Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1529 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1529 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.4

Great great great! Could be some more natural light in the rooms but otherwise fab!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review! It is our absolute mission here to ensure everyone feels welcome, safe and comfortable. We are so pleased you enjoyed the environment we provide. We hope to have you stay with us in the future, should you ever be back in Melbourne. Best wishes, The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
7.4

It is the cleanest kitchen I've ever seen in a backpacker hostel. Also very well equiped. I stayed her two times (went on a tour in between). First dorm was very clean and nice! Second dorm was smaller but not so clean and a lot more messy. The location is perfect! The bar downstairs is quite nice too. Not too noisy during the day. The music only gets loud at night, but we didn't notice in the dorms upstairs. Overall a very nice hostel! I do think it's a bit pricy for a hostel, though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
6.9

The staff were rude and impolite.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Super clean, although a bit stuffy in the rooms. Great location, wonderful staff, actually has fast wifi, stay here you won't regret it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time here. We'd love to have you stay again if you're ever back in Melbourne, The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
6.9

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm. There was no window and air condition was turn off. Therefor the room was smelly and dark. Reception refused to turn on the air conditioning. Therefor the smell of 8 people who stayed in the room for couple of days accompanied me during my stay. Not pleasant at all. There were couple of showers on my floor (3rd) so I never had to wait. They were cleanish. There is free wifi in the common areas, but you have to pay for wifi in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the review! I believed you were stay in our internal dorm. We do advertiser those room has no window and a bit dark. I'm not sure what happen regarding the AC. We turn on the ventilation system daily for more than 15 hours, this should clean up the air in the rooms. Safe Travel, Casey

24th Mar 2017
8.6

The location couldn't have been better. Right next to Flinders Station and walking distance from many great restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a bar in the basement of the hostel which turns into a public watering hole. The kitchen was very large and they had free pa cakes every morning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and stay if you are ever in Melbourne again! Best wishes and safe travels, The United Crew

22nd Mar 2017
5.7

Bad facilities, old, not good maintenance.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for leaving your review! We are sad to hear you felt that way about our property. We take great pride in providing an amazing accommodation for our guests. We are delighted that you felt safe during your stay and that you felt our staff and location were great! Best wishes and safe travels, The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.7

A hostel I would recommend. Has a nice atmosphere and very clean. Would stay there again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your time to leave us an lovely review. Hope to see you next time. Safe travel, Casey

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Really great hostel! The chill room in the basement is awesome, and the wifi is free and fast down there (and in other common areas). Free pancakes in the morning is a nice touch, and the kitchen is well maintained. There are lots of private bathrooms on each floor, and all are very clean. Bar downstairs is pretty awesome too. Staff is super helpful and friendly, had a really good time there overall! Large rooms as well, with lockers underneath the beds, and personal outlets and lights!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the lovely review! Who doesn't like to hear good things about them? Hope to see you next time! Happy Travel, Casey

10th Mar 2017
9.7

Loved my stay here! Friendly staff from the get go, roomy & clean dorms, lockers underneath the beds, clean bathrooms, common areas open all night, and a pretty cheap (for Melbourne) bar. On the slightly higher price range for hostels in the area, but I've still recommended it to others nonetheless. A fun stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We all work very hard to ensure our guests have a brilliant time. We hope to see you again if you're ever back in Melbourne, Best wishes, The United Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.