X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Central Reviews

334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1536 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Safe and well located. Poor atmosphere, hard to meet other travelers. Majority of people who stay here, live at the hostel as it is quite expensive to live in Melbourne. Look at other hostels for a better atmosphere!


66%

OK hostel, just poor location.


86%

Satisfy with the service and facilities provided , recommend this hostel =)


60%

I arrived at urban central at 7am after travelling an 8hour bus journey, I politely asked if It would be possible to check in early but was told I couldn't. Staff we're very unhelpful I was hardly aknowleged in the 7 hours I was waiting, only to find out the room I was allocated, had more than one spare bed for the past two days previous!! The staff are very miserable and not very approachable! Very clicky, and strange atmosphere. Other than that very clean.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hotel....

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Would stay again.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms need more power points. These days everybody has a mobile phone and quite possibly an iPad or similar, and these need to be able to be recharged, usually overnight. The doonas on the beds are a bit small for a person 6 foot tall. The bathrooms were ok but lacked warm water. The constant beeping noise every minute telling you you have x minutes of hot water left, is rather annoying. I was also very put off by the number of people smoking outside the hostel on the footpath.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We apologise that some aspects of your stay here did not meet you expectations. Every guest gets their own locker in the room which is equipped with a powerpoint inside. Additional powerpoints can be found in our study and dining area. We apologise if you were not informed of this or if this did not meet your needs. We have timers in the shower to restrict water usage. We hope to welcome you back soon again if you wish to visit us again.

91%

Great hostel and great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review of your recent stay! Your feedback will be passed on to our friendly staff members. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

86%

It was great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you back at Urban Central soon again. Happy Travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

89%

very central hostel with great staff!! got an upgrade with was amazing! can really recommed this place! the kitchen was clean and the rooms as well! had a good time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It is great to receive such positive feedback. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here. Our friendly staff hope to see you soon in the near future. Happy travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

100%

Everything was great! The beds were really nice and it was great to be able to walk out the door and straight to a tram stop. The staff were happy and helpful which was also wonderful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

43%

The straff was very rude and not really interested in any issues. I had a room without any window which i think should be less expensiv. But there was no discussion possible. The kitchen was quiet good. But this is the best i can say. Even the straff in the bar was enerved from their jobs. I would not go there any more

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been noted and will be passed on to the relevant departments. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory stay if you wish to visit us again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

89%

It,s new, it,s big, it ticks all the boxes, stayed an extra 2 nights as had really good size 4bed share with ensuite, but had to change room for the last nite and wasn't,t so good, but still ok! The plus is that they have staff on duty to clean up around the kitchen, which, is very big with heaps of storage, and dining area, breakfast standard,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with our facilities and services. We hope to see you again soon! Happy travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

57%

1 - Timers in showers? Cone on! I don't think they have those even in jail! 2 - Video library is full of VHS tapes of movies from the '90s. I feel like I have gone back in time 3 - The study room is very poorly located. There's constant movement there. There are no chairs or tables in the room. 4 - The lockers' rings are small, and the locks sold in reception are so small, they can be cracked by a screw driver.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. Urban Central aims to be environmental friendly and sustainable, therefore we have timers in the showers to reduce unnecessary water usage. We regret to hear you were not fond of the VHS movies, however, we believe they bring great entertainment to our guests. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to offering you a more satisfactory expereince if you choos to visit us again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

100%

Great place to stay. Staff are friendly and helpful great facilities. Would definitely stay again.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for you positive review! It seems like you enjoyed your stay here, and we are so happy to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. Thank you for choosing to stay at Urban Central we hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

94%

the staff were lovely and helpful, the rooms comfortable and safe, A great choice for people staying in melbourne to just soak it in :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Urban Central. Hope to see you again soon. Happy travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

71%

This hostel has everything you need, although due to the number of guests it does feel a little bit like a machine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to read that we provided you with everything you required during your stay here. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

83%

Clean, big room,s locker!, you get your own towel for free for the time you stay at urban, till the last minute you can ask for new brad or butter etc for the free breakfast!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are please to hear such positive feedback from you. We're committed to providing excellent facilites for our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed you stay. Our free breakfast is a great way to start your day, and we a pleased to hear you enjoyed it. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

94%

Easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far in Oz and I've stayed in quite a few! Can't go wrong for the price and only a 4 bed dorm which were clean and all the bathroom facilities were clean too. Feel like I've been spoilt staying here and now travelling again to others! Kitchen area was also the best yet, being clean and having everything you could need. Staff were very friendly and the cheap bar downstairs is a great way to meet people. Loved my stay here and would definely come back!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We're committed to providing excellent facilities and services to our guests and are happy to hear your positive response. Thank you for choosing to stay at Urban Central, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

94%

Great stay. Awesome staff that were ver helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful! Happy travels!

« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback