X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
778 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND here! Stuff is super nice!~The bed and sheet are comfortable and clean, everyone has a small light on wall. There has bar under floor. I was so lucky, I got a buy one get one free voucher and $5 for whole Domino Pizza! And there is not cold in the night time. The facilities in kitchen is comprehensive. I wanna live there much longer.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect location and excellent staff and security. Rooms are modern and clean the only thing was the smell at the end of the second floor, not sure what it was but it was there throughout our three night stay. Only other thing that could be improved would be to have wifi in rooms


94%

Staff were very friendly on arrival and this continued throughout the stay, the hostel was clean with comfy beds and the bathrooms were a good size and extremely clean. Kitchen facilities were excellent with plenty of cooking and storage space. Events at the hostel were great, the staff were very informative in regards to travelling around the city and the best routes. On the whole a thoroughly enjoyable stay at United Melbourne and highly likely to recommend to family and friends!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this placeeee

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo and we love you for leaving a 100% review! Enjoy your trip!

80%

United Backpackers is in a very convenient location. Right in the city centre, so close to sightseeing places and shopping malls. Rooms are nice and well maintained, lots of private showers and toilet on every floor and the kitchen is spacious and a great hang out place for everyone. I will definitely stay here again the next time.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Robert, Thanks for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. You can't beat our location can you right in the heart of the city! We hope to welcome you back one day or to our fabulous new Port Douglas hostel if you are heading north! Enjoy your travels Anna Heaton General Manager

43%

Not worth the money. Location and facilities are good. The rooms smell really bad. Some of the staff were pretty rude and arrogant. I got short changed in the bar several times by a pretty rude brunette girl. The wifi only works downstairs. Several of my roommates had their food stolen. I moved into a much nicer hostel for less money. Look around and find a nicer hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew, We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and glad you found a hostel better suited to your needs. Yes we did have some Wi-Fi issues on L1 during the week you stayed and I'm glad to report we had additional access points put in last week and it is working great on this floor now as well. Our cleanliness, staff and security ratings are all very high and we do whatever we can to prevent stinky rooms and stolen food but sometimes you can't win them all. Happy travels! Anna

100%

This hostel was my hostel oz 100%. The staff were amazing Jess. Everything was spotless. I couldn't say a word about this place. It's extremely central and is full of a wide range of mixed people which made it great for me as I was travelling alone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Niamh, Wow its so great reading reviews like this and we are always super happy to give people a positively memorable experience as that's what we strive to do every day! We hope to welcome you back one day! Regards Anna

100%

This is my second time staying at the hostel. It is very relaxed and friendly and you feel comfortable straight away. This time I stayed in the budget 8 bed dorm which was quite cramped even though there were only 6 beds in the room.


100%

Hostel is very central to shops, restaurants and must-see tourist attractions. Very clean, organized and staff makes a fun effort to bond travelers traveling in groups or solo. I would stay here again

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jean Paul, Thanks heaps for staying with us and of course leaving such a great review! We are always super happy to read people have had a great experience as that is what we are all on a mission to do! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to welcome you back one day! Anna

86%

It`s a really nice hostel... right on the centre city, you can walk to hit the main things on the city. The room are really big and the blanket are really warm. The internet is no that good on the bedroom but its ok

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nayane, Thanks for staying at Untied and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much! As you know we only advertise free Wi-FI in the common areas and this is because we think once you have WI-Fi in rooms the atmosphere can be negatively impacted with lots of people hibernating. Oh the days before internet in hostels! Imagine! Sadly I'm old enough to remember ;) Enjoy the rest of your holiday! Anna

97%

Rooms were clean, staff were great. The room I had was in the perfect position to pick up wifi from the library but it was also close to were plates and glasses would get emptied from all the cafe's near by so that was loud but no problem falling back to sleep if it woke me. I would definitely stay here again

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Benjamin, Thanks for your review and we are glad to read you had a great time. You picked up Wi-Fi from the library?! Wow I haven't heard that one before! Our amazing location does mean there is a bit of city noise but glad you managed to get back to sleep OK. Enjoy the rest of your trip and hopefully we'll see you back one day. Anna

89%

The location for this hostel is great! There are also excellent facilities. Although having said that, the WiFi did not reach to a few of the rooms, which was a little annoying. The hostel is really big though, which is not really to my personal liking as I prefer the smaller cosier ones. But none the less a good hostel and great if you want to be right in the centre of Melbourne!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zak, Thanks for your review and its great you had such a good time! Our Free Wi-fi is only available in common areas which is what we advertise. Why? So people aren't hiding away in their rooms all day! We have 280 beds so are mid size yes but we like to think our layout, great staff and free events keep the vibe homely and fun. Enjoy the rest of your travels and if you're heading north be sure to go check out our tropical Port Douglas hostel! Regards Anna GM

49%

The staff were shocking upon arrival. We booked an 8 bed dorm 2 months before our arrival and spoke to a staff member on the phone to ensure that we were kept in one room so as not to disturb other guests, they said it would not be a problem. Sure enough 4 of us were checked in to 2 different rooms, we raised our request and they said that "there are never any guarantees" and they made absolutely no effort to get us into one room. We have now found out that they overcharged the group. 1/10.


86%

I'd like to have known before booking that you can't bring in your own alcohol, because they have a license. I usually like to meet people in the kitchen with a glass of wine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Martin, Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! That is correct we don't allow BYO as we do have a bar open 7 nights. It is super cheap and has lots of free fun events too. You do raise a good point and I will actually add this to the T&C on our website so people are aware that is the case. We are more than happy to be transparent with what we offer so there are no surprises for people on arrival. Enjoy the rest of your holiday! Anna Heaton GM

91%

Clean and pretty place in an amazing location! I haven't had the chance to spend my evenings at the bar, but it looks like there is always something to do even if you are on your own. The kitchen is really organised and the showers are way better than the usual hostel standard. Would definitely recommend.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Margherita, Thanks so much for your review and we are super glad to read you had such a great time! You can't beat our location can you and yes there is always something on day and nights to engage travellers with each other and our amazing city! Enjoy your travels and we'll hopefully see you back one day! Regards Anna Heaton GM

100%

Such a great place and great location :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gemma, Yay 100% thats awesome! Thanks so much for your review and we are really happy to hear you had such a great time! Enjoy your travels and we can't wait to welcome you back one day! Regards Anna Heaton GM

100%

What, you mean i can't give this 6/5?

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha sounds like you had a great time then Matthew! Thanks for your review and we'll hopefully see you back here or at our awesome Port Douglas hostel in the near future! Happy travels Anna Heaton General Manager

91%

Loved United! Staff was so helpful and had so many fun activities every night! Definitely take advantage of the cheap drinks in the bar!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alexandra, Woohho that's awesome! Thanks heaps for your review and we are super happy to hear you had such a great time. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully we'll see you in Melbs or at our Port Douglas hostel in the future! Regards Anna

89%

Great location right next to Flinders Street Station. But hope you get wifi in rooms too so everyone do not need to rush to the lounge, which could be very crowd in the evening, for Internet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Wing Ki, Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We only have Free Wi-Fi in the common areas we find a lot of the hostels that do offer this lack atmosphere. At least even though a lot of people are on the internet they aren't locked away in their rooms! In regards to space, perhaps you didn't find the lower level lounge and bar room as there is lots and lots of space and powerpoints for people to surf away. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Anna

86%

It was a very cold night/day during my stay and the air-conditioning was working. Eventually I have got a cold after the night I spent there. It is not just my comment especially I just stayed there for a night but the girls in the same dorm have also said the air-con wasn't working and everyone was freezing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yu Yan, Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear you were cold! All of our rooms do have heating and nice warm doona's so I'm not sure if this was reported to reception as if it wasn't working for some reason we'd be happy to move you, give you extra bedding or put a portable heater in the room. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we can welcome you back one day. Regards Anna Heaton General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback