Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vancouver Backpacker House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Vancouver Backpacker House Located at 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC, , Vancouver.
Vancouver Backpacker House
Canada
Vancouver British Columbia V5J 3Y8 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC
73% 410
49.2200190 -122.9994879
Vancouver Backpacker House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

Great place. My cousin and I rented a private room, and it was nice. Clean, there was a private porch we could have used (but didn't get around to) and they provided a fan. The place was nice, and it was only a 10 minute walk to the Metropolis at metrotown to shop or catch the skytrain. The neighborhood felt very safe along with the walk there. The bathrooms were also clean. The staff was friendly as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.3

This isn't a backpackers. Its three low rent boarding houses roughly 500m apart. I think there were three houses/apartments in total. It was reasonably quiet but there was no atmosphere. The staff acted as though guests were a hassle.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel was cleaned daily, the kitchen was well equipped and it was good value for money. It was a short walk to the skytrain and a short ride to downtown but still at times it felt like it was far from everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.0

It was a really cheap hostel. The bathrooms, living room and bedrooms where tidy enough. The kitchen could use a helping hand as the oven was broke and it was a dirty. The knives could have used a sharpening and there were missing a lot of common tableware. It was also possible to do laundry if needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Booked 5p dorm and got private room! Wifi connection was superb! Location is a bit out of town, but easy way to city via SkyTrain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Jun 2016
3.7

This place is the worst hostel I ever stayed in (incl. all the crappy party hostels). It's really unprofessional: no front desk and we had to call someone to check us in. He then drove us to some other place, where we would stay. This was just a smelly appartment in a flat in some Asian suburb, which we shared with others. Nothing (really nothing) is going on in the neighborhood. I would never describe this as a hostel. Positive: it's cheap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
3.7

This place should be used for emergencies only. If you can afford any other place, then book it. It's not that far from downtown by train. I stayed in a 5 bed dorm that was right by the kitchen where people hung out at, so it was a little loud at night time. The staff was friendly but the place was dirty most of the time. If yyou can afford anywhere else, book there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
7.4

For a hostel the washrooms we're really tidy as the owner comes in everyday to clean the house. We had a little room which was ok, all in all the house provides not much but everything you need. In our opinion the price is a little to high as it's not located in downtown because we paid the same for a hostel in downtown but still you can reach everything by foot, bus or skytrain. They should be (in our opinion) a little stricter about drugs because you can smell it everywhere in the house

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.7

A homey feeling atmosphere with comfortable rooms and great people to meet. A little hidden gem with a good value for your money. I would definitively come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.4

Really friendly. A little out of the way, but it was so cheap that it's hard to complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.