Hostelworld.com

United Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
United Backpackers Located at 250 Flinders Street, , Melbourne.
United Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 250 Flinders Street
88% 1158
-37.8177004 144.9660372
United Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th May 2016
6.9

Alright hostel, nothing great. Cons: There are loudspeakers in the room through which they broadcast things, very annoying. Had the A/C on in the common room even though it was winter. Lots of rules written in a weirdly passive aggressive way, the whole hostel has a feeling of trying too hard. Guests only bar is a terrible idea, it was quite boring down there. Pros: Well-equipped kitchen and lockers in rooms. Good security and great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for leaving the review. Unfortunate that you didn't get everything from your stay that you hoped for.. Yep, we make announcements (usually one a day, two maximum) but at least we were announcing about our FREE pancakes, or FREE walking tour, or FREE Cheese and Wine. Sorry you found our signs to be passive aggressive, certainly not the case. We just simply want people to respect the property and its guests, so we would rather do it in a fun and friendly way, rather than a bossy one - which most people understand. Guests only bar - totally agree!! That license condition was actually placed on us by the Victorian Gaming and Licensing Commission, and we are in the process of applying for a public license. So yeh, not our idea!! Thanks for your feedback though, it is always helpful to get some insight from the guests, so thanks for taking the time to chuck a review up. Happy Travels, Glenn United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2016
6.6

Really wouldn't recommend this hostel for solo travellers, most people who stay here work here so it is very 'cliquey' and hard to meet people. Hostel is expensive and food storage cramped plus they are very strict on storing food in your room meaning lots of the time food gets stollen. Stayed in two different rooms one of which was very cramped.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Cheers for the feedback! It's a shame a couple of things didn't go as you expected in your stay, I wish you would have come and talked to us about it at the time! I must clear up though that out of 281 beds we only have 16 that work so I'm sorry if you found that cliquey!! Can understand that hostels can not always be easy to make friends but that's why we put on events every night to get people to meet, so I hope you got involved in that! Yeh no food in the rooms. That's a classic hostel rule - we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and food in the rooms leads to all sorts of problems so that is best left in the storage in the kitchen! Thanks again - feedback is always appreciated and useful! Kind Regards, Glenn

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2016
9.1

A good, modern, hostel and the staff and rooms were great. Good activities & location too. The only negative I can really think of is the wifi only being available in the room by the bar. I get the reason for it being not wanting people skyping home in their rooms in the middle of the night but from my own experience 9 hours ahead of home, trying to Skype or call home when there is insanely loud dance music (and the DJ chanting "get your tits out for the lads") isn't ideal either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
6.0

Good - Right downtown, had a bar, big kitchen, cinema room was sweet. Bad - Wifi didn' work everywhere, room was overcrowded, cheap squeaky bunks (common problem) Biggest issue was the staff, lack of continuity. Told about the bar deal and then later had to argue with the bartender. Didn't get proper check in info, had no idea the cinema room existed. Two different staff were extremely unhelpful when we asked for parking assistance once before arriving and again on arrival. Would not stay again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
9.7

Really great location right in the CBD, staff really friendly and fun. Downstairs bar is great, cheap drinks and fun events on each night. Rooms and bathrooms were nice and tidy, both cleaned every day. Overall a great stay, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi you! Thank you so much for writing such lovely words! Our location is perfect - I totally agree with you on that! We're located right in the middle of this amazing city with everything you need just at the front door... how good is that?! About our basement bar... we just made some small changes and we think the bar looks pretty cool now! With events going on every night you won't be bored during your stay here! Again, thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you back again in United Backpackers one day! Happy travels! Noortje United crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
8.6

This hostel has really lovely staff, and great facilities. The atmosphere is a bit like a university residence, which could be appealing to some people and offputting to others. Eg. You can't bring in your own alcohol and there are people often up and running around late at night. This isn't a complaint, but the doors do close quite loudly, so if you are a light sleeper, that might be offputting. Overall, the staff was super nice, and the facilities were modern and clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
8.3

The staff was fantastic. I arrived early and they let me take a shower before I could check in. They were super happy, smiling and helpful the entire time I was there. Facilities was a bit of an issue though: All of the toilets and showers started running brown water one morning. The staff acted quickly but bathrooms and showers were unusable for some time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
6.0

It was noisy 24hours. Couldn't sleep at night because of doors slamming and people running around even at late night. Location is great that's about it. If you looking for place really active you would like this place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for reviewing us. I'm sorry to hear that your stay at United was not as good as you may expected. We're a big hostel in the middle of the city so yeah it can be a little bit noisy at the time with around 270 backpackers around you, I''m sorry for that! Again, thanks for your feedback and I hope to see you back again in United Backpackers one day! Happy travels, Noortje United Crew

1st May 2016
9.4

Amazing location, great staff, clean rooms, and lots of outlets. Only con is no wifi in the bedrooms, only in the common room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi you! Wow, thank you so much for your lovely review!! We really appreciate that. I totally agree with you about our location, it's perfect! Right in the middle of this amazing city with everything you need just at the front door. We only offer our free Wi-Fi in the common area's because we want to avoid people skyping home around 5.00 in the morning, or watching movies in their dorm all day long! We've got heaps of space to do this (Movie room, Chillax lounge)! Hope to see you back again in United soon!! Happy travels, Noortje United Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thank you so much for leaving your thoughts about your stay with us, we appreciate that! Hope to see you back at United soon and in the meantime..... happy travels!! Noortje United Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.