Hostelworld.com

Urban Central

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
80% 2067
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • paigerk
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Location isn't the greatest, but it's a short walk to the busy part of the city. Clean and comfortable facilities. Felt very safe! Staff were super friendly and helpful with bookings for activities. We didn't check out the on-site bar. Seemed like a lot of people were there to work, so it wasn't the best for meeting other travellers. I'd stay here again, especially to stay somewhere quieter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We pride ourselves on offering the best in facilities and service. Our staff maintain all areas of the venue to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Bar334 (our bar) holds nightly social events like our famous trivia, pool comp and much more. These are great ways to meet fellow travellers. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.6

Very convenient location, ideal for convention centre. Not too noisy even though close to busy roads. Bunk bed mattress a bit lumpy & bed creaked every time either occupant moved. Self closing doors noisy. Otherwise, good facilities although I didn't use many of them. I don't like swish hotels with air con & swanky prices so this works for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay here - the hostel is clean and the location is good (less than ten minutes walk from the free tram zone). There is a bar but even when it was busy I couldn't hear it from my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very convenient we are a short walk into the CBD. Bar334 (our hostel bar) is a great place to meet new people, enjoy music and socialise. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2016
7.7

Been here many times as it is roomy and no 10 people in one room. Close to most places and easy to get to. Will be back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Thank-you Urban Melbourne - we had a fantastic stay recently and will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.3

Always have a good stay at United, awesome location, but did lose my food in the fridge ?? :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are delighted to have had you stay with us at Urban Central. Our location is great and not far from many of Melbourne's fantastic attractions such as Crown Casino, the Convention centre, The south Melbourne market etc. It is very unfortunate that your food went missing. We have labels for guests to use to identify their own groceries. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

19th May 2016
8.0

Very comfortable stay and I would happily stay again, beds are comfy, facilities are good. Only a short walk if you want to avoid spending on the tram and the staff are very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have had you stay here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our high standards of service and comfort during your stay. Our helpful staff enjoy answering questions, assisting with directions and ensuring you enjoy your time here in Melbourne. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central.

17th May 2016
8.6

Massive hostel. But all clean. Kitchen is always very busy. Most guests are long term. Lack of real common area makes it not so easy to meet new people. In general it's good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We pride ourselves on cleanliness ensuring that our high standards are maintained and enjoy being great value for money by offering free breakfast, rice, pasta, tea and coffee. Our bar is a great place to meet new people, they even have fun events on every night like our famous Trivia night for guests to get involved and socialise. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
10.0

Good value, good location. The max 4 bed per room while the price remains low was an advantage for them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2016
6.0

Stayed over there for a week. The 2 BIGGEST problems there were the door locks to every room and hot water for shower. All locks to bedrooms are really noisy when these are closed. I always woke up many times by the noise of door closing sound while sleeping at nights. Secondly, the hot water at bathroom has bad functioning. Only one shower can have hot water but the rests must wait till it's turned off. Except for these two major problems, I thinks it can be recommended to other friends though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The doors to our rooms are fire doors and automatically close and lock. This is part of occupational health and safety to protect our guests and also ensure all rooms are secure. We have recently had our hot water system repaired however when a lot of people are showering at the same time the water will need a moment to warm up again. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.