X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
748 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such a great place and great location :D


91%

Loved United! Staff was so helpful and had so many fun activities every night! Definitely take advantage of the cheap drinks in the bar!!


89%

Great location right next to Flinders Street Station. But hope you get wifi in rooms too so everyone do not need to rush to the lounge, which could be very crowd in the evening, for Internet.


86%

It was a very cold night/day during my stay and the air-conditioning was working. Eventually I have got a cold after the night I spent there. It is not just my comment especially I just stayed there for a night but the girls in the same dorm have also said the air-con wasn't working and everyone was freezing.


89%

Great place but please fix the wifi or just say openly that you don't have a working wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Funny you mention it...our wifi has decided now is the right time to have a tantrum! We're on it and are investing in some new gear as I type! I'm super stoked to read that everything else about your stay was ace! See you soon? Happy Travels, Jess Operations Manager

100%

Great location, train station and free tram is just in front of the hostel. Sometimes you can get a free drink at the bar when you participate their event. The bar at the basement is the good place to mingle and meeting new friends. Just few things annoy me, the wifi not works for me, the laundry dryer machine not in service and breakfast time a bit late and short.


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed! Everything was good, friendly staff, clean hostel, big kitchen and dining area, cool and really clean rooms and bathrooms, free wifi and great location! Would defenedly stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Holy Moly! Thanks so much for your kind words - we really appreciate it! Definitely come back and see us again soon! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

89%

great hostel and very clean. location is amazing! definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

94%

Great facilities and location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! Come back and see us again soon, yes? Happy Travels, Jess Operations Manager

71%

They are the best location in town- agreed. Rooms are reasonable and clean. But no one should give them a positive review until they clearly tell under "things to note" that they don't allow outside alcohol and that you have to sign a threatening form agreeing to it once you get there. Think it's fair? Then add it to your description so everyone can see that if they like to drink, they can do it at the lifeless basement bar at $5 a drink or $10 a drink at any other bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Uh-oh! I reckon we've had a bit of a misunderstanding. It's not unusual for a licensed property such as ours to not allow BYO alcohol, in fact it's a law. I'm sorry if you found the way we communicate that message to be a bit in your face - we just think it's a little cheeky! Our super ace basement bar is definitely the cheapest in town - we keep it that way so that you guys get the best possible value for your stay - even when you can't bring in your own box of goon :( Jess - Ops Manager

86%

Fantastic location and right next door to Backpackers World Travel if you need to book any last minute trips. Facilities were great and the dorms and bathrooms were immaculate. There is also plug sockets next to every bed and free wifi in common areas. Only down fall was that the beds were ridiculously squeeky to the point that I felt guilty if I moved and made a racket and I was sharing with 2 snorers who kept me up half the night but that's just bad luck for me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm super glad you enjoyed your stay and our amazing facilities (don;t forget we have our very own Peter Pan travel store on level 1!). We have preventative measures in place to stop the squeak - but sometimes we miss one! They are something we can fix if you let us know while you're here! Happy Travels, Jess Operations Manager

89%

Good location. Clean. Good facilities. Helpful Staff. Would stay here again.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for leaving your feedback! I'm super glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - come back and visit again soon! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

100%

United Backpackers has got it going on.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks! We reckon you're a bit of all right too! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

91%

If I ever visit Melbourne again, would probably stay there and recommend my friends to stay there.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woo-hoo! Come back and see us anytime! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

94%

Clean, comfortable and warm beds, and great location! Highly recommended. Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks so much for leaving your feedback! Super stoked to read you enjoyed your stay, come back soon! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in - loads of communal chill out space, good kitchen and plenty of showers. Comfy beds and the staff were really helpful. Also in an ideal location to explore Melbourne.


97%

The staff were very knowledgeable of Melbourne, helpful and friendly. Even the bartenders in the hostel's basement bar were helpful in getting newcomers integrated into the social scene of travelers who had been staying there for a little bit longer. The hostel seemed really well organized with social events planned every night. Everything was tidy and clean and the bathrooms were individual even on the floors with 8 bed dorms which was really nice for showering and changing.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
wow! Thanks so much for your lovely words (and for taking the time to leave them!) we really appreciate it! Our staff are incredible aren't they! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

89%

Great stay, nice kitchen and TV room. Could do with free tea and coffee for price paid!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - come visit us again soon! (I'll see what I can do about tea and coffee!) Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

80%

Free wifi for all area and free continential breakfast should be provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for leaving your feedback! Ahh, wifi in the rooms - what a contentious issue! Some people love it, others not so much - we reckon it's heaps better only in the communal areas (and it stops disturbing skype calls at all hours! Yep - no free brekky, but we do heaps of other free stuff throughout the week to makeup for it (like taco Tuesday, soup night and pancake Friday...for starters!). Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

97%

Only stayed here for one night so didn't get a proper feel for the place however the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds very very comfortable compared to others I've stayed in... Each bed had it's own light and power point on the wall - brilliant!! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
One night is definitely not enough at United Backpackers! Come back and see us again soon! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager (yep - how good are those beds lights and power points! They rule!)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback