X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Urban Oasis Reviews

5 W 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
421 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Love my stay again at urban oasis!! Thank you, Can't wait too come back too ny!! The place is spot less, great location and had everything I needed!! Made my week so easy, will tell all mates about this place!! Love New York and this place was a great fined!!


100%

My wife and children were a bit nervous about Urban Oasis. I felt good about it even before we booked it because of the reviews, but even upon arrival, my family was more nervous due to the street facade and elevator entrance. Once we got into our room, my wife and children felt much better about it. After spending five nights there, we were all very pleased with our choice. Urban Oasis is a great place in a great location—close to so much in Manhattan.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent-not really a hostel at all. More like an upmarket guesthouse, with spacious open plan living area, large well equipped kitchen and fridge, seating area with TV, netflix, music, computer and printer available to use. Excellent free wifi. Brilliant location in midtown Manhattan, 2 blocks from Empire State and metro links. Don't be put off by the fact it's listed as a hostel, or by the grotty-looking shared front door with no sign - up a secure key-operated lift it's totally different!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wir hatten ein Zimmer ohne Fenster. Dies ist für einen längeren Aufenthalt,wie wir ihn hatten nicht geeignet. Die Luft ist steht im Raum und man muss die Nacht über die Klimaanlage anlassen und mit Oropax schlafen,da diese sehr laut war. Aber ansonsten ist das Hostel sehr zu empfehlen und kann als Geheimtipp in NY gesehen werden. Nette Crew,saubere Zimmer,eine perfekte Lage mit Blick aufs Empire State Building. Wenn ihr also eines der anderen Zimmer bucht,seid Ihr bestens versorgt. Daumen hoch

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I was a few days there, it was wonderfull, the staff was the best. The hostel is very clean, we didn´t have any problems, we hope back to ny and to urban oasis, i´ll recommend it!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Sitio ideal, excelente atención, excelentes locaciones ideal para los que no queremos el bullicio de los hostales juveniles


91%

Un lugar muy recomendable, segurísimo con personal muy amable, limpieza excelente y todos los servicios. Volvería al mismo lugar si vuelvo a NYC. Es muy íntimo como estar en casa y con todos los detalles bajo control, todo esta pensado para una estadía muy placentera. Gracias por todo!


100%

Loved our stay. Staff were really nice and helpful. Location was perfect. Rooms were really nice and clean too. Cool living area with all things you could need. TV, kitchen, music etc

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

By knowing the Urban Oasis marveled certainly be back.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great value place! Wonderful location!

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved the place. Needs to get another toilet urgently as queues in the morning. But staff great, location great. Lift a bit scary.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Our only complaint is that it would get loud very early in the morning (most days as early as 7 am), and the old floors were very creaky, so we would wake up when other guest got up to use the bathroom or came in late. But who needs sleep in the city that never sleeps!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Sehr schönes Hostel, auch wenn etwas schwer zu finden mit der kleinen Tür und dem unheimlich langsamen Aufzug. Es gibt mehrere Zimmer auf einer Etage, die hübsch eingerichtet und relativ sauber sind. Es teilen sich ca. 5 Zimmer eine gemeinsame Küche mit allen Utensilien (Kühlschrank, Teller, Geschirrspüler, Herd usw.) sowie Chill-Ecke und Fernsehzone. Alles in allem sehr schön, die U-Bahn ist schnell erreicht, aber auch zu Fuß sind viele Sehenswürdigkeiten schnell erlaufen. Empfehlenswert!


94%

Die Zimmer und die aufenthaltsräume, sowie die Nassräume waren sehr sauber und gepflegt. Die Zimmer werden jedoch nicht jeden Tag gereinigt, auf Wunsch frühestens nach drei Nächten Aufenthalt.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Die Unterkunft ist uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert und bietet durch die tolle Lage den perfekten Startpunkt die Stadt zu erkunden. Eine super Alternative zum Hotel. Da günstiger und doch hochwertiger als ein Hostel. Für den nächsten Aufenthalt werde ich ganz sicher wieder im urban oasis einchecken!

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is 6******. Is one of the best places I ever been. Only the price is a bit high (but is central NYC)! You must be attention that the prices listed here do not have taxes. I pay plus 150$ of taxes for a 5 nights reservation. Great wi-fi, great showers, great kitchen, great location...


86%

The lift to to the hostel is unfortunately painfully slow, but nothing they can do about that. There was a strong emphasis on security, and an excellent location. The staff were pleasant, but a little short. I found the atmosphere fairly average, most of the people on level 10 were rarely there, and when there kept to themselves. Place was very clean, with people coming all the time to keep it that way. I wasn't too happy with the fee charged to pay via credit card as no mention of it prior.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Genial Súper recomendable Únicamente una pega, el ruido de la calle en nuestra habitación

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place very central to everything you could want to see and do . Staff very helpful an polite . Could not fault it I,ve already ready recommended it to friends for there next trip . It

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay. Very central location. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathroom.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback