Hostelworld.com

VLA Surry Hills

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
VLA Surry Hills Located at 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, , Sydney.
VLA Surry Hills
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016
68% 1496
-33.8895659 151.2039971
VLA Surry Hills
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.0

Great place for short stay. Too much noise if you want to rest well in the first floor rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th May 2016
9.1

We stayed here for several nights in May. We have stayed at VLA Surry Hills before and we feel that the service provided is very good for the price. The hostel is a bit dated, but this is reflected in the price. The facilities are cleaned regularly, however the hostel kitchen and shared bathrooms could be cleaner if people picked up after themselves a bit more; however, this can happen in any hostel. The location is good, near to Central station and many suburbs can be reached on foot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • loz78420049272
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.7

I stayed in the budget 12 bed mixed dorm and found the hostel was one of the most well kept hostels I've ever stayed. For the price, and location I was expecting the bathroom to be out-dated and disgusting but I found neither. It is more of a working-hostel, meaning that many of the guests were long-term living in the hostel. This gave the hostel a lot of great atmosphere and it was warm and friendly. Breakfast is included but basic. There's room to keep food in the fridges (label it)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
6.9

standard run of the mill backpacker

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
7.7

I was misled by the advertisement that VLA Surry Hills offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport. It should have been clarified that the shuttle service is at a fixed low rate but still requires 15 dollars. I ended up using the train/subway services to reach the airport which is about 13 dollars but I had the convenience of leaving the residence at my own timing. Bathroom stalls could use some renovation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
4.0

Felt very dirty everywhere in the hostel. The bathrooms are not pleasant at all, the beds are quite comfy but the frames seem old and worn. The kitchen area is far too small for the amount of people staying and fridge space is also an issue

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
3.4

Black mould all over the bathroom, cockroaches everywhere. Staff really moody and unfriendly. Beds felt like they were about to fall apart and no ladders for the top bunk.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
4.9

The hostel is full of people who live and work in Sydney. This can be quite awkward in the shared dorms as they treat the rooms and the bathrooms as their own. Bathrooms are full of mould and cluttered with the long termer's stuff. Hostel claims that they have security lockers which is misleading. There are lockers in the common area but are mostly full (used by the long termers) and let in water when it rains. There are around 6 lockers inside but cost 2 dollars everytime you open them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
3.7

This is not a hostel for travelers but rather a working hostel i.e. people stay there long-term for working purpose in Sydney. You can only expect the very basic standard of facility. The beds in my room are very bad and make such lousy noise, the room is small and filled with a smell of long-term tenants. The location is not that good, 50 mins working to the harbor or 10 mins to the Central station then take a train to the harbor. Staff are friendly but not useful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
4.9

Rooms were messy and dingy with no ladders on the beds however the beds were very comfortable. It's noisy if you want to get to sleep and there aren't enough toilets or showers. Wifi is 3 dollars a day and is pretty poor. Pretty cheap so it's ok for a quick stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.