X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Holiday Lofts Reviews

2014 W Wabansia Ave, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
519 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It's a small hostel. It's suitable for a student like me. Everything is good if you don't expect a luxurious enjoy.

  • 11th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, staff courteous and knowledgeable of the area, location is great. Appreciate the many amenities.

  • 11th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Paper thin walls between rooms. You can hear absolutely EVERYTHING from next doors, laughing, coughing. You might as well stay in a dorm instead of a single/double room because you get to hear everything from your next doors anyway.


100%

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Everything was so clean and organized. The location is in a great artsy neighborhood. The staff was great. I can't think of one bad thing to say!

  • 8th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very pleasant stay. Nice staff and respectful guests.

  • 5th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

awesome!!

  • 3rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I was very pleased overall with Urban Holiday Lofts. The location was GREAT; however, you can hear everything between rooms, and it isn't very private at all.

  • 3rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

After visiting many hostels in Europe and in North America, I can honestly say this was truly the best! I´ll miss it in every city so on. And Monday Martini in Silver Cloud (20 steps from the hostel) made this experience even better. Thank you a lot!


91%

This was my first hostel experience, and I have to say that Urban Holiday was better than some hotels that I've stayed in! Wicker Park is a fantastic neighborhood, the staff was wonderful, the room was nice, there was never a wait for the bathroom, and the price was very reasonable. Truth be told, I was mistaken for a member of the staff and I saw if as a complement!

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Please make it more clear that local taxes will be added to the amount shown on the website. Maybe provide an estimate or something, make it a little more apparent that you may or may not be greeted with an additional $20 charge.


100%

It"s a very good neighbourhood in all respect: transportation, eating out or going out at night. The building is a late factory with nice spaces, especially the huge, sunny common room. I think the sound-proofing of the rooms is not among the place's strengths, but we were there in February so it wasn't a big problem.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The location of this hostel could not be better! It is located a ten minute walk from the Blue Line which connects you to the Downtown Loop, and it is the same distance to a variety of great bars, including one with $3 pints and $1 cheeseburgers with fries and another with great live music and others yet open until 5 am. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The facilities are nothing about which to brag but are certainly very clean, and the Ikea furniture is comfortable enough.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff (especially Avi) were very pleasent, the location was very convenient to get into the city, the neighborhood was nicely diverse. My only regret was that I rented a car at O'Hare, which I never needed because the L was so close, and my only suggestion is to make the breakfast open a bit earlier (we were typically up and gone by 8:00. We plan to stay there again the next time we are in Chicago.

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great Location, just off the Blue Line L Train. The staff is always wonderful. There are so many great restaurants and things to do in the area. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.

  • 1st Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A wonderful place to stay in a great neighborhood north of downtown. The staff are incredibly friendly, welcoming and are very knowledgeable about all that Chicago has to offer. Wicker Park is a great neighborhood with lots of great places to eat, drink and be merry or just chill out. The el stop is only about two blocks away, so handy to get the hostel and convenient for getting to downtown and the loop -- about a 20 minute ride on the el. A private room for 50 bucks in Chicago? Incredible!


97%

Very friendly staff. Comfortable. Windows were a teeny bit drafty. Thank you for everything.

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This Hostel is very well located and the room and facilities are clean. Also the breakfast is included!

  • 19th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, great staff, I can highly recommend it!

  • 18th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were fantastic and the location is great. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • 16th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was amazing! We were looking for a nice spot to chill in Chicago, and this neighborhood was perfect. The hostel was also über-cute, super clean, and the location was perfect. If you wanted to hang out downtown it would be great too, since the blue line is a short walk away, and the buses are easy to get to, too. They also have bikes for rent at the hostel, which I would definitely have taken advantage of if we would have been staying a bit longer. A+ hostel!

  • 8th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(316 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback