Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
4.3

If you are looking for a place that is inexpensive, and close proximity to the Melbourne Convention Center, this may be the place for you. It is quite far from the city center and other hostel accommodations in the area, and the rooms were quite dingy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.4

Location is good and the staff are super helpful and friendly. My room was big with 4 beds and a large en suite. The only issue I had was money; it's a rather pricey hostel. After 4 nights, I managed to find a house to move into, but couldn't move in until the following Saturday. While I was able to keep my room and check in for another 5 nights, it came to $240; more expensive than a house! You also have to pay for wifi, so actually it was more like $260 for 5 nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2017
9.1

This hostel was close to the CBD and southern cross station. Rooms were spacious and clean! I would return to this hostel! The ensuite room had a un-enclosed shower that would get the whole bathroom wet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

The Hostel was clean, staff were friendly and there were only four to a dorm, which was nice. No major complaints about the hostel. However, Southbank isn't an ideal location for getting around (it's a 15-20 min walk to either Flinders St/Southern Cross Station), particularly if you want to explore the Northern Suburbs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.0

Very clean hostel and a good place to sleep as dorms are only 4 beds but not a very social hostel and definitely not a party hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Feb 2017
7.7

Good Hostel. Rooms and Bathrooms were very clean. There's only an hour of Wifi included per day though, and it is very slow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

Stayed 3 nights, rooms were quite spacious and you each get a big locker which has a plug in which is good but means you can't really charge your phone overnight if you also use it as your alarm but that's only minor. Good cooking facilities and free pasta is a bonus. Not a far walk onto the river and into town which is good. Generally clean and felt secure. There was always free showers and toilets which was good and helpful advice available for day trips etc. Would recommend :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

I'm in my mid 30s and hadn't stayed in a hostel for many years. I was so surprised at how great this place was. Clean, respectful people, and mostly incredible kind and helpful staff. I loved my stay. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
6.3

The free breakfast and the free wifi is a lie. U get free coffee and tea but that's about it sometimes you get toast but nothing more. And for 1day wifi you have to pay 4$. If you need it just to crash for one night or two it's alright but otherwise i wouldnt recommend it. The fridges are always packed and if you don't have a fridge bag your stuff is gonna get lost even if you marked it with name and room number.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.4

Decent hostel with a great location, just outside the CBD of Melbourne & a short walk to the nearest free tram zone stop. Free rice+pasta, tea+coffee is fantastic. The kitchen was nice&big with lots of utensils &space, got quite busy around meal times. Room was clean, bar downstairs was cool, overall great place. Negatives:only 1hr free wifi a day is a bit annoying, large hostel so a lot of people which makes the kitchen very busy, also a lot of people there are long terms so can be unfriendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.