Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
88% 1209
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. Couldn't fault it. Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Well-located hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff. The bar, chillout area and kitchen can't really be improved on. Rooms are big with high ceilings, plenty of space to stow your stuff. My only criticism is that I never walked into a clean bathroom once during my (3 day) stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks heaps for leaving the review! So glad you enjoyed your stay here.. Makes us happy. It's upsetting you didn't experience a clean bathroom.. We do have scheduled cleans several times a day but with so many people using them at so many different times it can be trick. Hope to see you again! Thanks

16th Jul 2016
8.6

The best thing about this hostel is the central location. Staff was generally very friendly. The bar always had things going on, which is how I met people. Everyone was in a good mood. My one criticism is the bathrooms--they were never disgusting but never really clean either. Hiring professional housekeeping staff is what hostels of this size usually do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, hanks heaps for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yeh you certainly can't beat our location. Thanks for the insight on the bathrooms. I can assure we have a full time housekeeping crew that clean these bathrooms several times daily. It is of course a hard task when so many guests use them at different times of the day. Next time if it is left untidy after being used just come on down and let us know and we will get it taken care of. Thanks again Bruno, hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.0

Amazing location with good facilities. The only problem: water pressure in the bathrooms is a big issue, to the point where you're better off showering when nobody else is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us.. Glad you had a good stay here and utilised the amazing location and facilities! The water pressure is currently being tended to. There has been problems when everyone showers at once depending on what floor you're on, but it is being rectified. Hope to see you again. Thanks Mate

12th Jul 2016
9.1

Good hostel right in the center of town. Large hostel, so a lot of people and a bar downstairs. No wifi in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks heaps for the review. Appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your stay and got into the bar downstairs! Good times down there for sure. Ahhh we are actually installing Wifi in the rooms in the next couple of months! You'll have to come back and try it out. Thanks!

12th Jul 2016
8.0

Did the job. Perfect location opposite flinders st station and tram stop in free zone. Friendly staff and nights in bar downstairs not too bad. Strict about bringing own alcohol in which i hate, particular when in-house bar isnt that cheap really. Was in 4-bed dorm which was clean enough and comfy. Bathrooms clean enough although kitchen could get bit of a mess - need more tea towels as they were always wet so no one dried up even if they tried to. Would happily stay again nonetheless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks heaps for leaving the review! Much appreciated, and stoked you enjoyed your stay with us.. Yeh the alcohol thing is a condition put on us by liquor licensing so unfortunately we have to obey it... And if you know of any cheaper drink deals in Melbourne than our bar I would personally love to know!! Will definitely action you rpoints regarding the kitchen.. Thanks mate, Glenn United Crew

10th Jul 2016
9.7

My favourite hostel! Clean? Check! Comfortable beds? Check! Atmosphere? Check! Seriously, this hostel nails it. Every bed is equipped with a light and a power outlet - so convenient! The bar downstairs is super chill, with events and drink specials every night of the week, making it the perfect spot for a nightcap or pre-drink for a night out. Best location in Melbourne, just steps from Flinders Station. Staff is brilliant (and handsome!). Great value! Thanks, United!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.4

Pretty decent hostel. Had all the basic facilities; nice bar, big kitchen (didn't use this though). Overall gold quality for the price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the review. Always appreciated. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! See you again next time

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.0

The location was wonderful for me, as I happened to have to take metro everyday during my stay there. Kitchen is fairly clean and spacious, staff also helpful. If there is something to complain about, I would say 'more fresh air please'. I stayed in a six-bed dorm which has no real windows, so I tried to avoid spending too much time in bed. Btw, wifi is free in shared area, but they have many restrictions on the internet. Soundcloud, for instance, is blocked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Yep - the location cannot be beaten in this beautiful city. Would love to hear some more about your stay - were you in an air conditioned room? Did you mention the air issue to staff so we could have done something for you? Good news is we are in the process of installing new WIFI which will also go to the rooms so there wouldn't be any more problems!! Thanks Again

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.9

Really can't complain about anything. The Staff was great, facilities were mostly clean, it's right in the centre of Melbourne, free wifi which is slow compared to most other hostels and the beds were very comfy! Supermarkets are literally just around the corner and the train station is right across the street. Would go there again, did it already.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the review!!! You're a legend and welcome anytime!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.