Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vancouver Backpacker House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 543 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 543 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gabetx
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2017
9.1

every thing was good but the people on the second floor where very loud walking around in the middle of the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kyalisonmyself1751
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2017
8.9

A little far from downtown but close to skytrain station. Sooo happy it's not bunk bed and the beds are comfortable. With the quiet environment, it's worth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2017
6.6

The location is quite far from downtown. It's a quiet residential area. It's close to the sky train, so it's easy to get into town. Still little bit far away. I had to do a self check in. Either send my CVV of my creditcard or slip a envelope of cash under the door. Both not very safe. There's no reception and no activities planned. I didn't like that much. Room is small, but ok. No bunk beds, but normal beds so that's good. Kitchen is ok, but limited on supplies.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
8.3

Really good value for money - we stayed in Waverley house. Bit of confusion at first but due to not seeing an email as we had no internet access on our road journey. We were pleased with the location, a short journey away on the sky train, of which the station was a 5 minute walk from the hostel. The biggest issue seemed to be people not clearing up after themselves in bathroom/kitchen, but this is not the fault of staff or hostel. Overall, very pleased with this stay and for its value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
10.0

My stay at the Vancouver Backpacker House was great and fit my needs during my visit to Vancouver. It was in a nice location with friendly people there. Very convenient to the Metrotown Mall and area with a 10 minute walk to the sky rail where the ride took 20 minutes to get to the heart of Downtown Vancouver.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2017
9.1

We stayed in the Vancouver Backpacker House for 4 nights! It was excellent, they provided pillows with a case, and a comforter. They also provide toilet paper, but you should bring other bathroom supplies (shampoo, towel, etc.). They have an equipped kitchen with a stove, fridge, toaster and toaster oven (pots, pans, cooking and eating utensils are also provided). It was extremely convenient as it was close to a Skytrain that took us downtown, and its's very clean! Highly recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2017
7.1

Communication was all through sms or whatsapp. I would have preferred in-person contact in case issues occurred.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
6.0

Arrived to find my name on a whiteboard outside of the front door telling me my room number and a key just left there. In my room there was an envelope I had to pay and put it under the storage room door?? Never met anyone in charge once- weird. Half an hour on skytrain out of the city too. Near a pretty decent shopping mall and it was clean were bonuses. Bunk beds very creaky!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
8.6

Paid for pickup at airport. They accommodated my later arrival. Room was small but adequate. Kitchen facilities were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
5.4

It was a weird environment. They also asked me to take a picture of the CCV on my credit card which made me very uncomfortable. No staff was there to help me the entire day/night I stayed there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×