Hostelworld.com

United Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
88% 1178
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Staff were lovely, and the location is amazing - if you are going to stay anywhere it should be Flinder's street The beds were really comfortable, good quality bedding and warm. The toilets were a bit dirty and smelly, the showers were good though and so was the bar. Note: they don't provide free breakfast and the WiFi was not available in the rooms. They have good deals for day trips too All in all a good stay, liked the place and location was perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay, absolutely the best place to stay in Melbourne it's got a really chilled and friendly vibe. Everyone is really nice, it's easy to make friends because there is a bar down stairs which everyone in the hostel uses the only draw back of this is you can't take your own alcohol into the hostel. But that is no reason not to stay here because it is just so good!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paigerk
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.0

Location was excellent! Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. As two girls, we felt safe. Staff was super friendly. Bar downstairs was just okay; a LOT of dudes and only those staying in the hostel. Lounge room was loud because of the bar. Only real problem was the bathrooms; smelly and toilets were clogged half the time (you could smell them down the hallway). I'd stay here again for the dorm quality and location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for the review! Always good to get some feedback! Yeh Location is great hey! Hope you took advantage of it. Thanks for your feedback on the bar, we have put a lot of love into it lately and the events are getting bigger and better!.. Unfortunate to here about the bathrooms, we have a hardworking housekeeping team that keep this place to a really high standard! Did you notify anyone regarding the blocked toilets? We very rarely have problems like that but can always get them fixed right away if you tell us about it!.. Hope to see you here again soon! Glenn United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.4

Great place to stay. Very close to the main train station. All the staff like to help with directions to place and anyway they can help. The problems I had with the booking being changed were fixed quickly when I arrived. The party area downstairs is loud but can't be heard from the above rooms so I could always sleep well. Just remember to bring your own padlock for the lockers under your bed. Rules are written in a friendly way that make most people keep the place clean and habitable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the great review mate. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again! Happy Travels, Glenn United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
7.1

Good location, good facilities and clean BUT sooooo noisy. I stayed 4 nights and that was too much. Even if i was on the 2nd floor and the bar is in the basement. I could still hear the music late at night. + drunk people in the hallway talking on the phone at 2am (3 nights on 4) come on, more respect please... Just way to noisy for me. Not really friendly staff and general atmosphere was not great for a person who travel by herself.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks very much for the review. Always good to get some feedback from the travelers. I'm sad to hear the stay wasn't as perfect for you as it could be. We understand there is an amount of noise associated with this amazing externally, but we try our hardest to keep the internal noise to a minimum when required. The bar does play music but we have created in a way as to never reach Level 2. We have also since your stay installed noise limiters on the sound system so it can't be put over a certain level. I believe this has solved any noise issues.. Would love to hear more about our staff being 'unfriendly' if you have a specific example? We pride ourselves on our customer service so I would like to address it! Hope your travels have kept you well. See you next time! Glenn United Crew

3rd Jun 2016
9.1

Fantastic location, just opposite Flinders Station and walking distance from all the major attractions. Rooms and beds were comfortable and other guests were very friendly. The only weird thing to me was that there were people sleeping overnight in the common room (that's where the wifi is), which is just beside the bar (which honestly isn't the best).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
6.9

It's by no means a bad place to stay but feels a bit of a rip off. I stayed on the third floor and everything was clean but there was a persistent unpleasant smell in the corridors. Also I don't buy the whole 'no wifi in the rooms to encourage atmosphere' the atmosphere is pretty non existent, that's just a cop out for the hostel being too cheap to fork out for building wide wifi. Plus points were great staff, good beds and felt secure. Probably wouldn't recommend however.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review mate. Appreciate you taking the time. Pretty bummed you didn't get everything out of your stay that you hoped for though. Not too sure about the persistent smell in the corridors on level three, we have received no other complaints and we have checked it and no one smells anything. We have a tireless housekeeping team that keeps this hostel pristine! The WIFI one is a tricky one - I can assure you it is not a case of being 'Too Cheap'. In fact we are installing WIFI in to all the rooms and will have it up and running by summer time. Hopefully you can come back and check it out once it's up and running. Thanks Mate - Happy Travels Glenn General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

It is one of the best hostels I have stayed in Melbourne. Facilities are clean, staff are friendly, atmosphere is great, what more can you ask for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, really glad I chose it! Helpful staff, great card/ lock security, spacious 4 person room with ensuite and a lot of chill space to lounge in! HUGE kitchen too! Would recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey you! Thank you so much for leaving us a review - we really appreciate that!! I'm stoked to read that you loved everything about your stay... (but who doesn't like to hear nice things about themselves?) We work super hard at United to ensure that all of our guests receive amazing service and it seems like we did our job quite well! Again, thank you so much for leaving us a review and I hope to see you soon... back again at United! Happy travels! Noortje United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th May 2016
6.9

Alright hostel, nothing great. Cons: There are loudspeakers in the room through which they broadcast things, very annoying. Had the A/C on in the common room even though it was winter. Lots of rules written in a weirdly passive aggressive way, the whole hostel has a feeling of trying too hard. Guests only bar is a terrible idea, it was quite boring down there. Pros: Well-equipped kitchen and lockers in rooms. Good security and great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for leaving the review. Unfortunate that you didn't get everything from your stay that you hoped for.. Yep, we make announcements (usually one a day, two maximum) but at least we were announcing about our FREE pancakes, or FREE walking tour, or FREE Cheese and Wine. Sorry you found our signs to be passive aggressive, certainly not the case. We just simply want people to respect the property and its guests, so we would rather do it in a fun and friendly way, rather than a bossy one - which most people understand. Guests only bar - totally agree!! That license condition was actually placed on us by the Victorian Gaming and Licensing Commission, and we are in the process of applying for a public license. So yeh, not our idea!! Thanks for your feedback though, it is always helpful to get some insight from the guests, so thanks for taking the time to chuck a review up. Happy Travels, Glenn United Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.