Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Really great hostel! The chill room in the basement is awesome, and the wifi is free and fast down there (and in other common areas). Free pancakes in the morning is a nice touch, and the kitchen is well maintained. There are lots of private bathrooms on each floor, and all are very clean. Bar downstairs is pretty awesome too. Staff is super helpful and friendly, had a really good time there overall! Large rooms as well, with lockers underneath the beds, and personal outlets and lights!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
10.0

United was great! Bingo night and Damon at reception made it very enjoyable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice rooms- air con and comfy beds. Clean kitchen and the bar downstairs is alright, wouldn't particularly recommend for solo travellers as people tended to keep themself to themself so hard to meet people but that is more typical of cities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.9

Nothing bad to say about this hostel - one of the best I've ever been in! Great location, staff are friendly, clean and a great place to meet other lone travellers! Only thing I regret is not staying longer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

My biggest problem was that there was only AC on the third floor, which was only where the smaller, more private rooms were. The hostel itself was very nice and I loved the bar and chill area. The bar washrooms were pretty gross though, but besides that the hostel was very nice and clean. They had stuff to do every night and the staff were fun and friendly people. Location was right next to the train which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review! Your are absolutely right about the AC only on third floor. The reason behind this is we try to host budget guest and whose who has a bit extra money for travelling at the same time. Therefore, we will have the economic options without the AC rooms, and also the luxuries AC small dormitories for choose. Glad to know that you do enjoy all the other things during your stay. Happy travel, United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
8.3

Pretty damn good hostel. Great location, near coffee shops, bars and the station. Facilities were great and staff helpful. Bar below had a great atmosphere when full, but is only busy on fri/sat night. Drinks are not that cheap either. No wifi in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Thank you so much for the review. We really appreciate it. We have free WiFi in the basement, ground floor and communal areas on level 1. We do have Wifi in the rooms, you just have to log on to the guest access and pay with a creditcard. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. The United Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.4

I loved my time at United Backpackers! The location could not be any better - right opposite Flinders St. Station, staff was super friendly, rooms were very clean and had huge lockers! The bar downstairs is quite nice, but not always busy. They've got good deals but it's still kind of expensive. Atmosphere is great, super easy to meet fellow travellers! The only negative thing is that the rooms are very hot with only one fan in there. The best hostel I've stayed at so far! Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mdwills9982
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Really comfy beds, clean bathrooms, awesome location and a great bar which is super easy to meet people. To top off I accidentally booked the wrong United Hostel in Melbourne and they managed to refund my deposit on that booking as a gesture of goodwill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience. We hope you come back and stay again in the future. The United Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

Overall really great place to stay with the perfect location, right next door to Degraves St! Staff were pretty friendly and inviting, good vibes and loved the decor, especially in the basement!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us such a great review. We have had a housekeeping meeting today just to remind and retrain our team on what levels we are trying to hit. It is not a common occurrence that we hit a low 6 on our cleaning level so we take it seriously when we get one. We hope that you come back and stay with us again and see a change in the cleanliness level that you saw your first stay. Thanks, The United Crew.

9th Feb 2017
7.1

Good security and kitchen. A nice bar downstairs with good drinks deals. Free wifi is okay but rooms lack AC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, Hope you are enjoying your travels. Thanks, The United Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.