Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
88% 1243
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Love the place, prefer stay here over hotels. Lovely staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Cheers for the sweet review! Glad you love it here so much! We'll see you next time xox United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel is less than a minute walk from Flinders Street Station. My bed was very comfortable. Staff communicates well. Toilets are clean regularly. Overall - excellent stay for 5 nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks heaps for the great review! So glad that you had a good stay with us. Hope that we can see you again soon. Happy Travels United Crew

  • hannaharmstrong255087
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

I only stayed for one night before an early morning flight. But it seemed like a nice enough hostel - I liked that it had a bar, which got pretty busy and lively. Also a really nice lounge area. Staff were really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location. Just opposite to Flinders Station and 3-min walk to Federation Square and Yara River. Rooms are clean and spacious. Got personal socket and night lamp. Wifi only available in common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Cool place, but did not have the best impression from the staff. Just seemed like a bunch of backpackers working for accommodation. Not that that's bad, but sometimes they lacked professionalism.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. Couldn't fault it. Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Well-located hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff. The bar, chillout area and kitchen can't really be improved on. Rooms are big with high ceilings, plenty of space to stow your stuff. My only criticism is that I never walked into a clean bathroom once during my (3 day) stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks heaps for leaving the review! So glad you enjoyed your stay here.. Makes us happy. It's upsetting you didn't experience a clean bathroom.. We do have scheduled cleans several times a day but with so many people using them at so many different times it can be trick. Hope to see you again! Thanks

21st Jul 2016
8.9

Can't bring your own alcohol in the hostel which is kind of disappointing. They have themed nights at the bar in the basement but they aren't anything special. Huge hostel so lacks a atmosphere, most people are in bigger groups or working in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Very clean and quiet, great location. Most comfortable beds of any hostel in my entire trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
8.6

The best thing about this hostel is the central location. Staff was generally very friendly. The bar always had things going on, which is how I met people. Everyone was in a good mood. My one criticism is the bathrooms--they were never disgusting but never really clean either. Hiring professional housekeeping staff is what hostels of this size usually do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, hanks heaps for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yeh you certainly can't beat our location. Thanks for the insight on the bathrooms. I can assure we have a full time housekeeping crew that clean these bathrooms several times daily. It is of course a hard task when so many guests use them at different times of the day. Next time if it is left untidy after being used just come on down and let us know and we will get it taken care of. Thanks again Bruno, hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.