Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

Overall really great place to stay with the perfect location, right next door to Degraves St! Staff were pretty friendly and inviting, good vibes and loved the decor, especially in the basement!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us such a great review. We have had a housekeeping meeting today just to remind and retrain our team on what levels we are trying to hit. It is not a common occurrence that we hit a low 6 on our cleaning level so we take it seriously when we get one. We hope that you come back and stay with us again and see a change in the cleanliness level that you saw your first stay. Thanks, The United Crew.

9th Feb 2017
7.1

Good security and kitchen. A nice bar downstairs with good drinks deals. Free wifi is okay but rooms lack AC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, Hope you are enjoying your travels. Thanks, The United Crew

8th Feb 2017
8.9

Loved my stay at United! Was super clean, huge kitchen and basement bar and stuff going on every night. I would definitely recommend staying here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. We hope you come and stay with us again. The United Crew.

  • Chazzaaaal
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.6

There's a great atmosphere here and always something happening. Rooms are big and clean, and the showers are great! BUT they need to install air-conditioning!!! There's no way you can have one tiny fan to cool down an entire room, I spent all night sweating... the amount of money I paid and I couldn't even sleep! Other than that, it's a good hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful, the kitchen is also really good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.4

United is a great hostel. Beds are so comfy and it's very clean. I only stayed for two nights so didn't experience many nights in the bar but it is a very social hostel, good to meet new people. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us such a positive review. We are delighted to hear that you rated us so highly. Come back for a visit sometime. Safe Travels, The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

The American lass Brianna has been helpful whenever I've needed assistance, great member of the team.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That is such great feedback, we love to hear that our team are kicking goals and being awesome. Thanks for the review, Hope you are enjoying your travels The United Crew

31st Jan 2017
8.6

One of the better hostels I've stayed at. Newer, comfy beds and pretty clean bathroom. Great location right by Flinders Station in the free tram zone. Free pancakes every morning and cheap bar downstairs. It isn't a party hostel, but has a good lively vibe. V easy to meet people. 24 hr reception staff were helpful & friendly. Chill lounge with okay wifi. Only cons: no AC or wifi in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.7

Was an awesome location, public transport, nightlife, cafes, shops right outside front door. Excellent bar area and chill area. Great kitchen area, friendly staff. Stayed five nights when Bruce Springsteen was in town, so was nice and cheap as well. I'm older than your average backpacker I imagine at 47, and need a comfy bed for my rickety bones, and was pleasantly surprised! Nice firm mattresses! Will definitely stay here again when in town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Its great to know that we are looking after everyone's needs when they come and stay with us. Hopefully you will come and stay again when Brucie baby is in town again. Kindest Regards, The crew @ United

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.9

Friendly and helpful staff Fab security Free things here and there.. pancakes and tacos etc Comfiest bed and pillow I've had so far which was lovely! So so noisy outside due to rubbish trucks and cafes etc but just invest in some earplugs. Also just hope that the people you share a dorm with are courteous and shut the door quietly otherwise they slam as they are fire doors. Would recommend and stay again :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that we are smashing it. We are sorry to hear about the bin men, they can sometimes be abit noisy, you are right tho the earplugs do help. Hope you are having a great traveling, All the Best The United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

Well located in Melbourne, however didn't sleep well due to the noise of the street starting at 4am when the dumper trucks kick up. No air con in room either (well, a fan that didn't really do anything) so the window had to be opened, hence the noise. Found the people quite cliquey and no one really spoke which was a shame. Bathrooms were clean however very, very hot (no ventilation)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.