Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
81% 2082
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location and hostel. Only cons were that the elevator was making loud banging noises all night and we weren't aware of the $20 key deposit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

Big rooms, big new beds, clean bathrooms, secure, modern facilities, good location, very professional and organised staff/reception. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, The comfort of our guests is one of our main priorities. Our rooms have lockers in them (one for each guest). they are big enough to accommodate a large backpack and have power points inside to securely charge your devices. The friendly receptionists enjoy assisting our guests with any questions they may have and providing a plan on what they can do here in Melbourne. We are are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, clean calm and nice staff, only thing to improve would be the doors of the rooms! Couldn't open them quietly if you tried, annoying to be woken up every time someone comes in or out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay here with us and providing you with our high level of cleanliness and service. The doors to the rooms are fire doors and are required for safety. They are heavier however the noise can be reduced by closing it behind yourself. We are looking forward to having you stay with us in the future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Super clean. Best kitchen I've seen in a hostel and only 20 minutes walk to get into city. Would be close to a 10 from except for the fact the staff, in particular the female staff at reception can be quite abrupt, rude and un accommodating. It would be close to a perfect hostel if the staff were only a little friendlier and had more of a hostel vibe to them. An occasional smile wouldn't hurt

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paigerk
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Location isn't the greatest, but it's a short walk to the busy part of the city. Clean and comfortable facilities. Felt very safe! Staff were super friendly and helpful with bookings for activities. We didn't check out the on-site bar. Seemed like a lot of people were there to work, so it wasn't the best for meeting other travellers. I'd stay here again, especially to stay somewhere quieter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We pride ourselves on offering the best in facilities and service. Our staff maintain all areas of the venue to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Bar334 (our bar) holds nightly social events like our famous trivia, pool comp and much more. These are great ways to meet fellow travellers. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.6

Very convenient location, ideal for convention centre. Not too noisy even though close to busy roads. Bunk bed mattress a bit lumpy & bed creaked every time either occupant moved. Self closing doors noisy. Otherwise, good facilities although I didn't use many of them. I don't like swish hotels with air con & swanky prices so this works for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay here - the hostel is clean and the location is good (less than ten minutes walk from the free tram zone). There is a bar but even when it was busy I couldn't hear it from my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very convenient we are a short walk into the CBD. Bar334 (our hostel bar) is a great place to meet new people, enjoy music and socialise. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2016
7.7

Been here many times as it is roomy and no 10 people in one room. Close to most places and easy to get to. Will be back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Thank-you Urban Melbourne - we had a fantastic stay recently and will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.3

Always have a good stay at United, awesome location, but did lose my food in the fridge ?? :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are delighted to have had you stay with us at Urban Central. Our location is great and not far from many of Melbourne's fantastic attractions such as Crown Casino, the Convention centre, The south Melbourne market etc. It is very unfortunate that your food went missing. We have labels for guests to use to identify their own groceries. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.