Hostelworld.com

Valley House Holiday Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.7

The hostel is very beautiful, right next to the beach. Pat is a wonderful host, he was nice and always helpful. He even helped me get a bike so I could go around the island and he took me to a nice peak so I could get a good view and photos. The transportation around the island is very limited but it is possible to get there by bus, the hostel is very close to one of the stops. Only thing I would improve is the showers: the water was VERY hot. Other than that I had a perfect stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
6.9

Nice place, friendly staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kateni775211
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.1

Great stay, very child friendly-the faerie trail was well worth the €2. Beautiful location and the staff were brilliant especially Phoebe in the hostel and Ruairi in the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Oct 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, large spacious dorm rooms and friendly bar. Achill Island stunning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
9.1

Pure magic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
8.3

The place is in a unique building with a great bar and music. However I had issues with the kitchen in that there were a limited type of cooking utensils pots pans etc. I also really was not thrilled about the showers which were tiny and difficult to deal with. But other than that it's a great place to stay and uncl cooking utensils pots pans etc. I also really was not thrilled about the showers which were tiny and difficult to deal with. But other than that it's a great place to stay in Achill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.0

Nice enough in ways, but a good distance from most things on the island. Luckily, the hostel has a bar attached, so dinner and drinks are available there, and the food was very good. Unfortunately, it's over an hour's walk to the nearest bike hire place (the bike hire guy did not deliver the bikes to us), and we had to get a taxi after the bus dropped us off (the bus is rare, and offers an even more limited service on a Sunday). The room was okay, the showers average. Cheap, so quite good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2016
6.9

Do NOT go unless you're reasonably fond of spiders! The house has a very interesting history and a certain charm though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
10.0

Great little place, everything made easy by the warm friendly troupe of staff, lovely cosy little bar with delicious pizza....slept well, beds okay for price, rooms large and spacious, lovely walks in every directions- thanks Valley....see you again for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place and.....will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.