and bathrooms are clean and well functioning. Until next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

We love this romantic Ukelele Hostel so much, that we stayed longer (4 days instead of 2 days) and booked it also for the last days in Montevideo before we fly home again. Great place, very nice people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AAAdventures
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel was pretty big, though finding the door to enter was not super obvious, ring the bell to the left of the garage with the hostel sign. The atmosphere was a little strange when I stayed, very subdued and hushed tones. In terms of locations though it was great, real close to the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Pros: Ukelele hostel was a really cool old house, staff were helpful, and the location was spot on. Cons: The breakfast was terrible (we would go buy fruit each morning instead), there were 2 bathrooms to share and even though the place felt only half full we always had to wait to use them, the pool was green and not usable. Recommend? Overall yep. Pretty standard hostel, with a bit more effort and TLC this could be a top notch place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Dec 2016
7.1

Ukulele was clean and there was a nice little area out by the pool. Not very friendly staff and not a good breakfast. The "lockers" are falling apart and no trash cans in the room. I arrived late in the evening and I speak very little Spanish, it's unclear where to get he bus, where exactly the plaza stop is as the buses do not indicate where you are, and the direction "walk towards the water" ... when its dark out and you're in an unfamiliar city, how do you know what direction the water is?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Spectacular hostel in a very grand old building. Cooking facilities were OK, but apart from that everything else is a cut above.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.