Hostelworld.com

VLA Glebe

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.8
VLA Glebe Located at 254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney.
VLA Glebe
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW, 2037 254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037
65% 453
-33.8743706 151.1824858
VLA Glebe
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
6.3

Mostly ppl stay there they don't clean their dishes. It's hard to find a cup or mug when you need to. There's no space in the fridge,kitchen storage and you always need to ask receptionist to get the food tags. But they offer enough and free breakfast. So if you don't need to cook, always eating out then it's fine. Somehow there's no reception for Optus 3G. It's inconvenient. You can't stay in common area after 10pm even you don't drink. So if you're a smoker or alcoh

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
4.3

VLA Glebe is located in a charming house in suburban sydney. I was really expecting to like it, but unfortunately the building was the only positive aspect of my experience. My check in was delayed 8 hours, my room was messy, humid and cramped, the shower had only cold water, and the washing machine hardly worked. The hostel did nothing to develop a sense of community and even on the saturday before st patricks day there was no sort of festivity or party.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
6.6

Good value for money. Okay if you need to just sleep somewhere for cheap. Full of long term backpackers (old). Rooms are smelly and untidy ( because of the longtermers stuff lying all over the place ). Greasy floor, doorhandles and dirty walls. Leaking sealing covered with plastic bag ( "great solution " ) . One window only so there is not much fresh air coming in. Didnt enjoy my stay but it was definately worth the money. Would'nt recommend it . I have to say though , very very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
8.9

Pros: Rooms and common areas are cleaned regularly. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is ok. 4 and 6 people dorms are big enough for everybody. No air con but a big fan which was good.Cons: 10 pm curfew, not enough bathrooms for all the guests, sometimes not enough space in the kitchen. Overall, good value for money and would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
5.7

They lacked in staff which meant it took a while waiting to check in, some of our beds hadn't been checked so we didn't have pillows or blankets. As we drove to the hostel it was extremely hard to find places to park in the area as it was all 2 hours max during the day. The hostel didn't have any suggestions of where to park so that we wouldn't have to keep worrying about it and jus explore the city. Maybe invest in getting permits? Getting kicked out of the seated area outside at 10pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2016
5.4

I can't comment on the dorms but the price for a single room & what you get is ridicules, the atmosphere is ok in the common areas. The fact that you have a 10 pm curfew is preposterous & the same should be advised when booking as being told when to go to bed is pretty demeaning. I would not stay here again. However that's my opinion.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2016
9.7

Had the most amazing time in this hostel. Great location: Close toCity, parks and public transport, but away from the busy CBD. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, FREE breakfast includes nutella and coco pops on weekends, how amazing is that!! Besides linen you also get a towel, which comes in very handy when you´re travelling. Rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfy and there are plenty of bathrooms, showers and toilets. Of all hostels I´ve been to in Sydney, this was my favourite!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2016
6.3

Negative bathroom and toilet always dirty and smelly. all common area closed at 10pm. not enough power plug in the room Positive nice building, room clean, big kitchen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2016
5.7

Good value for money as it includes breakfast. Beds are comfortable. Location in glebe is cool is. Transport to the centre is reasonable. Common areas are shut down at 22:00 so people drink in the street. The ammo until of bathrooms/Showers is not sufficient for the amount of beds and therefore the bathrooms become dirty very quickly after cleaning. One fridge apears permanently broken... at least for the entire duration of our stay. Couples/ons sharing bunk beds in dorm rooms is common.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2015
4.9

After paying for half one night after I canceled was something I had to put up with got back 11pm new years eve and my key didn't work in any of the 5 doors call the management the wrong phone number got a phone number from visiting person and got let in by management 1st Jan out of bed and walk 6am till 8am where I asked where do we have breakfast as its including in prices and reply was "I'm going to bed because im to pissed after new years "after advertising they had self service

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.