X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Urban Central Reviews

334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1679 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Friendly staff. Great location

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! South Melbourne is a wonderful part of Melbourne and a nice stroll or short tram rise into the city centre. We are looking forward to having you stay with us in the near future! Kind regards, The team at urban central

91%

Really great place to stay on a budget..... Is walking distance to centre and shopping .... Staff so helpful and has travel deck to arrange any tours or trips you wish to take!!! Was really clean .. rooms lovely and beds very comfy recommend it and would defo stay again

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff are full of knowledge and love guiding and informing our guests about what is happening in and around Melbourne. Paul, Mary and Clinton at the travel desk are a wealth of knowledge offering experiences at competitive prices all over Australia. We look forward to having you stay in the near future. Kind regards, The team at urban central

60%

Like many hostels of its size, Urban Central has that sanitised feel with little personality. The room was comfortable enough, and whilst it was close enough to the centre of Melbourne, only stay here if you have no real alternative

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We are glad that you found the room comfortable we do our utmost assure this to you and all our guests. We also think that our location is close to the city. A beautiful walk along south bank or a short tram ride away. We like to think that with our amazing staff and fabulous bar (whose activities change daily) that we are loaded with personality. Look forward to having you stay again! Kind regards, The team at urban central

86%

I stayed in 3 hostels in this trip and this is the best one. Glad this is the first place I stayed at because they give you maps of the city and give you ideas on things to do. Lockers in the room is great peace of mind - other hostels I stayed at had no lockers. Was only in the hostel about 5-6 hrs per night to sleep - but my sleep here was comfortable. Clean Hostel. Great Location. Will stay here again next time in Melbourne.


80%

Really nice hostel. Extremely clean. The kitchen is great! But like every hostel in Oz, it's over priced! Plus they charge for WiFi which is crazy....it's the 21st century guys! But as far as Aussie hostels go, this one is good


97%

Awesome hostel,great location,free breakfast with cereals milk,toast,jam and free coffee and tea!!big kitchen opened until midnight,good matress,mcdonald in front,top!!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a Fabulous review from an amazing guest! We love being able to offer free things to our guests! It is great to be able to use the kitchen pretty much anytime you want to. Our mattresses are updated to ensure our guests have the best sleep possible! Looking forward to welcoming you again, The team at urban central

94%

The Trivia Night was so much fun! Such a great idea - I've stayed in a lot of hostels and have never come across a hostel trivia night before. We were staying in the hostel as we had just moved to Melbourne and were waiting for our flat to be available so we weren't even intending to get involved with the social side of hostel life - we popped down for a drink and got chatting to Eugene and ended up staying in the bar until 1am. Great atmosphere and Dave is hilarious :)

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • hannahsuzanne
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this wonderful review! The quiz is always a fabulous night ! We also think that our bar staff are amazing! Dave is a very funny man and Eugene is lovely too! Hope to you guys again for a drink in the bar! Regards, The team at urban central

66%

It's sooo nice to only share a room with three others. Great to have a free breakfast too. I can never find any mugs. I think people take them to their rooms or something. It's quite busy in the evenings when everyone is trying to cook at the same time. the bathrooms and showers are YUCK but - bring your thongs/handles/flip flops/pluggers or whatever. And they get a bit smelly as there are no windows for air circulation. Apart from that pretty good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, Only sharing with 3 others and a free breakfast is always a great bonus! We have since bought more stock and keep a track each week of our kitchen stock, replenishing items that we are low on. As cleanliness is high priority to us if we don’t meet your standards then please always inform reception who will endeavor to rectify this. Hope to see you again in the future, The team at urban central

83%

Free cereal in the morning and free pasta

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review! How great is free stuff?! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The team at urban central

77%

Everything was good apart from the beds! 409 needs new beds!! Springs stick out! The free breakfast in the morning is really handy as well.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have since changed the mattresses in the room and thank you for this feedback as we want make all of our guests and your stay as comfortable as possible! Being able to supply a great start in the morning is vital to get you ready for a day of exploring the wonders of Melbourne. Kind regards, The Team at urban central

60%

35$ per night and no free wifi is a bit of a let down especially since many of the people staying there are travellers needing wifi to fix future travel plans. Room was quite dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do offer internet for a minimum of $2.9 with Global gossip. We have found that by using this company our wifi is faster and seamless all over the hostel. I can assure you that we have a very high standard in cleanliness. Please let reception know next time about any concerns regarding the standard of our rooms because we don’t settle for anything less than perfect. Looking forward to having your stay with us again, Kind regards, The team at urban central

74%

Very clean, decent hostel. Thought it was expensive for what it was. Was excited to see the air conditioner, but sad when it wasn't working. Free breakfast was nice and the kitchen was always tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your response. We enjoy being able to offer extras like our free breakfast, tea, coffee rice and pasta to our guests! Our air conditioners have since been replaced and are working better than ever. We hope to have you stay with us in the near future. Kind regards, The team at urban central

74%

Felt a lot more like a hotel than a hostel, which was a nice change of pace. My partner and I had a private room with double bed and ensuite at $100/night. It came with a mounted TV, big closet, towels and tea/coffee. Swipe card access at front doors, elevators and room so security was good. Atmosphere and staff weren't as nice as they are in smaller hostels, but no real complaints to be made. They had lots of discount cards free for the taking which was a big plus. Check out was easy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We take pride in being able to offer luxury facilities in our private rooms and do our utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Kind regards, The urban central team

89%

Good hostel, wish I could have stayed longer than one night. Only criticisms are that the dorm probably needed a bit of vacuuming and one of the friendly and well-meaning receptionists gave us duff directions to the tram stop to get down to St Kilda, which made us late to pick up a rental car.


94%

Lovely hostel! Clean, staff are so nice! Bar downstairs is handy and have loads of game nights and promos on! Lovely staff there 2! They have a study area computers kitchen everything you need under one roof!! Would definitely stay again! Short walk to city or jump on a tram! 10/15min walk! Loads of restaurants just 5mins away so no need to go to the city either.. Quiet at night not much noise either which is a plus! And great deals downstairs for tourist attractions! Loved our stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this outstanding review. Dave (our bar manager) is amazing at organising different and fun events in the bar! We also think that our location is top notch! We are only a few minutes away from the lovely south bank and other attractions. Looking forward to having you stay with us again! Kind regards, The team at urban central

100%

Great stay as always. Thank you!


77%

Lots of long-termers here so hard to make friends and some work nights at the local casino so expect to have some disturbed sleep when they come in at 3am if you're unlucky enough to be put in one of those rooms. Hostel is definitely clean, toilet and shower facilities are good too and there are enough of them. Great location, walking distance to everywhere and good tram connections. Bed was a little lumpy and uncomfortable but would stay again. Laundry was cheapest I've seen so far!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We like to make everyone’s stay here at urban an unforgettable one. We allocate guests into rooms as best we can. However please just talk to our friendly reception staff. They will go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. We agree that our location is pretty fabulous, a few minutes to food, banks, phones shops and a short and lovely walk into the CBD! Hope to have you stay with us again soon. The team at urban central

94%

Probably the best hostel i've ever stayed in. Clean, well organized, breakfast included, pasta and Rice available for free, comfortable new room. It costs a little bit more than other hostels in the city but it is worth it!


83%

This hostel is a bit of a walk from the main central station and city attractions. The place was clean, rooms spacious with large lockers available. Kitchen was not so big for the number of people staying there. Staff was very helpful and friendly.


74%

The hostel is so big and yet I found it hard to meet people. The bar was empty every night (they should really put the prices down) and loads of people already knew each other when I got there... The facilities are very nice; the free breakfast is not big and it's only 7.30-9.00 but the free pasta and rice and coffe and tea (24/7) are very nice and useful when you're travelling alone. It's like 15 mins away from these cool outlets; and you can walk pretty much every where from it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We also think we are in a very accessible location. The South Melbourne market and crown casino are only a 5 minute walk away. The CBD is a 5 minute tram ride away or a lovely walk along the Yarra River. Our bar has a happy hour and drink specials every day. As well as trivia, meet and greet, pool comp and many more activities. Hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, The team at urban central

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback