X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Loved that the beds each had a plug socket and light next to them! Had a good time but the guests were kind of cliquey.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Could do with a further lounge. Very limited for relaxing apart from dining area. When I was there kitchen could hardly cope with the numbers using it. people had to sqat down in foyer area or.whereever they could find a space.


100%

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a fantastic location. Very impressed!


91%

Some additional space to store stuff during the night would be great (e. g. water bottle, phone/alarm clock - on the top beds i had to put that stuff somehow in my bed...)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts! I'm glad to see that there was lots that you enjoyed about your stay - we'll certainly take your suggestion into consideration (I've already emailed the boss!) Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

94%

Great hostel with great events put on each day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad you got to experience our awesome events program! Hopefully you will get to come back and hang out with us again. Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

100%

This is the BEST hostel I've ever stayed. Don't hesitate, just book it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you so much! We hope to see you back at United one day soon. Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

89%

Great location, accessible to everything and anything. The bunks and bathroom were super clean too. Love the atmosphere of young backpackers just chillin' at the common area.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there - thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we love hearing nice things! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

89%

The location is excellent, just 10 sec to Flinder Station and Route 35 (Free City Circle), most suitable to travellers who would like to stay at the city centre.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there - thanks so much for leaving your feedback. You sure can't beat this location can you? Right in the heart of this amazing city! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

94%

Fantastic hostel! Nice and friendly staff, great new facilities and an awesome location! When I come back to Melbourne, I'll be staying at United again!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we look forward to seeing you again! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

91%

This is a new hostel; definitely has potential, but still a work in progress. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds each have an outlet and light, but they could use a shelf. My main complaint is the wifi doesn't work in the room... at all. it's annoying to have to run to the kitchen to use it. My other complaint is the overuse of key cards. You need them to go to the bathroom, use the elevator, walk from one floor to the next. Didn't make me feel safer. I just found it a hassle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thanks for leaving your feedback - we appreciate it. Our wifi is only available in the common areas - we want people out of their rooms and off the internet, meeting people! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

100%

The hostel is really beautiful. Everything inside is new and very clean. The mattress was confortable and I slept very well. There is a big common area where it is easy to have a chat and meet new people. The position is perfect, close to the main attractions. The guys at the reception were so nice with me. I definitely want to recommend this hostel ! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - I am so very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will get to come back and see us again soon! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

97%

It's a safe and clean hostel in a great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback we really appreciate it! Happy Travels Jess - Operations Manager

89%

Everything is great . My complains are the bed is super noisy which I hate the most and the room I got didn't have window so it just smells like feet at all time. But otherthan these it's been great...

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - we super appreciate it. I'm really glad to see that there was lots you loved! The beds were a bit squeaky weren't they? Fortunately this has now been fixed! You did book an internal room - which is pretty clearly advertised as not having windows (but it does have a full ventilation system and AC). Happy Travels - we hope to see you again soon! Jess - Operations Manager

97%

This is my first hostel experience and i could not for a better one. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathroom were clean, and the location is close to everything. Highly recommended!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - I am so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We love that you chose us for your first hostel experience! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

100%

This was a wonderful hostel, very clean and lots to do! Everyone was very respectful of one another and it had a great atmosphere. The best part of the hostel is the location right in the heart of the city... never a dull moment!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow - what lovely things to say - thank you for taking the time to say them! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

83%

Excellent place, extended my stay. Wifi could be a bit better.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for staying with us! The good news in we have a new wifi system being installed very soon - you'll have to come back and try it out! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

100%

All in all a perfect hostel...couldn't fault it at all! Will come back to United Backpackers when I return to Melbourne!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you! We look forward to seeing you when you're next in Melbourne! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

89%

Once the bar is up and going this will be a great place to stay

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! We can't wait for the bar either! We are counting down the days....not long now - you'll have to come back and see us when it's ready. Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

97%

This is a great hostel, stayed about 2 weeks and I wish I could have stayed longer. Excellent staff, very easy to meet people with common rooms and many activities, one of the cleanest hostels I've been to, right across from flinders street station and in the middle of everything. I wish there were more hostels like this one, you feel at home and welcomed there

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh goodness, what lovely things to say! We work super hard to ensure that all of our amazing guests have an experience like yours. We hope to see you again soon! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

94%

I ended up staying here for 2 weeks I loved it! Definitely a lot of long term backpackers, so you kinda have to break into the groups. Staff are great, bathrooms super clean, beds comfy, location actually could not be better! And free wifi! The kitchen in fantastic, loads of stove tops and ovens. It's still being built and will soon have a bar, laundry facilities, and another lounge room. I would absolutely tell people to stay here. These guys helped kick start my time in Melbourne!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(102 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback