Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

VLA Surry Hills

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1,508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1,508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
VLA Surry Hills Located at 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, , Sydney.
VLA Surry Hills
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016
67% 1508
-33.8894319 151.2041179
VLA Surry Hills
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
5.7

I was disappointed that we weren't notified about the renovations, and it made the stay much less pleasant, especially in relation to sleep. the drain in our shower was also blocked and no one we spoke to would help.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.9

Very good, we enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
4.9

Service is alright. But the rooms are just very dirty. The bathrooms are moldy and disgusting. The sheets have stains on them. It was very unsettling to sleep there at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
7.4

Easy to find, friendly and helpful staff, in great location. No frills and affordable hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.1

Stay very short. The location near the train station but still a large distant for huge luggage. Rooms are not so clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

I have never visited such a warmhearted hostel before. The staffs are enthusiastic and residents are friendly. It gives me the feeling at home rather than in travel. Though the location is a bit far from CBD but there are public transports around. Nice and comfortable place for long stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.0

Great place for short stay. Too much noise if you want to rest well in the first floor rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th May 2016
9.1

We stayed here for several nights in May. We have stayed at VLA Surry Hills before and we feel that the service provided is very good for the price. The hostel is a bit dated, but this is reflected in the price. The facilities are cleaned regularly, however the hostel kitchen and shared bathrooms could be cleaner if people picked up after themselves a bit more; however, this can happen in any hostel. The location is good, near to Central station and many suburbs can be reached on foot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • loz78420049272
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.7

I stayed in the budget 12 bed mixed dorm and found the hostel was one of the most well kept hostels I've ever stayed. For the price, and location I was expecting the bathroom to be out-dated and disgusting but I found neither. It is more of a working-hostel, meaning that many of the guests were long-term living in the hostel. This gave the hostel a lot of great atmosphere and it was warm and friendly. Breakfast is included but basic. There's room to keep food in the fridges (label it)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
6.9

standard run of the mill backpacker

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.