Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
84% 2127
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. The rooms are great, we stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm. The lockers are huge and they have plug sockets in them. The hostel is really thoroughly cleaned every day and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Absolutely loved staying here and would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.0

Overall a very clean hostel with reasonable environment but a really large number of old people were staying here during my stay. I was the youngest in my room by a solid 20 years and one of the nights someone knocked on our door drunk and a man from my room threatened to shoot him because he had work the next day. I left shortly after this. The staff here are however some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered and it is kept reasonably clean. Showers only Luke warm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
7.4

Staff at night was nice but the rest were a bit less friendly. Easy to find but inconvenient to walk to with luggage or at hrs where there's no public transportation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Aug 2016
8.9

Great stay, staff on reception weren't very cheery or particularly helpful but they were adequate. It was only a short walk to the centre. No free wifi but there is free wifi in the city so that wasn't an issue. My main problem was the shower had a timer! No lengthy showers as it beeps every minute and switches off after the allocated time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Just spent the night. Easily got to the airport the next morning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
7.1

It's a good hostel, however you should take into account that they accept people from all ages, which may create an akward feeling. It's not a young backpackers exclusive atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us! We welcome guests of all ages and even cater for families who enjoy staying in our private rooms. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great location, walking distance to the CBD but also really easy to get to the beach. The hostel itself is really modern with good sized rooms and kept very clean. Would recommend to anyone staying in Melbourne

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
9.4

Great staff extremely friendly. Great facilities and location. Really good spacious rooms and lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Great spacious room with big lockers and comfortable beds. The power sockets where located in the lockers which could be annoying but also meant you could charge your things safely. Good location not far from the free tram stops. Simple free breakfast included as well as free pasta and rice which is nice. Lacked in atmosphere, did feel like a lot of people staying here were there to work but meant a more chilled vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.9

Fab easily location with friendly staff. Decent beds and clean rooms. Showers could do with a good clean but that's just me being a clean freak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have welcomed you here at Urban Central. We are very proud of our staff members and the reputation they uphold and enjoy going above and beyond to ensure our guests see all that Melbourne has to offer. Every day our bathrooms are cleaned 3 times to ensure they meet our high standards. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.