Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Great location, awesome staff, quite clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Honestly the best hostel experience I've had. Clean, great location, secure. Basement bar was great and had lots going on. Doel welcomed us from the beginning, introduced us to other backpackers, and took us out clubbing. 11/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Great Staff. Great Location! Great time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.4

The location is good but if you are finding a hostel which close to Flinder Street Station, there are lots of hostels there. You don't need to stay in this one. Because I was very disappointed by staffs there. Using the app to check in didn't make it faster, on the other hand, it took so much time. And the person who was at reception was not nice. Maybe he just went through a bad day but he shouldn't act like that. It made me feel so bad I could say.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place, very social atmosphere and super central. Big up to Doel for making my stay flawess. Free pancakes in the morning and assistance for anything locally. Check it out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jamesspruce939389
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
8.0

Great location and staff are super friendly. Only issue I had was cleanliness. There was some dried up spew next to my bed. Must have been like a week old. There's was a bad smell lingering from it. Showers to were pretty dirty, just didn't sensed to get cleaned on a regular basis over my long stay. Other than that everything else was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
8.6

Never stayed in hostel before and so was quite apprehensive about using one. Upon checking in I was greeted by a very friendly member of staff, Doel, and couldn't have been nicer to me, allowing me to use the shower and to hold my luggage until my check in! Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christinwie94
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
4.9

The shower was always cold.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

Great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
9.7

I will give The location full marks just if you are here to see the life (and nightlife) in the very heart of Melbourne. Rooms were spacious but messed as all the stuff was on floor ( the only flaw I found ). Staff is great and helpful also the free breakfast and kitchen space was sufficient . Bathrooms were clean. This place is an overall thumbs up and I would definitely stay here if I get a chance to visit Melbourne again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.