X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
676 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Power plugs at every bed, great location:-) One of the hostels


94%

Very well run hostel: facilities, rooms, cleanliness, value and great staff. Not to mention smack bang in the middle of the city. Highly recommended


94%

Modern clean rooms, staff great in recommending places to visit and the journey to get there. Useful having a bar downstairs (which is really cheap) to meet people. Location couldn't be better with flinders station on your front door and De Graves st round the corner!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Hard to avoid the party though!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I really enjoyed my stay there and was frustrated over a couple of things. Rooms were not overly clean and when i went to occupy a bunk I found it to be extremely dirty. Don't understand why Wi-Fi can't be available in rooms. Great party atmosphere and the staff were really nice. Had a great time on the whole.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect for what I needed it for, my only real gripe was the nosiness of other people in the hallway after 11pm not cool at all with all the yelling etc. Kitchen was great except someone spilled my milk and never cleaned it up hence it was all over the bottom of the fridge not cool at all. Also not being able to use wifi in your room a pain as kitchen and reception only.


97%

Very clean and legit hostel.. Private bathroom, awesome bar to meet ppl at, helpful staff, and right in the heart of Melbourne.. I'll definitely be back!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

United backpackers is the top of the class hostel. The cooking and bathroom facilities are in the best of condition with great amenities like a large home system and a large bar downstairs. The only downside is that the free wifi doesn't reach the higher floors. But that is me nitpicking!

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Kassi at the desk was very professional and made things tick. The staff worked hard and were very helpful and the place was ideally located for enjoying beautiful Melbourne .


83%

Had a good stay, had good facilities and a great location for being right in the city. Pity not much price difference between no ensuite and ensuite room

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location right in the city with transport, sights, groceries and food all in easy walking distance. All the facilities you need: clean bathroom, spacious lockers, large well-equipped kitchen, cheap bar.


91%

A really nice hostel in the centre of Melbourne. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Doors were very noisy when they banged shut at all times of the day and night though but I would recommend it to anyone.


100%

Staff was very helpful, great location


89%

Great experience! Staff was helpful and friendly, facilities were clean and comfortable, and checking in and out was quick and easy. Definitely take advantage of free tea/coffee on weekday mornings if you're looking for a good conversation and a chance to meet a few people, especially if staying as a solo traveler. Would absolutely recommend this hostel to others, and will be staying here again if I'm ever in Melbourne again!

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • tessaayubi3935
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place, free wifi, clean, good stay but very loud doors and creaky beds. Would stay here again.


100%

Every thing is perfect including the room with lavatory.The reception staff are always friendly and enthusiastic.On long hair women helped me to chage the ticket and cost her a lot of time,and a strong man with mustache tell me the direct platform of train(as a visitor, I can hardly know how to take the train correctly), which made me to catch up me airplane in the morning.THANK YOU!!!


91%

This was definitely a top quality hostel only downside was the lack of wifi in the rooms Other then that it has everything you could want! Seriously, so good to stay somewhere with peace of mind

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels I have stayed it. loved the individual reading light & power outlet in every bunk. Also awesome location and lockers!


97%

I absolutely loved staying here. Great facilities, huge kitchen area comfy TV room as well as quiet lounge in the basement. Lovely cheap bar great for socialising. Lots of events happening which are great for meeting people if you are a solo traveller! Very central location, good spacious rooms comfy beds. Lovely helpful friendly staff! Can't fault this place one bit!


97%

Probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Excellent vibe, excellent facilities, hostel puts on events through out the week so its easy to meet people. The location is excellent.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(147 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback