Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ukelele Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Beautiful hostel with beautiful pool. I wish I had a house just like this! Wifi worked well inside living room but not out by the kitchen or pool. Staff spoke excellent English and very helpful. No laundery service and the closest one is very expensive. But my clothes smelt better than ever so was worth it! Annoying that you have to make your own beds (after a long journey arriving past midnight it's the last thing you want to do!). About 15 mins walk into town centre and 25/30 mins to beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
7.7

generally a nice place with spacious dorms that have AC. 2 main problems that affected my ratings: 1. Too few bathrooms. It is the norm that all three bathrooms (for a ton of people) are occupied - so hope that you never need to use the bathroom urgently. 2. The breakfast is below hostel standards. The only have the cheapest bread you can find, one type of cereals (hopefully you like frootloops). This criticism should be easily resolved...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel I have stayed at! Beautiful music room and great pool with a patio where everyone meets up in the evening. Very good ambiance and spacious rooms. I really recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

It was an amazing experience! I met incredible people and the place is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Best hostel experience ever! The people who work here are the nicest and most accommodating staff I have ever met! I was having a rough time when I arrived and they helped me so much. The hostel is a beautiful old house with a high ceilings and a great pool and kitchen! The location is close to everything but seems like it's not the safest at night. 10/10 would reccomend, a geat value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.9

It was a beautiful and spacious hostel. The staff were very very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing. Nice location close to everything. Only complaints would be the facilities.. No air con- it was very very hot. pillows were quite dirty and there are only about 2 power outlets in the rooms for 6 people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Eukalyptuus
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Ukulele is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff are so friendly and helpful, having the pool there was amazing, and the general vibe was very laid back and nice. The 12 bed dorm felt very spacious and beds are comortable, there's AC there, and bathrooms are clean and well functioning. Until next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

We love this romantic Ukelele Hostel so much, that we stayed longer (4 days instead of 2 days) and booked it also for the last days in Montevideo before we fly home again. Great place, very nice people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AAAdventures
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel was pretty big, though finding the door to enter was not super obvious, ring the bell to the left of the garage with the hostel sign. The atmosphere was a little strange when I stayed, very subdued and hushed tones. In terms of locations though it was great, real close to the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Pros: Ukelele hostel was a really cool old house, staff were helpful, and the location was spot on. Cons: The breakfast was terrible (we would go buy fruit each morning instead), there were 2 bathrooms to share and even though the place felt only half full we always had to wait to use them, the pool was green and not usable. Recommend? Overall yep. Pretty standard hostel, with a bit more effort and TLC this could be a top notch place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.