Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place to stay!!! More spaces than other hostels!!! Clean! Receptionists are very friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Stayed in many hostels over the last 20 years and this is the best value for a city hostel. So impressed with staff, cleanliness, spacious dorm, comfy bed, doona supplied which was so white and fresh. Great to now have somewhere to stay on my visits to melbourne. Will definitely recommend to friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the high level of cleanliness and service that we offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
9.1

Rooms were spacious and clean with basic facilities. Shared bathrooms were cleaned regularly and all bedroom doors were only accessible with suitable keycards so security was fine with lockers in room also. Only downfall was being woken up by a staff member letting someone into the room at 3:50am and switching the light on resulting in waking the room up. The woman then proceeded to have a loud conversation on the phone until 5am. Apart from this, all the people i met were friendly and welcoming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Our large dormitory rooms sleep only four people so guests have more room. Our lockers with the internal power points are handy for charging personal devices.We offer a 24 hr check-in and it is always disappointing when other guests are not considerate to others they are sharing a room with. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon. The Urban Central Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.3

Clean and quiet and away from the noise of the CBD. One of the better hostels I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Our Southbank location is a great area in Melbourne, it’s very easy to get around using trams or even walking a short distance to almost everywhere. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team from Urban Central

  • adornista
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.1

Great service! The staff was really the best I had in Australia :) The place is nice and although it's not really in the city center, the stretch is worth it! I totally recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy offering our guests great value for money by providing free rice, pasta, tea and coffee. I have passed on and congratulated our staff for their efforts in providing great customer service. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • australiajulia4631
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
3.7

Hardly any bathrooms open, bed dirty, dirty linen from previous person left on floor, kitchen not fully open and tiny, staff too interested in chatting at front desk.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves with our high levels of cleanliness and we clean the bathrooms twice daily. Due to this we may have limited showers at certain times of the day, however we do have bathrooms on four floors. We also clean our rooms daily and unfortunately if a guests checks out late, the housekeeping department may have not have been available to remove the linen before you checked in. However we do apologise that the sheets were not taken away prior to you entering your room. Our kitchen is open from 6 am until 12 am and which allows our guests plenty of time to prep and cook their food. We hope that you do come back and stay with us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
7.4

We had 4 people in our room, and 3 had very cool showers, i however, had a cold one. I didnt enjoy that very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your review and rating our staff, value for money and security so highly. We apologise that you had cool showers in your bathroom, however if you had let us know we would have tried resolve the problem promptly. We do hope you do stay with again and many thanks again for you feedback. The Urban Central Team

24th Jun 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel and great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our high level of customer service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team from Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.0

Very simple. Quite central and fairly easy to walk everywhere or a cheap taxi ride. Clean and quite. I was upgraded to a family room. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I needed a cheap place to sleep for a night without any frills.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to review our property. As you mentioned Urban Central is in a great location, short stroll to the Crown Casino, Melbourne Convention Centre and Melbourne's many attractions. With public transport on our doorstep it makes getting around Melbourne very easy. We are pleased you enjoyed your upgrade to a family room, they are very spacious. We look forward to you staying with us again. The Urban Central Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
9.7

Great location, next to the Tram stop. The tram covers most parts of the city for free what is awesome ! Room and bathroom was really clean and the staff friendly. For the price I paid, the hostel lived up my expectations .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to review our property. With public transport on our doorstep it really does makes getting around Melbourne very easy. Thank you for complimenting our reception and housekeeping team, we take pride with our customer service and our high level of cleanliness. Hope you will stay with us again. The Urban Central Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.