Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Umbrella Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.7

A lovely quiet hostel in a very safe and nice area. It's about 20 mins walk to the old town, there's also metro very close. Staff are great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel with comfy beds and clean facilities. Very helpful and friendly staff that are willing to go the extra mile. Would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

Good location. Staff very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
5.4

+ Friendly reception staff which are available 24/7. + Free coffee/tea. + Communal area with tele. - Me and another guy got bitten. Staff seem lax on changing sheets. - Good 20 minute walk into Old Town. - No lock/key card entry on dorm doors. - One shower under the stairs is locked on cold temperature.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • melanienicholls843256
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Nov 2016
2.0

Despite a private room booking in August, the hostel asked to move us to another property they owned due to a group booking into Umbrella after us. The other property is known for being a party hostel which we weren't keen on so the booking was cancelled. Luckily we found an Airbnb for around the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
6.0

The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was ok, about 20 minutes walk from the old town and most tourist locations, but also close to a metro station. Safe and quiet area. However, I believe this hostel is overrated in its facilities. The bathrooms are tiny, very limited in number and extremely impractical. To wash your hands or brush your teeth you are basically in a public area. A good place for partiers or if you will be out all day but a bit tough if you want a modicum of privacy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.0

A relative walk away from the old town but great staff, comfy beds and nice chill out areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.6

Really friendly staff with lots of good tips was certainly the biggest asset to umbrella. Burcharest is a big city and we did get around on foot ok but you have to be willing to enjoy a walk to the main attractions, or I guess take public transport which we didn't try. The hostel had good facilities but the bathroom was a little squashed in, that's a minor thing though really. All in all definitely a nice hostel would recommend 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • WorldCharly
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

very nice hostel to stay a few nights. can't complain about!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel, super friendly and helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.