X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Urban Hideaway Guesthouse Reviews

581 Richards Street, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
308 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My friend and I were in town for a few concerts and needed a place to stay. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very awesome German girl named Mira, who was more than happy to show me around while Patrick was running errands. Throughout the stay Patrick was very helpful, showing and telling us different places to check out. He even bought pizza for all the guests! Made some great friends here as well that inspired me to travel the world. I wouldn't think twice about staying here again! A+

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent above and beyond service from Patrick the host. We also enjoyed the friendly cats.


100%

Urban Hideaway was a great place to stay in Vancouver. Patrick was a great resource, the breakfast food choices were plentiful, and the other guests were good company. Would definitely suggest it as a place to stay for friends.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Super helpful, friendly and fun. Thank you!

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Patrick provides a warm, welcoming and friendly environment and very comfortable bed. A great place to stay will make the effort to visit again in the future.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved our stay- quality in every way! Great recommendations from Patrick, fantastic DVD collection and friendly cats.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Only stayed one night, one of the best hostel I have stayed in Vancouver, definitely come again!


91%

Thanks for interesting owner Patrick and friendly staff Marketa, I had really relaxing time here. It's good atmosphere to know new people. I felt as if i had home there!

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Patrick at Urban Hideaway was fantastic. He made us feel very welcome right from the start. It felt as though we were staying with friends . He even invited us back to share Christmas dinner with his family and a few other guests after we had checked out.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was in an absolutely wonderful location. Finding it was a bit hard, the hideaway part being very accurate. The owner upgraded us to the View Room for free because it was open for the evening and it was our first experience in the hostel setting. The amenities were very nice, the kitchen and bathrooms very clean and well stocked, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

perfect centrally located, friendly stuff, cozy home & good vibes. Thanks!

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Not a traditional hostel because of the small number of rooms. More like a B and B. Great personalised service. Patrick is very friendly. The location is excellent and the cook your own breakfasts will leave you full.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Urban Hideaway provided the perfect combination between a guest house and a hostel, with all the charm and comfort of a historic guest house with the freedom and social life of a hostel. We stayed for a week while we organised equipment and transport for our trip east. The hostel manager Patrick was full of helpful advice on all aspects, but more importantly he made great breakfast muffins! We also really appreciated him staying up to let us in when our flight was delayed!


94%

Cosy guesthouse, complete with resident cats. Our hosts Patrick and Shelly were full of great ideas for exploring Vancouver and made us feel at home. Downtown location is v convenient, especially for Gastown's nightlife. Patio area perfect for a donut and coffee on a sunny day. Only downside was no natural light in the budget room - this can't be fixed due to the building next door, but maybe the listing could make this clear. Not that we spent much time in the room anyway!


89%

Very pleased with our stay at Urban Hideaway. Location is fantastic and the view from the terrace towards the cathedral is superb. We had View Room which is spacious and well proportioned. Wifi was a bit iffy but hey, your on holiday and one of us could always get something. One of the cats took a distinct liking to the chair in the sun in our room. the whole setup is refreshingly different and it works. Thanx to our hosts Patrick and Shelley.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We really enjoyed our stay at Urban Hideaway. Patrick and Shelley are wonderful hosts. They had great recommendations for activities and places to eat which really added to our experience of Vancouver. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable! We couldn't recommend it enough!


100%

I can really recommend this hostel. Personal approach and advice in visiting Vancouver. Small, but comfy breakfast and kitchen area. Spacious room.


100%

We travelled for five weeks and found the best place to stay right in the end: the Urban Hideaway Guesthouse feels like a home away from home. Patrick is incredibly friendly, helpful and draws the best maps of Vancouver. He really knows what traveller need and has fantastic recommendations for things to do or good places to grab a bite. Plus: The free breakfast that you can enjoy on the terrace outside is just fabulous (and so are the muffins Patrick made one morning for all guests).

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Vancouver Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback