X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

United Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
280 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This is my first hostel experience and i could not for a better one. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathroom were clean, and the location is close to everything. Highly recommended!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All in all a perfect hostel...couldn't fault it at all! Will come back to United Backpackers when I return to Melbourne!


89%

Once the bar is up and going this will be a great place to stay

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The room I stayed in was too hot because one of the two fans was faulty. There are 10 beds in a rectangular room, with only a small window opening at one end (the window can only be opened to about 10 degrees). Air ventilation was extremely poor in a room with so many people. The bunk beds aren't fixed properly so they would be shaking and making noise whenever someone made a little movement on the bed while sleeping. Other than these the rest is fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there - thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry you found the room a bit stuffy! We are working on rectifying that issue as soon as possible (I hope you told us about the fan in the room while you were with us as we can get that fixed really quickly!). The bunks being squeaky is also something we can fix very quickly if you tell us! I'm glad the you enjoyed your stay with us anyway :) hopefully we will see you again soon - Happy Travels Jess, Operations Manager

80%

this hostel was pretty good although it was to hard to find as was located of the main strip i thought the place was good but badly lacked bit of atmosphere as there was only tv in the dining area no laundry facilties or kitchen facilities but the staff were more helpful which i was very pleased with

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there - thanks for leaving your feedback! We are located right on Flinders Street - directly opposite Flinders street station, our big yellow doors make us easy to spot! Our amazing bar, laundry and second lounge is under construction (6 weeks and counting!) - but in the meantime we have a massive dining room and kitchen next to the TV room - I'm sorry you missed it as it is the beating heart of the hostel - where all the action takes place! Happy Travels, Jess: Operations Manager

100%

very good hostel very central would highly recommend it

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely words :) we hope to see you back at United one day soon! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

83%

Great hostel, very new and very clean. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and the TV room is a great place to chill out if you're feeling like doing much. The reception always seems very busy and you often have to wait but that's the only downfall I can think of.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there - thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yep, reception can be super busy but we sure do get to you as quick as we can! Just wait until you see our brand new basement lounge, super awesome bar and new laundry facilities - coming very soon! Happy Travels, Jess, Operations Manager

100%

stuff really excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think you're pretty excellent too! Thanks for staying at United Backpackers :) Happy Travels, Jess, Operations Manager

91%

Very cool place, nice ensuite dorms. Seds are way too soft and very shaky... A1 staff. Wifi situation not so good but you can't have it all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I reckon we have the best staff in the business - we work around the clock to ensure all our superstar guests have the best time with us. Ahhh, the wifi. You are right, sometimes it does get a bit jammed up and we are working on improving it - if it were up to me we wouldn't have it at all! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

80%

Fantastic location, the staff are nice and the hostel is quite clean. The only thing worth mentioning is that it's a bit of a party hostel, so if drinking heavily isn't your thing, you're better off finding somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it. I'm glad to see that there was lots you loved about your stay. We hope that we offer a wide variety of activities and events catering to tastes across the board - but I get it, sometimes you just want a quiet space to sit and chill away from the crowds? Guess what! It's coming - our brand new chill out area is on its way! Along with great new bar facilities and an awesome laundry. Happy Travels, Jess.

94%

The hostel has a very good location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was really good and we enjoyed the comfortable TV room. The free WiFi was not working most of the time.


100%

Absolutely great hostel, staff are amazing, other travelers are friendly, never had to wait in a line to have a shower, and there are soo many events run by the hostel, and most of them are free!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh my...what lovely things to say. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate it! Hopefully we will see you back at United one day soon. Happy Travels, Jess Operations Manager

94%

The staff were super lovely and even if a difficult customer had been previously they didn't let that affect how they treated those that followed. They probably are what made it awesome, keep up the good work guys :)

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there - Thanks you for leaving your feedback. I reckon we have the best staff in the business and I love hearing good things about them! We do work super hard to ensure that every one of our superstar guests has the best possible time with us. Thanks for staying! We hope to see you again soon, Happy Travels Jess - Operations Manager

94%

great service, friendly and helpful staff, great location.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you for leaving your feedback! We really appreciate it. We hope to see you again one day soon! Happy Travels, Jess - Operations Manager

89%

Perfect location, clean and large bedroom but pretty small ensuite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We like to think that our ensuites are small, but perfectly formed! Luckily there are massive shared bathrooms just down the hall as well hey! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

86%

It would be better if with wifi access in the room

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahh, free wifi - you can't win! We would rather everyone out of their rooms and not in bed watching cat videos on youtube! But we do understand wifi is important to our guests and are working on improving the service - including opening it up for use in our brand new basement area (under construction and open very soon!). Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager

77%

All brand new and stylish. Kinda Party Backpacker Hostel. Not a quiete place....


77%

the location is really fantastic i could get here by skybus and its shuttle and it was very easy beds are noisy if i moved a bit locker is under my bed and it's very uncomfortable to use..


83%

The kitchen was very messy at times which is not surprising considering the number of people staying in the hostel. Nonetheless, this issue is being dealt with better in other hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello - thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry that you found the kitchen a bit messy...the kitchen is fully cleaned every night - with fridges cleaned out twice a week and staff attending to it throughout the day. We also have staff in the kitchen during peak periods 7 nights a week! Happy Travels Jess Operations Manager United Backpackers.

100%

It was just wonderful the people who work there are very supportive !

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback