Hostelworld.com

Urban Central

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
80% 2022
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • camartin878191
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

The only problem I had was with cold showers in the morning. Not sure what was happening with the hot water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.6

First, WiFi is not free although this is a common point in Australia. Use the official visitors' map to find WiFi. Second I got stuck jnside the emergency staircase for 10 minutes because it locks from the inside (!). I had to use the ground exit activating the fire alarm & I had to explain my actions to the staff. Free breakfast is only toast & cereal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
6.0

Clean room, but lousy breakfast, little choice, no fruit. Not value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
8.6

Very clean. Really big kitchen. Plenty of free breakfast. Friendly staff. Almost a bit like a hotel since it has 4 or so floors

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed offering you our high level of service. Our staff really enjoy helping our guests with any questions or queries that they may have as well as providing great advise on things to do and see during you time here in Melbourne. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

12th Apr 2016
8.3

For me this hostel felt too big & difficult to meet new people. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Hostel is about 10mins walk from the river but to get to the main centre is 20-30minutes. I stayed a second time in Melbourne and for the same money was slap-bang in the centre so I guess it depends what you're after. There was a locker big enough for both day pack and big backpack, clean bathrooms etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
6.0

Bedrooms are fine - comfy beds and lockers in the rooms. Atmosphere is pretty average - not a bad thing if you fancy a good sleep etc however. Toilets and showers are outright just poor - lots of the toilet paper holders are stuck to the wall, just by celotape. The showers run warm about 20% of the time, and the cleaning is nowhere near as regular as other hostels. Location is about 10 mins from central which is good, but right next to main road so quite noisy. Staff vary in usefulness!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are delighted that you found our facilities comfortable. Our toilets and showers are cleaned everyday at least 3 times on each level. I apologise for the state of our toilet roll holders but i am pleased to inform you that they have since been replaced with brand new ones. The showers during busy times can take a bit to warm up (as is the case with most hot water systems). However typically they function well. I will also discuss this with maintenance. Our location is very handy. We are a short walk into the CBD, around the corner from Crown Casino and many other attractions. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
6.6

Called in various times to confirm parking for our car were told parking is 10$ extra a night and car park full, offered alternative parking lot round the corner at 11$ a day turned out to be 13$ per 12 hours which is over double. Showers and bathrooms clean, bar and communal area downstairs seemed good. Close to cbd. Staff rude and misinformed. Stayed 1 night instead of original 4. Floors in bedroom sticky. Basically if you have a car it's a no no.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, I sincerely apologise that you felt our staff were rude, this is extremely uncharacteristic and not a part of our culture here at Urban. We want all guests to feel welcomed and excited about staying here and I once again apologise that you felt anything but this during your stay. We do offer parking for $10. It is first come, first serve, we only have 4 spaces that we sell. We have very high standards of service and ensure all areas are clean for our guests. I will be investigating the carpet in your room. We hope that you will come and stay with us again so we can show you how much we appreciate you and all of our guests. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Amazing staff! Had about about 5/6 nights here on and off nights whilst staying in other places throughout my longer stay in Melbourne ! real good place to stay, discounts in maccas & sky deck / free towells , good free breakfast ! Plug socket / charger per person in locker is a great idea, would have been perfect if could have been slightly closer to bed to charge overnight

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have had you stay here with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much that you come back again and again! We also think that we offer great value for money by having discounts with local restaurants, free breakfast, tea, coffee, rice and pasta. As well as a free BBQ once a week. We have the plugs in the locker so that your items can be locked away safely to charge during the day or at night. Looking forward to welcoming you again, Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.3

This place just seemed to be full of people living permanently, really bad atmosphere. Didn't feel welcome at all by anyone. Not too far from the coach station and very easy to get into the main part of Melbourne as well as surrounding areas. Good thing to have free tea/coffee/pasta/rice and a simple breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, I sincerely apologise and am saddened that you didn't feel welcomed upon your arrival at Urban Central. This is extremely uncharacteristic of our staff as we want all guests to feel excited and that they are looked after during their stay. We are located in a great part of Melbourne and enjoy being around the corner from Crown casino, near the South Melbourne market and many other attractions. We also enjoy being great value for money and include a free BBQ once a week as well as free breakfast, rice, pasta, tea and coffee. We hope you will stay here again and show you how much we appreciate you and all of our guests. Kindest of regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.6

Would definitely stay here again! Amazing location, friendly staff and the beds are pretty comfy. Only downside was on certain levels the showers barely worked but then on others they worked perfectly, so ask around for the floor with the best showers (level 4!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We also think our staff are great and always willing to assist guests with any questions or queries that they may have. If the showers have been used a lot then it can take a little bit longer for the water to warm up (like all hot water systems). However they run very efficiently. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.