Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
83% 2245
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Hostel is a bit outside of the centre but its only a 10 or so minute walk. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and family room both which were clean and spacious. The kitchen is clean and the free breakfast is good. Having to pay for wifi is a big downside- should really be free

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.7

Staff were extremely helpful. Friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

After travelling a lot over the last 15 yrs, this place was a massive surprise for the money, free breakfast, free pasta and rice, short walk to the city, Great transport links and Friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rachellouiselamb
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
6.6

Positives: value your privacy in the rooms making sure no one is overlooking you whilst in bed by seperating them with lockers. Beds were comfortable and clean. Large lockers. Air con. Informative on what to do whilst in Melbs. 10% off Maccas accross the road, free breakfast which I did not try and cheap dinners ($5-$7). Negatives: wifi reasonable but not free. Showers not private with see through glass so you can see person next to you showering and no locks. Not very sociable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Rwanda, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.0

Urban central had great facilities and staff which made the place feel welcoming, it was a bit far from the city and where I wanted to be but other than that would definitely come back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • antisha
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.4

My over all experience was awesome.. i was a lil bummed i couldnt park my car cuz it was full bit managed to park at the casino for free.. whih was good.. would have like at their facility.. but was ok with it.. 4 for atmosphere cuz seemed like everyone kept to themselves.. some were ok.. The breakfast was excellent.. cleanliness excellent.. id come here again the next time i come to Melbourne..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucky127720001680
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Good place to stay as handy to the city as just 3 tram stops from Southern Cross and Flinders Street Train Station's IWas worried about the close proximity to an elevated expressway but the noise was not that bad with the windows closed Great value meals most nights for a lousy $5.00 which includes a free drink from the Bar if more than 20 people pay up for the dinner Only downside of that is that the starting time for the meal can vary depending on other factors but for $5 the wait can be worth

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.6

Very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, there is a good communal kitchen with free pasta, rice and breakfast. They do a $5 meal most evenings which is great value (and delicious) and sometimes you even get a free drink. The dorms are no bigger than 4 people. However, the location was a bit out of the central CBD area so you need to get a tram or walk. Also, I think it was not great for socialising. I would have preferred to meet more people especially as I'm alone. NO FREE WIFI either

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
6.9

Staff searched my bags without asking and confiscated my beer without letting me know because they want you to buy drinks at the bar. WiFi and using their PCs costs extra which is annoying. Hostel was clean though, staff was friendly and location was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
9.7

It felt like I was at a hotel! Very friendly staff beautiful rooms and great free breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have you stay here with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.