Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2,103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2,103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
82% 2103
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
9.4

Great staff extremely friendly. Great facilities and location. Really good spacious rooms and lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Great spacious room with big lockers and comfortable beds. The power sockets where located in the lockers which could be annoying but also meant you could charge your things safely. Good location not far from the free tram stops. Simple free breakfast included as well as free pasta and rice which is nice. Lacked in atmosphere, did feel like a lot of people staying here were there to work but meant a more chilled vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.9

Fab easily location with friendly staff. Decent beds and clean rooms. Showers could do with a good clean but that's just me being a clean freak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have welcomed you here at Urban Central. We are very proud of our staff members and the reputation they uphold and enjoy going above and beyond to ensure our guests see all that Melbourne has to offer. Every day our bathrooms are cleaned 3 times to ensure they meet our high standards. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.0

Staff was friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay here again for that and the central Southbank location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, Southbank is a great location and is home to The Crown Casino, The Convention Centre and much more. We are a short walk into the CBD along the South bank promenade. Our friendly staff members are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, The team at Urban central

29th Jul 2016
9.4

Stayed with Urban Central a few times now and each time, whether it be a long period of a couple of months or a few days, it has always been great. The cost of the hostel is very reasonable and when you arrive the staff are really helpful and always friendly. I was able to check in early by a few hours the last time after a 6 hour overnight flight which was great. The facilities are always clean as they employ cleaners and maids and don't just have backpackers doing it. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff were super helpful and friendly. Huge lockers in the rooms which is great, showers were great, only thing is there needs to be more plug sockets in the rooms! One per person gets stretched to thin most of the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location and hostel. Only cons were that the elevator was making loud banging noises all night and we weren't aware of the $20 key deposit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
7.7

Staff are willing to offer any help you come across and friendly as well,facilities are quiet nice,but you may meet some messy roommate though lol,and the location is not too far from city,I enjoyed a lot !!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • NorthStory
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

Overall great experience. The location is amazing. Super close to woolies, aldi, south melbourne market, cbd, tram, and southcross station. Good sized beds & good sized rooms, good security, etc. I found there wasn't much of an atmosphere, then again I was in off season, and may long termers stay here for work. So improvements would be: bigger blankets (I had to pick between having my shoulders or feet covered), quieter doors, better hot water system, and powerpoints outside of the lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

Big rooms, big new beds, clean bathrooms, secure, modern facilities, good location, very professional and organised staff/reception. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, The comfort of our guests is one of our main priorities. Our rooms have lockers in them (one for each guest). they are big enough to accommodate a large backpack and have power points inside to securely charge your devices. The friendly receptionists enjoy assisting our guests with any questions they may have and providing a plan on what they can do here in Melbourne. We are are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.