Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
88% 1279
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
8.0

Pretty good, the reception wasn't too welcoming, didn't offer to give me a map or suggest any local areas. Bar was decent although quiet, (I suppose it was a Tuesday night), they might do with some better beers though. Room had construction noise going on outside early in the morning but wasn't too bad. The other people staying didn't really want to socialise as much as other places I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

Amazing location and great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

The location is absolutely unbeatable. The rooms were very clean, and so were the washrooms. The biggest point was that the beds were extremely comfortable - normally not expected in a hostel. Wifi was easy to connect, but too slow. Oh the bar is quite decent too. Overall, a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.9

The location was great. It was very clean. There were free hot dogs for dinner on the day i got there. The atmosphere was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the great review. It's great that you had a good stay with us.. MMMMMMMMM free hotdogs!! awesome. See you again soon! United Crew

11th Sep 2016
8.6

Good hostel. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks so much for the kind review. Really glad you had a good stay here! We hope that we can see you again! United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.3

Very close to all the essential downtown elements that one needs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for the great review! Glad you had a great stay with us and in Melbourne. We hope we can see you again soon! Love, The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.4

Very clean and convenient location, high security, but there were so many rules and the atmosphere didn't feel very welcoming. Felt like anything we did would get us into trouble. It was at least a safe and clean space to stay at night while we spent our days out and about.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Stoked that you had an enjoyable experience here. Sorry that you didn't feel it was very welcoming! We pride ourselves on making it feel like a very inviting home away from home. We don't have many rules, only ones that guarantee that everyone has a nice hassle free and enjoyable stay. Glad you got to check out our city! Thanks Emily United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Really good! Comfy beds, huge rooms, great facilities and good location near Fed Square and tram lines as well. Only thing is a mirror in the dorm rooms would be useful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks heaps for leaving the review! And thanks heaps for the tip. I'll be sure to get on to the mirror situation ASAP. Thanks heaps! United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.1

Friendly staff at check-in made effort to get to know me, gave all the information I needed for my stay. The room was clean ( I stayed in a room with 3 others) bar downstairs was a good vibe, they had free cheese and wine nights every Tuesday. Would def stay their again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks heaps for the review! Super stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. That's why we do it! Hope that we can see you back here again soon. Love, United Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.