X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Urban Central Reviews

334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1546 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

this is a good hostel, the facilities like the kitchen are good and as a backpacker you can get a special 10 dollar discount at the local gym which I loved. But I felt the atmosphere was poor, it's so big you can't really get talking to orher travellers and there are a lot of long terms. The wifi is incredibly expensive, go to MACCYS over the road or starbs. There is a really good community like the dinners prepared by Mary but it doesn't stretch beyond tht. Abit indifferent to this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, I am glad you liked the once of many discounts we can get our guests whilst they are visiting Melbourne! Yes Mary’s cooking is legendary! We have noted your comments in regards to Wi-Fi and looking into the possibility of providing it for free so watch this space!

91%

Located near CBD. Quite noisy at the night. I would expect to have free wifi.


86%

Good breakfest, nice friend, sleeo well, fell comfortabl. I'll recommend my friend to stay there :)

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review, its great you felt comfortable and enjoyed our great breakfast! Happy travels and hope to see you again soon!

83%

The hostel is located near city central is convenient to travel any part ofMelbourne. Its clean and heigenic,, staff is good and co-operative. Nice kitchen and bar. Dining section need improvement. Coomon bathrooms and good but need regular inspection and cleaning.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Arrived early at seven o clock in the morning and check in time wasn't until two. The staff were hugely helpful in allowing me deposit my luggage in the storage room for the seven hours which was an enormous help. Full marks here. Room was very comfortable and kitchen spotless. Adjoining bar also helpful for meeting locals and socialising. If ever I was in Melbourne again wouldn't hesitate to stay here and would recommend anyone visiting Oz's finest city to do likewise. Top marks all round!


74%

Safe and well located. Poor atmosphere, hard to meet other travelers. Majority of people who stay here, live at the hostel as it is quite expensive to live in Melbourne. Look at other hostels for a better atmosphere!


66%

OK hostel, just poor location.


86%

Satisfy with the service and facilities provided , recommend this hostel =)


60%

I arrived at urban central at 7am after travelling an 8hour bus journey, I politely asked if It would be possible to check in early but was told I couldn't. Staff we're very unhelpful I was hardly aknowleged in the 7 hours I was waiting, only to find out the room I was allocated, had more than one spare bed for the past two days previous!! The staff are very miserable and not very approachable! Very clicky, and strange atmosphere. Other than that very clean.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hotel....

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Would stay again.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms need more power points. These days everybody has a mobile phone and quite possibly an iPad or similar, and these need to be able to be recharged, usually overnight. The doonas on the beds are a bit small for a person 6 foot tall. The bathrooms were ok but lacked warm water. The constant beeping noise every minute telling you you have x minutes of hot water left, is rather annoying. I was also very put off by the number of people smoking outside the hostel on the footpath.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We apologise that some aspects of your stay here did not meet you expectations. Every guest gets their own locker in the room which is equipped with a powerpoint inside. Additional powerpoints can be found in our study and dining area. We apologise if you were not informed of this or if this did not meet your needs. We have timers in the shower to restrict water usage. We hope to welcome you back soon again if you wish to visit us again.

91%

Great hostel and great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review of your recent stay! Your feedback will be passed on to our friendly staff members. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

86%

It was great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you back at Urban Central soon again. Happy Travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

89%

very central hostel with great staff!! got an upgrade with was amazing! can really recommed this place! the kitchen was clean and the rooms as well! had a good time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It is great to receive such positive feedback. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here. Our friendly staff hope to see you soon in the near future. Happy travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

100%

Everything was great! The beds were really nice and it was great to be able to walk out the door and straight to a tram stop. The staff were happy and helpful which was also wonderful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

43%

The straff was very rude and not really interested in any issues. I had a room without any window which i think should be less expensiv. But there was no discussion possible. The kitchen was quiet good. But this is the best i can say. Even the straff in the bar was enerved from their jobs. I would not go there any more

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been noted and will be passed on to the relevant departments. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory stay if you wish to visit us again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

89%

It,s new, it,s big, it ticks all the boxes, stayed an extra 2 nights as had really good size 4bed share with ensuite, but had to change room for the last nite and wasn't,t so good, but still ok! The plus is that they have staff on duty to clean up around the kitchen, which, is very big with heaps of storage, and dining area, breakfast standard,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with our facilities and services. We hope to see you again soon! Happy travels! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

57%

1 - Timers in showers? Cone on! I don't think they have those even in jail! 2 - Video library is full of VHS tapes of movies from the '90s. I feel like I have gone back in time 3 - The study room is very poorly located. There's constant movement there. There are no chairs or tables in the room. 4 - The lockers' rings are small, and the locks sold in reception are so small, they can be cracked by a screw driver.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. Urban Central aims to be environmental friendly and sustainable, therefore we have timers in the showers to reduce unnecessary water usage. We regret to hear you were not fond of the VHS movies, however, we believe they bring great entertainment to our guests. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to offering you a more satisfactory expereince if you choos to visit us again. Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

100%

Great place to stay. Staff are friendly and helpful great facilities. Would definitely stay again.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for you positive review! It seems like you enjoyed your stay here, and we are so happy to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. Thank you for choosing to stay at Urban Central we hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Team at Urban Central

« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback