X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

VIP House Reviews

Calle Meloc 422, Cusco, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
327 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Super helpful, friendly, rooms were decent, stayed there for 4 nights.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is really good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Yummy breakfast , free tea the whole day and i can recommend the perfect massage.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I really recommend this hostel!!! Just go there, you will be satisfied... Very helpful hotel crew 👍


97%

May stay at VIP house was wonderful, great and safe location and very helpful staff at all times. Special thanks to the guy working the front desk. He made sure that all my questions and doubts were fully answered and beyond. I absolutely recommend VIP House for your stay in Cusco. ***** A+

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect place to stay. The building is antique and quaint, though a bit drafty. They provide blankets that are awesome! We were never cold at night. They have a great breakfast and free coca tea all the time. They held our luggage while we went to Machu Picchu with no notice. We got sick on our check out day and they took care of us and let us stay in the lobby all day. Wifi is perfect in common areas and hot water is consistent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, like you said the building is a really nice colonial house, the blankets we provide are feathers ones, our breakfast involves omellette, cereals, juice etc, we also have a free storage room in case of need it, we have oxigem and first aid kit in case of emergencies, we are trying to improve our service everyday to provide you the best stay in Cusco. Thank you for your review.

83%

We liked this hostel slightly better than its sister hostel (VIP Garden - located around the corner) because its community areas are located indoors. This means that overall, the hostel is warmer and a more comfortable place to hang out during the winter. Wifi was good in the common areas -- much better than the sister hostel. However, we had trouble getting hot showers with the electrical showerhead... it rotated between warmish and freezing cold without any consistency.


57%

Pretty average accommodation with lack of atmosphere. Better alternatives in the area...


97%

Staff is very accommodating and great breakfast omellet


97%

Hostel staff was so friendly and great for advice!! Breakfast is included and tea is avaliable all day. Has a bar with good specials. Located close to the main Plaza, but on the opposite side of most other tourist locations (whether that is a plus or minus is up to you), BUT is located right across the street from a grocery store! Large lockers in the dorms that fit an entire (small-ish) backpack, and small lockable cubbies for charging electronics safely. Shower water is not amazingly hot.


60%

Only stayed one night because the entire hostel was freezing, they wouldn't turn on the heaters at all, no hot water, and the wifi, although not great in most of south america, was exceptionally poor. The staff, however, was awesome and the breakfast was good. Location was pretty great too as its right across the street from a grocery store but I definitely will not stay here again. Cusco is cold at night and heaters are a definite necessity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, so, you stayed with us for 2 nights not one, we are one of the warmest hostel in Cusco because all the building is cover by roof and we have a big common heater wich is on from 6 to 11pm everyday, however you arrived in the coldest part of the year and requested the heater at 3 pm, about WIFI unfortunately this is the best wifi we can pay for there is not higher speed available on the market. We are happy to now that you liked the staff, breakfast and location.

91%

Great hostel!! Everything you need... of course hotter showers would be much appreciated especially when its a bit cold :) Besides that im very happy!! Also its great that there is a convenient store right opposite


57%

Been to hostels in more than 15 countries around the world and this one needs a bit of work. The facility wasn't clean, flooring was warped and coming up and the beds were not clean as well.


91%

This was a very pleasant stay. We arrived back from Machu Picchu and the peace and quiet here was welcomed! The receptionist was very helpful - he was very polite and called us a taxi. There was a chilled out atmosphere in the hostel and everyone was friendly. We were getting a night bus and there was no problem leavibg our luggage all day and waiting in the lobby. The wifi throughout was excellent and the laundrette was worth the 5 soles per kg- a bit more expensive but was worth it.


94%

This is a great spot located a few blocks off of the "Plaza de Armas" if you're looking for a quiet, secure place to rest your head away from the busy part of Cuzco. The staff is super friendly (eg. Christian, Christian el argentino, Emiliana la uruguaya) and ready to help you get what you need whether its a beer from the bar or a tour scheduled to Machu Picchu. The beds are comfy and the water is hot. If you are looking for a comfy place to rest after hiking around Cuzco, this is a great value!


63%

Hostel is near a couple of the main plazas, though all through the night you can hear stray dogs barking. Staff is generally helpful. Showers were warm and acceptably clean. Beds had real mattresses, much better than most hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to know that you liked our location, staff, shower and mattresses, however there is no much we can do if dogs are barking in the street. Good trip.

89%

I enjoyed my stay at VIP house. The staff was so friendly and helped me when I got sick. The beds were comfortable. It gets very very cold in the hostel at night (because Cusco is so cold at night) but there are some heated areas. My only complaint is the bathroom near my room never felt clean and smelled terrible.


100%

For only 23 soles, we had a great stay here. It was convenient for us to have a hostel that was good to relax before and after Machu Picchu. Christian at the front desk was very helpful, whether you needed help with eating or how to get around. VIP hostel also offers a free walking tour which is absolutely amazing. It takes you from the hostel, to the main plaza, to a bus that takes you to the top where you start an a archaeological park, then continue to visit the 7 Inca Temples.


100%

Great Hostel!!! good value, they make delicious alpaca burgers every Friday. For sure i would come back!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool decoration, location and amazing staff. They have free tea and let us store our bags while on the Inca Trail. It's a perfect backpacker hostel without being too noisy or party like. The only 2 down points: the breakfast could have a bit more variety and the shower needs to be fixed (just a drip of water and I almost got electrocuted). Apart from this, thanks guys, we will be back!


80%

Great location, close to the square and resturants


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Cusco Hostels

Please give us your feedback