Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

VIP House Reviews

Calle Meloc 422, Cusco, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained


317 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Staff is very accommodating and great breakfast omellet


Hostel staff was so friendly and great for advice!! Breakfast is included and tea is avaliable all day. Has a bar with good specials. Located close to the main Plaza, but on the opposite side of most other tourist locations (whether that is a plus or minus is up to you), BUT is located right across the street from a grocery store! Large lockers in the dorms that fit an entire (small-ish) backpack, and small lockable cubbies for charging electronics safely. Shower water is not amazingly hot.


Only stayed one night because the entire hostel was freezing, they wouldn't turn on the heaters at all, no hot water, and the wifi, although not great in most of south america, was exceptionally poor. The staff, however, was awesome and the breakfast was good. Location was pretty great too as its right across the street from a grocery store but I definitely will not stay here again. Cusco is cold at night and heaters are a definite necessity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, so, you stayed with us for 2 nights not one, we are one of the warmest hostel in Cusco because all the building is cover by roof and we have a big common heater wich is on from 6 to 11pm everyday, however you arrived in the coldest part of the year and requested the heater at 3 pm, about WIFI unfortunately this is the best wifi we can pay for there is not higher speed available on the market. We are happy to now that you liked the staff, breakfast and location.


Great hostel!! Everything you need... of course hotter showers would be much appreciated especially when its a bit cold :) Besides that im very happy!! Also its great that there is a convenient store right opposite


Been to hostels in more than 15 countries around the world and this one needs a bit of work. The facility wasn't clean, flooring was warped and coming up and the beds were not clean as well.


This was a very pleasant stay. We arrived back from Machu Picchu and the peace and quiet here was welcomed! The receptionist was very helpful - he was very polite and called us a taxi. There was a chilled out atmosphere in the hostel and everyone was friendly. We were getting a night bus and there was no problem leavibg our luggage all day and waiting in the lobby. The wifi throughout was excellent and the laundrette was worth the 5 soles per kg- a bit more expensive but was worth it.


This is a great spot located a few blocks off of the "Plaza de Armas" if you're looking for a quiet, secure place to rest your head away from the busy part of Cuzco. The staff is super friendly (eg. Christian, Christian el argentino, Emiliana la uruguaya) and ready to help you get what you need whether its a beer from the bar or a tour scheduled to Machu Picchu. The beds are comfy and the water is hot. If you are looking for a comfy place to rest after hiking around Cuzco, this is a great value!


Hostel is near a couple of the main plazas, though all through the night you can hear stray dogs barking. Staff is generally helpful. Showers were warm and acceptably clean. Beds had real mattresses, much better than most hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to know that you liked our location, staff, shower and mattresses, however there is no much we can do if dogs are barking in the street. Good trip.


I enjoyed my stay at VIP house. The staff was so friendly and helped me when I got sick. The beds were comfortable. It gets very very cold in the hostel at night (because Cusco is so cold at night) but there are some heated areas. My only complaint is the bathroom near my room never felt clean and smelled terrible.


For only 23 soles, we had a great stay here. It was convenient for us to have a hostel that was good to relax before and after Machu Picchu. Christian at the front desk was very helpful, whether you needed help with eating or how to get around. VIP hostel also offers a free walking tour which is absolutely amazing. It takes you from the hostel, to the main plaza, to a bus that takes you to the top where you start an a archaeological park, then continue to visit the 7 Inca Temples.


Great Hostel!!! good value, they make delicious alpaca burgers every Friday. For sure i would come back!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Really cool decoration, location and amazing staff. They have free tea and let us store our bags while on the Inca Trail. It's a perfect backpacker hostel without being too noisy or party like. The only 2 down points: the breakfast could have a bit more variety and the shower needs to be fixed (just a drip of water and I almost got electrocuted). Apart from this, thanks guys, we will be back!


Great location, close to the square and resturants


Really helpful staff. Convenient to mainmain plaza and all central attractions. Showers weren't hot but everything else was great.


Vip House was a really nice place to stay, close to the main plaza. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful! Especially Christiano.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Stayed in both a private room and dorm during our stay, would recommend both. Really nice hostel, good location in the city and right opposite a big supermarket. Staff were very helpful and were more than happy to look after our bags during our 4 day jungle trek. Would definitely stay again.


the place is well located in the historical area. The place is clean, staff is friendly, and breakfast is great. you can also meet a lot of people if you want. would stay here again


Pros- free tea, decent breakfast, good location Cons- really smelly and damp rooms with no door lock, only one bathroom for the entire hostel that rarely had hot water, sometimes when asking the staff basic questions about buses/taxis wtc it was like talking to a brick wall or the Cheshire cat from Alice in Wonderland!


I stood here and another hostel in Cuzco. If you want a comfortable laid back stay this is the place. If you want the party scene go to Loki or Wild Rover. For me this was just what I needed. Comfortable bed, beautiful and convenient location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


What would have made this hostel perfect is a good kitchen forguests to use.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)

View all Cusco Hostels

Please give us your feedback