Hostelworld.com

Urban Central

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,058 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,058 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Urban Central Located at 334 City Road Southbank, , Melbourne.
Urban Central
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3006 334 City Road Southbank
80% 2058
-37.8278702 144.9577331
Urban Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.3

Always have a good stay at United, awesome location, but did lose my food in the fridge ?? :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.0

Very comfortable stay and I would happily stay again, beds are comfy, facilities are good. Only a short walk if you want to avoid spending on the tram and the staff are very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, It was our pleasure to have had you stay here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our high standards of service and comfort during your stay. Our helpful staff enjoy answering questions, assisting with directions and ensuring you enjoy your time here in Melbourne. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central.

17th May 2016
8.6

Massive hostel. But all clean. Kitchen is always very busy. Most guests are long term. Lack of real common area makes it not so easy to meet new people. In general it's good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We pride ourselves on cleanliness ensuring that our high standards are maintained and enjoy being great value for money by offering free breakfast, rice, pasta, tea and coffee. Our bar is a great place to meet new people, they even have fun events on every night like our famous Trivia night for guests to get involved and socialise. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2016
6.0

Stayed over there for a week. The 2 BIGGEST problems there were the door locks to every room and hot water for shower. All locks to bedrooms are really noisy when these are closed. I always woke up many times by the noise of door closing sound while sleeping at nights. Secondly, the hot water at bathroom has bad functioning. Only one shower can have hot water but the rests must wait till it's turned off. Except for these two major problems, I thinks it can be recommended to other friends though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The doors to our rooms are fire doors and automatically close and lock. This is part of occupational health and safety to protect our guests and also ensure all rooms are secure. We have recently had our hot water system repaired however when a lot of people are showering at the same time the water will need a moment to warm up again. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.0

A good central location, walking distance to both MCG and Etihad Stadium.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. Our location is very unique and close to many attractions. You are able to walk to both Stadiums which makes us a great place for AFL supporters and near AAMI park for our soccer fans! Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban central

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff were really nice and had a great time at the hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. Our staff were delighted to have been able to make your stay and time in Melbourne memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban central

28th Apr 2016
9.7

Very clean and friendly hostel. Rooms worth the money and the kitchen facilities are amazing. Will definitely be staying again when I come back to Melbourne.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
7.1

Rooms are big enough, showers satisfying, good staff, big kitchen.ALthough they have big bar space common area, socialarea is almost not existing. It is worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you review. It was our pleasure to offer you our high level of service and facilities during your stay. We have daily events in the bar to create a fun and social environment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Despite being outside of the Free Tram Zone, I highly recommend staying at Urban Central. It was very quiet, the bathrooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. They provide free breakfast of cereal, toast, and jams. The kitchen is a bit small otherwise and it doesn't seem like much of a party hostel which was perfect for what we were looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

The staff at this hostel are very, very helpful. You're only a 10-minute walk into the city centre and the hostel was clean and comfortable. We'd definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.