Hostelworld.com

United Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
89% 1128
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thank you so much for leaving your thoughts about your stay with us, we appreciate that! Hope to see you back at United soon and in the meantime..... happy travels!! Noortje United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

I landed in Melbourne and accidentally left all my cash home. With my card declining, they let me stay for two nights giving me time to sort my problems out and to that I say Bravo! The location is PERFECT as it's in CBD, near most attractions and convenient to all local eateries and cafes. Would recommend this to anyone looking to stay. My first Backpackers experience and won't be my last!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you so much for your lovely words!!! We love to hear good things about ourselves (who doesn't?!) and we work around the clock to give our guests the best experience possible which clearly worked out as I read. About the location, thanks for noticing! We have a perfect spot in Melbourne from which you can explore the city easily... everything you need is just at the front door! Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back at United one day :) Happy travels! Noortje United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

We had so much fun here, the people are amazing, the bar is amazing, the location is amazing, no complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.6

Rooms are nice the commons areas are good too, a lot of activities and friendly staff. One bad thing is they should have internet in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing us, we really appreciate hearing from our guests! Our staff works around the clock to make sure our guests have the most amazing time during their stay by organizing heaps of free events and activities. We want to keep the atmosphere sociable and that is why we don't offer Wi-Fi in our dorms! We want to avoid people sitting in their room the whole day watching movies or Skype their friends and family at 5AM. Again, thank you so much for your lovely words and we hope to see you soon back in United! Happy travels! Noortje United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.3

Such a nice stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were comfortable and didn't feel too crowded even though there were 12 of us in there. He location is great right on flinders street. There's so much to do in the area and a grocery store right down the block easy to do shopping. The bathrooms were kept tidy and we're clean. Overall great do stay and would come back again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing us, we really appreciate that!! About the 12 bed dorms, that is exactly what we want to have - comfortable rooms with enough space but with the opportunity to create a social and good atmosphere! Thanks for noticing our awesome location, you can't really beat it eh? We're right in the middle of this amazing city with everything you need just at the front door! Our housekeeping staff works around the clock to make sure the hostel is kept nice and clean! Again, thank you so much for giving us feedback and I hope to see you back again in United one day! Happy travels! Noortje United Crew

  • francescaweil
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Decent hostel Positives- - clean bathroom and kitchen - bed comfy with a plug socket by each bed - lounge TV room very nice - activities organised - free wifi Negatives - - dorms cramped - not much space - felt quite empty - bar only for people from hostel so not busy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave them, we appreciate that! The beds are soooo comfi and we've got the best pillows in town (thanks for noticing!!). We try our best to create a social atmosphere in the hostel by hosting lots of free events and tours, i'm glad you managed to enjoy a few of them! again, thank you so much for your feedback and I hope to see you again one day in United! Happy travels! Noortje United Crew

13th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed at United Backpackers for about 2 weeks and my experience there was great! I always felt secure, and welcome at the hostel. They had fun events planned at the hostel each night, and out of hostel they collaborated with Peterpans Travel. I met a lot of great people from all over the world, that quickly became my friends. I recommend this hostel for anyone coming to Melbourne and looking for a fun accommodation experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.7

Awsome end up staying for 7 more days after a two day vist. Everyone was friendly and had some awsome game s at night definitely one i would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review, we really do appreciate that! (and who doesn't like to hear nice things about themselves). I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and ended up staying 7 more days. Come visit us again soon! Happy travels! Noortje United Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.9

Loved it. Amazing location and great people. VERY safe!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thank you so much for leaving a review. You surely have a good taste, picking number 1 hostel in Melbourne! Hope to see you again in the future! Happy travels Noortje United Crew

10th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location! Hostel is clean and the staff is awesome. $10 per day to store bags between stays seemed excessive though; this is the first hostel that has charged me to leave bags. Also, the loudspeaker announcements/door-to-door advertising for happy hour/events on some days disrupted naps/peace & quiet. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.