X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
444 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Good hostel but somewhat overrated for the price. Good wifi but limited coverage to rooms was frustrating. Beds, rooms, & facilities are average (lounges were very good though). Staff were professional but not very friendly.


94%

Fantastic hostel. Very well kept and respected by all guests. The "secret" lounge area is also very cool and chilled out vibe.


83%

Was a very great hostel to stay at, very clean, good amenities. Location was great! Right downtown, close to everything. Not much for activities the days we were there, or an atmosphere of meeting people and making new friends, but a clean hostel for a place to stay. Travel desk was great. Tour agent Sean was absolutely fantastic and helped us plan our whole east coast trip from start to finish and did absolutely everything for us. He was very accommodating, friendly and fun.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

United Backpackers is in the perfect location in the middle of the action in Melbourne. I was taking a course in Sydney for a few weeks and had a few days to visit Melbourne. In my age group the hostels are not the premiere choice. However since I was just going to use the space to sleep in shower it was perfect. The staff were very friendly and even printed out my boarding pass for me. I will recommend this particular hostel because of the location, staff and over all good deal.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Bar in the basement was great, super cheap and nice atmosphere, staff was fabulous as well as our private room. Not the cheapest hostel but well worth the money

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel with excellent location. Plusses: a drink voucher for the hostel's bar upon arriving, air-con in the room, free tacos on Tuesday evenings. Minuses: squeaky beds, noisy safety lockers, untidy bathrooms. Overall a positive experience.


89%

Everything was very safe, but everyone could in principle get into the luggage room. It should be more secure as well


100%

The best hostel I have stayed in. Awesome staff, new and clean, central, free wifi... I highly recommend it!


94%

plenty of bathrooms and very clean. Beds are comfy. Location is superb! Bar at the basement is awesome :) :) :)


100%

Beyond the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Will stay again when I return and highly recommend it!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, right at the city centre with tram stops and train station nearby. Staff is really friendly, helpful as well. The size of the hostel makes it easy to meet a lot of new people, but there's less of a 'family' or 'group' feeling as there are so many.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

awesome awesome staff. clean, nice and has everything you would need. great location and the atmosphere of the hostel is great. They make it easy to meet people with different activities. My only complaint if I have to think of one would be that there were no mirrors in the rooms which can be kinda annoying. It is a pretty big hostel so you don't get the super homey vibe but the staff is awesome and they have activities every night to meet people.


97%

The overall atmosphere of the hostel was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable. The 10 person rooms on level 1 REALLY need some air conditioning - it would have gotten to at least 40-50 degrees in my room on 2 out of my 5 nights - the ceiling fan just didn't cut it

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I didn't realise that the 12 dorm rooms weren't air conditioned and it happened to be really hot on the days I stayed. The room had 2 ceiling fans but it was still very hot and uncomfortable. Perfect location, great staff, wifi worked well in the common areas.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel. Only downers were the no BYOB, although I had some great nights down in the bar, it's a great place to meet up with your new mates and drinks are cheap. If you're really really broke just put some cheap wine in a united back packers water bottle and pre drink in the park with your possie. Ok other gripe would be that yes they do have free wi fi but it is God damn slow!!! Otherwise I had a ball at this place.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

very unfriendly staff- didn't greet me when i approached them. often no toilet paper in toilets. only 2 female toilets on whole floor. very unfriendly & social atmosphere. very uncomfortable beds and pillow- i woke up with back ache every morning. very uncomfortable room due to high temperature- fans didn't work very well & no air- don't stay here in summer as its way too hot. Hot water machine broke in kitchen and didn't get fixed for at least a day. Generally unpleasant, boring and unfriendly

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a super convenient location. People are nice there, and the bed is quite comfy !

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed at United back packers on NYE. They jacked up their price because of the occasion, but all hotels and backpackers do it. I was in a 4 person dorm with en-suite which was tiny and the shower pretty small. The room itself was clean and large. The staff were great and very helpful. I will stay here again.


91%

Fantastic hostel! Plug sockets and bedside lights next to every bed, new-looking bedding, lifts, a 24 hour lounge with WiFi, a great location in the CBD. The only possible downsides are that the combined toilets/showers on the 3rd floor, while great because they are individual and private, were grubby and wet all the time (probably because so many people were using them that they were difficult to keep clean). Anyway, would definitely stay again!!


100%

Air con more effective than fans. Very hot!! But enjoyable experience and looking to move back for a few months

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(121 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback