X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Urban Hideaway Guesthouse Reviews

581 Richards Street, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
260 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

make sure you inform people that the cats do go up into the area guest rooms are located on. include more pictures of what the rooms look like so people can see what they will be getting for their money. 8 am breakfast is not ideal. Shoes are also required not to be worn at all, a bit hard when you are taking suite cases up and down stairs with no assitance when you have just arrived and the staff had no record of your booking and you were locked out with no way to contact staff.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were friendly and extremely welcoming. Great location for train stations and canada place. Clean and comfortable.


91%

Veru friendly stay; thanks for all.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse is a really special place, a true home away from home. Eva and Ken were perfect hosts and we had a great time staying there for two nights. Highly recommended!


66%

I think you should let every one know that you have all the stairs to climb,it is ok for the young ,but not for every one over 55 years.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

As previous reviewers mentioned, the kitchen/common area is locked 10pm-8am, which was not at all clear until the door is locked, and not at all convenient. Breakfast is not included (it is $10 extra)--why not just say that instead of listing "breakfast included" in the facilities and the ambiguous "free breakfast kitchen" in the description? If in the dorm room ("deluxe 4-bed private"), stay away from the top bunk if you do not like being shaken awake at night by restless people below you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Breakfast is included with all Private Rooms.. the Deluxe 4 Bed Private room is also, as the name says, a private room and so, yes breakfast is included there for free too. We currently have no shared dorm beds here at Hostel World, so every room bookable here includes breakfast at no additional charge.

94%

lovely place in good location, welcoming staff. all in all a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere


94%

Very Central. Nice people Good value


94%

Great place! I loved the breakfast with home made jam and home baked sourdough bread. Wonderful, I would definitely recommend it!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Cats running around the house Breakfast costs another 10 Dollars (in other hostels like the samesun it is included Only three showers for the whole hostel no atmosphere

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very cosy and familar atmosphere, very nice house (inside, from outside it looks quite usual)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommend this great place, such a little gem! Friendly hosts, great coffee, green escape on the terrace to hang out in. Wish I could have stayed longer!


71%

Unique and quirky place to stay with homely yet atmospheric feeling. Room looking out on to breeze block wall not ideal but ok for one night. Liked the roof terrace and plants thereon.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great time at the Urban Hideaway Guesthouse - the rooms were nice and the staff were lovely. The other customers were friendly and one gave me a few tips on where to go in Vancouver as this was my first time visiting. Would stay again.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Vancouver Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback