X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Oasis Reviews

5 W 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
421 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

My Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really impressed with Urban Oasis. Excellent facilities in the hostel - everything you need. Very Clean and well kept. Great Location just two blocks from Empire State Building. The price was excellent and many of our American friends couldn't believe we got a place for that price and with such quality!....Definitely recommend it for all types for travelers.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a lovely stay. So central, property was secure and clean. Staff were helpful. Lots of useful info and recommendations on display. Room was spacious and airy by New York standards. Would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a very pleasant stay at Urban Oasis, we felt very safe and would come back if ever in NYC.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Felt like we had our own loft in Manhattan. Friendly and helpful staff, extremely clean, fantastic location. Strongly recommended!


94%

I recommend the urban oasis hostel! Friendliness, cleanliness, perfect location and superb quality / price make it a great place to rest after walking for hours most wonderful city on the planet.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really impressed with the room. We got the basic one, expecting a small double bed, but turned i out to be a king size! Really comfortable, and clean. Helpful staff, well organized. Only flaws would be squeaky floors and thin walls may make sleeping difficult if you have noisy neighbors, but we didn't have this problem. There can also be a little wait for the wash room in the morning.


97%

Great place to stay really cool. Very safe and secure and the staff were awesome.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great space to stay in New York, we felt like at home, the hostel is very tranquil and perfectly located. If we return to NY we definitely stay here again.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff were wonderful and helpful, the room was fantastic and it was very pleasant, spacious and clean. Wish I had discovered it earlier, will definetly be staying again. Thankyou so much!


89%

Walls were a lttle thin...

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location right by the empire state building


91%

Great location, friendly staff, good value for money! Thanks!

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Jana, staff member, was lovely. The room was lovely. Would stay again

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. They were only too willing to go out of their way to help with sight seeing around New York. The hostel is kept very clean and our room was a good size. Urban Oasis is centrally located and close to Penn Station and the underground.


86%

the street surrounding is not what I desire nor is the building entrance. However, once you arrive to Urban Oasis floor, you truly feel it's an Oasis. It's peaceful,very clean, the soft music playing during the day adds to the cozy feeling of temporary 'home' away from home. The staff is very kind, respectful, helpful and very responsible. We actually booked reservations this year because Yana was wonderful when my daughter and I visited last year during college visit.


100%

Great place to stay if you want a very quiet, clean and comfortable place to relax after a day of traveling and site- seeing. The staff was very respectful and nice. There was always someone keeping the place tidy and neat. Our first day in New York was a rough one. It was pouring rain and the staff was nice enough to provide umbrellas for the customers to use. Overall great experience.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Was a bit surprised that under no circumstances were we allow visitors, would have been ok if we had been told before hand.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the inconvenience you experienced. Urban Oasis is a private loft with limited facilities, and we have to make sure our facilities are available for guests staying with us. We also have to abide by the strict fire safety code of NYC that limits the number of people staying in any given space. We must ensure the convenience and safety of our own guests before anything else. Thank you for your understanding.

91%

Had a great time in the hostel, felt very comfortable and like being home. The staff was really nice and helped us whenever we needed something. Our room was in the 10th floor. The day we arrived the elevator was broken, so we hadnt to pay for the first night! Our room was small but comfortable, we had 2 shared bathrooms, a shared kitchen and livingroom. The location is fantastic, in middle of everything.


97%

Excellent hostel, clean and very nice, looks like a loft and recently refurnished. in New York dowtown nearby the Empire State building. The lift broke down but the waitress helped us lift down our luggage and we got a financial compensation.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(247 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback