Hostelworld.com

VIP House

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
7.7

Had a good stay here. The hostel is a little further then it seemed when I booked. Wi-Fi worked well but really only in the lobby. The room is basic but really affordable. Plus I got to meet up with a lot of other backpackers here which was great. I'd recommend this if you're just having brief stay in Cusco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.1

We really enjoyed the stay at VIP House. We got a warm welcome and found a good atmosphere in there. Location is great; just very close to the two plazas and everything you need as a tourist. The free walking tour offered by the hostel was superb. The only negative point is that there is no real place to cook. Although there are plates and cutlery available. Instead they offer breakfast or dinner (1 per day included). Very recommendable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2017
6.3

Very good point is free city tour. Not only showing around city but we took local bus to see some temple and trail. Only part I wasn't happy about stay was I stayed private room and our bathroom suooosed to share only 3of us(or at least people who stay this 3 private rooms) But some idiots who situated share room keep using it so I had to wait long time. I confirmed with receptionist that people who stay in shareroom suppose NOT to use but there is no sign about it so I looked like selfish

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at VIP House-good homey feel with nice common areas and Wifi. The staff was very helpful, especially when we decided to extend our stay and needed several documents printed. The hot showers were nice (but tricky) and the lockers in each dorm room were big. There is a bar with good prices and a different special every day. Breakfast was pretty standard. The free tour offered by the hostel with Carlos around Cusco and surrounding ruins was great with stories & history.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

Not so bad

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.4

The stay at VIP was great. The best part by far had to be the tour of Cusco with Carlos!! It was free and very informative!! The hostel was a good deal, and very close to the Plaza. Felt safe and everything was as expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
7.1

Friendly hostel, helpful staff. Took hostel dinner twice, good value. Good location have two hostels within 100 m of each other. Moved to second hostel as available accommodation better suited family of five. Slightly quieter but better facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • danortega
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I stayed in Peru. Bonus: you can choose between breakfast and dinner, plus there's free coca tea and a computer all day long

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
4.3

Good cleanliness and okay location. Staff were at times unhelpful and strict about use of the breakfast/dinner coupons. The first morning we arrived we were not allowed to use our first breakfast coupon and had to pay. Private room with bathroom had no outside windows or ventilation and smelt mouldy. Directly outside was the hallway where we were woken up every time people walked past. Sketchy wifi and pretty much no kitchen facilities. Overall the hostel should be cheaper for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. The first day you arrived at the hostel at 6am you get your room inmediately because it was available, how you can said that we are unhelpful and strict, about the breakfast, per night acomodation we include one meal wich could be first day dinner or second day breakfast so you had double chance to include your meal included, sorry but if you arrive early first day and you want to get extra breakfast you have to pay here at the hostel or anywhere else, we really do not understand why you rate us to low when you were ending staying with us 5 nights if you really did not like the hostel you were able to leave us after the first or second night.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

A cheap hostel close to the main square with good wifi and breakfast included. Showers were a bit temperamental but warm the majority of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.