X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Oasis Reviews

5 W 31st Street, New York City, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
394 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The lift to to the hostel is unfortunately painfully slow, but nothing they can do about that. There was a strong emphasis on security, and an excellent location. The staff were pleasant, but a little short. I found the atmosphere fairly average, most of the people on level 10 were rarely there, and when there kept to themselves. Place was very clean, with people coming all the time to keep it that way. I wasn't too happy with the fee charged to pay via credit card as no mention of it prior.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place very central to everything you could want to see and do . Staff very helpful an polite . Could not fault it I,ve already ready recommended it to friends for there next trip . It

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay. Very central location. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathroom.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was perfect! The only tiny complaints we have are: there was a hot water pipe in the room that rattled and woke us up during the night. After the first few nights we learned to sleep through it. Also the bathrooms, although great and very clean, are positioned in the middle of the common area and have very very thin doors that do not block any sound. This can make for a slightly uncomfortable bathroom visit if there are other people around, especially because the hostel is so quiet.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We asked the staff where the Empire State Building was and they had no idea. Turns out it was 2 blocks away. I said good morning to a guest one morning and then was told to keep the noise down as other guests were sleeping-if I had been noisy that would have been fair enough but I wasn't. Next morning again early the receptionist and the cleaner were chatting and laughing loudly which was annoying given I was told off for saying one word! Everything else was absolutely excellent and I woulda

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback and sorry about the inconvenience you experienced. There must be some misunderstanding about the Empire State Building, our windows look onto it! Plus we have flyers on display of the ESB as well as many other sights. We have quiet time between 10PM-8AM and we ask everyone to be considerate to those who wish to retire early or sleep late. Guests are reminded of this rule only in case the noise level might be disturbing to others. Thank you for your understanding.

100%

Awesome place, very quiet, the staff was always willing to help and the location is excelent.


97%

This place is unreal. Booked it from the high ratings it has received and was not disappointed. Our flight was delayed and the staff went over and above to help us in checking in and making sure that we were comfortable. We were situated on the top floor, which had a skylight looking up at the Empire State Building. Amazing location, cleaned daily and excellent communal kitchen facilities. Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in NYC. Will definitely be back here!


97%

The best hostel I have ever stayed at. Cleaned daily and in a great location. Has a very scary lift though! Great staff, really helped me and my friend have a comfortable stay after some complications with travel arrangements. Thank you urban oasis!


83%

Great spot, cool space, walls on the thinner side, but otherwise great.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This doesn't consider as a hostel :) It feels more like a hotel. It was a pleasant stay and it was quiet. The staff was helpful. Definitely will stay again.

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place! Don't let the dodgy entrance and maybe the slowest elevator in the world scare you away! The rooms themselves are great, the staff is very helpful and the communal area is good. Definitely a great place to stay in Manhattan!


100%

My Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really impressed with Urban Oasis. Excellent facilities in the hostel - everything you need. Very Clean and well kept. Great Location just two blocks from Empire State Building. The price was excellent and many of our American friends couldn't believe we got a place for that price and with such quality!....Definitely recommend it for all types for travelers.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a lovely stay. So central, property was secure and clean. Staff were helpful. Lots of useful info and recommendations on display. Room was spacious and airy by New York standards. Would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very pleasant stay at Urban Oasis, we felt very safe and would come back if ever in NYC.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Felt like we had our own loft in Manhattan. Friendly and helpful staff, extremely clean, fantastic location. Strongly recommended!


94%

I recommend the urban oasis hostel! Friendliness, cleanliness, perfect location and superb quality / price make it a great place to rest after walking for hours most wonderful city on the planet.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really impressed with the room. We got the basic one, expecting a small double bed, but turned i out to be a king size! Really comfortable, and clean. Helpful staff, well organized. Only flaws would be squeaky floors and thin walls may make sleeping difficult if you have noisy neighbors, but we didn't have this problem. There can also be a little wait for the wash room in the morning.


97%

Great place to stay really cool. Very safe and secure and the staff were awesome.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great space to stay in New York, we felt like at home, the hostel is very tranquil and perfectly located. If we return to NY we definitely stay here again.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback