X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Umbrella Hostel Reviews

Christian Tell Str, No 21, Bucharest, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
326 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 98%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff members were friendly and provided helpful suggestions. About a 20 min walk from the downtown area, but the walk felt safe even after midnight. It's near the subway, a short (

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We had an amazing time staying at Umbrella Hostel. All the staff were excellent, always helping us out with whatever we needed and providing good advice about places to go and see in Bucharest and around Romania. I would definitely stay there again, and would encourage other travelers to do so as well!


100%

Hotel quality with friendly hostel atmosphere...!! Chilled hostel with top notch facilities and kitchen area ideal for meeting people... Staff are so helpful and helped plan my onward journey... Thanks for a great stay...!!


100%

I think Umbrella Hostel has the best staff i have ever seen after two years of traveling. They will answer all of your questions, help you book your next accommodation, give you great tips for sightseeing and parties in Bucharest and even give you a hand planning the rest of your trip. Besides the great service Umbrella Hostel provides everything you need: good beds, complete kitchen and a nice common area inside and out. I would definitely recommend this hostel as the best hostel in Bucharest.


97%

Very nice and clean hostel.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel very nice! Lots of facilities (many toilets, showers, sinks), everything we need in the kitchen is there and cleaned. There are a lot of paper sheets with infos written and it's very useful! Too bad we only stayed in that hostel for one night, we could've stayed longer. We had a 2 beds room and it felt almost like we were in a hotel. Also, outside in the yard, there was a big screen with people hanging out there, so the atmosphere was great.


91%

Extremely laid back and welcoming Hostel.


89%

Es un hostal un poco lejos del centro de la ciudad pero por el precio vale la pena!


100%

Great staff, friendly and knowledgeable. Very good facilities, comfortable beds, all well thought through will personal electric plugs and bed side lamps. Breakfast was good, not a bad thing to say. A wonderful hostel

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

An excellent hostel that boasts a great atmosphere. It's a 25 minute walk to old town but surrounded by coffee shops, supermarkets and dive bars if you want to stay close.


100%

Loved this hostel! Staff were super friendly, location was great, super comfy beds, relaxed vibe and good facilities. Would stay here again.


71%

Good location, easy to find, easy 20 min walk to the old center. Good kitchen, downstairs shower/bathroom is poor, best showers & bathrooms are upstairs. Only 1 in 4 staff were friendly. No staff know anything about travel in Romania, haven't traveled in their own country & can only tell you go to Brasov where the hostel there can tell you information. Staff does not know the times of any trains or buses. This happens when you have local staff work who have no connection to the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nicola, sorry you feel this way, you are one of the most difficult travelers that we have accommodated so far :) I can assure our future guests that we have a very friendly staff, as can been seen in all of our other reviews and we are very knowledgeable of traveling through out Romania, We usually sit down and work out a route on a big map when our guests leave from our hostel to visit our country. We have received many praises on these recommendations.No worries, see you guys soon :)

100%

Perfect! Thats it! Best hostel I've stayed so far.


94%

직원들이 매우 친절하고,시설이 깨끗하고 잘 관리되고 있었슴.추천하고 싶은 호스텔임

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent Hostel. Very Clean and had everything we needed. The Staff are VERY helpful and knowledgeable. Great Court Yard and Common room to meet other guests. Internet is fast, kitchen is clean and well equipped, beds clean and comfy. A good Hostel makes the experience in Bucharest City even better.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • ruskinrowe12
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

What a great wee hostel, well situated (far enough from the centre to get away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to be easily accessible). Very clean, fantastically friendly and helpful staff. My advice would be that if you're a light sleeper, you'd do good to bring earplugs, there's often music playing late at night or early morning. Other than that, can't fault it.


100%

Vraiment Génial l'Umbrella Hostel! En face de l'ambassade de France, donc pas d'insécurité. L'emplacement au centre de Bucarest et pas loin du métro. L'atmosphère est conviviale, le staff très acceuillant. Propre et pas chères! Je le recommande à tous!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff members where super friendly and considerate, always willing to help. The hostel itself is very nice and well-located. I would definitely stay there again!


100%

I think it is the best hostel in Bucharest, nice people working there, rooms and bathrooms very clean, very friendly and cozy atmosphere, it is easy from there to get a bus to go everywhere in the city, very very nice.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Cette auberge de jeunesse est la plus propre que j'ai jamais connu. La propreté est un gage de confiance lorsqu'on voygage. Le staff est merveilleux, toujours a l'écoute, souriant et généreux. On se sent comme chez soi a Umbrella. Le petit dejeuner est copieux et la playlist musical auw sonoritè brèsilienne est parfaiTe pour un reveil en douceur. Tres bien placée, Unbrella est a proximitè de plein de petits bars sympa et de superbes musé a visiter sans etre dans l'enfer de la vielle ville...

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Bucharest Hostels

Please give us your feedback