Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ukelele Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Ukelele Hostel Located at Maldonado 1183, , Montevideo.
Ukelele Hostel
Uruguay
Montevideo Montevideo 11100 Maldonado 1183
88% 550
-34.9094608 -56.1903047
Ukelele Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

We love this romantic Ukelele Hostel so much, that we stayed longer (4 days instead of 2 days) and booked it also for the last days in Montevideo before we fly home again. Great place, very nice people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AAAdventures
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel was pretty big, though finding the door to enter was not super obvious, ring the bell to the left of the garage with the hostel sign. The atmosphere was a little strange when I stayed, very subdued and hushed tones. In terms of locations though it was great, real close to the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Pros: Ukelele hostel was a really cool old house, staff were helpful, and the location was spot on. Cons: The breakfast was terrible (we would go buy fruit each morning instead), there were 2 bathrooms to share and even though the place felt only half full we always had to wait to use them, the pool was green and not usable. Recommend? Overall yep. Pretty standard hostel, with a bit more effort and TLC this could be a top notch place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Dec 2016
7.1

Ukulele was clean and there was a nice little area out by the pool. Not very friendly staff and not a good breakfast. The "lockers" are falling apart and no trash cans in the room. I arrived late in the evening and I speak very little Spanish, it's unclear where to get he bus, where exactly the plaza stop is as the buses do not indicate where you are, and the direction "walk towards the water" ... when its dark out and you're in an unfamiliar city, how do you know what direction the water is?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Spectacular hostel in a very grand old building. Cooking facilities were OK, but apart from that everything else is a cut above.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

I couldn't find a single flaw in this hostel. The staff were super nice, the place was clean - the breakfast was delicious (with dulce de leche!!) and all around nice vibes. I loved my stay here - it really was one of the best in South America!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hostel which is located in an antique building from the 1920. The staff was so nice and I had a great time. Though think one could be taken more care of the inner furnishing and it was a little bit too pricey for the state of the facilities and the bedrooms. However, I can truly recommend to stay at this hostel, the location is a must see and the staff very helpful and nice!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.4

Only stayed for one night but this hostel was in a beautiful building and was very homely. The staff went over and above to help us and also for a girl who had her bag and passport stolen on the street. Good kitchen facilities and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
9.4

Everything was great. Valentina is a great person who can help you with any questions that you may have to do in Uruguay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.9

Beautiful hostel in an old building. Comfortable beds and fresh linen. It was winter but the staff did their best to keep the rooms warm and comfortable. Staff were so helpful with directions and advice also (and most speak some English). The breakfast is okay, but could do with more fruit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.