Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vancouver Backpacker House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
Vancouver Backpacker House Located at 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC, , Vancouver.
Vancouver Backpacker House
Canada
Vancouver British Columbia V5J 3Y8 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC
74% 450
49.2200190 -122.9994879
Vancouver Backpacker House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.3

I am coming here with working holiday visa. It is price is very good, so I can stay longer without worrying paying to much without earning money, and all I want is clean and close to the public transportation. They are clean and short walk to the skytrain and shopping area. It was excellent that it is a short walk to a largest mall in Vancouver. I found my job in the mall within a week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.1

like its location. It is closed to skytrain and the biggest shopping mall in about 10 min walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
9.1

This is a house style hostel. Simple, quiet and clean. If you would like to be in a party place, definitely not here. The rent price is very good, and it is good settle place for people who are looking for their jobs or long term stay in Vancouver.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
5.4

Atleast have bedsheets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
8.9

It is very good location if you are driving since it is free parking and safe. They have few buildings. If you like quieter spot, you can email them to request a quite one. Clean abd with a good price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
4.9

The location was convenient. The cash only payment policy wasn't communicated so several people were sent out in a storm to the nearest ATM to get cash to pay their room fees. It was more of a party house...the first night the house didn't quiet down until 4am and the second night was after midnight. The next morning the upper part of the house reeked of vomit and there were drinks, food and empty alcohol containers left throughout the house. Worst stay ever.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff are the one who wants to live there for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
4.9

Turned up to this house, was put in a room with two bunk beds and people on the floor, the other people in the room looked like they were living there, they had so many clothes and trash lying around the room, really didn't have anywhere for us to put our bags since they took up the whole place. I think there were more private rooms upstairs but obviously we booked too late and got thrown in this mess. It's a 15 minute train ride to the city like it says... Plus a 15 minute walk to the station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.4

The location info is disingenuously deceptive and need to be changed immediately. It takes 30 minutes on the skytrain to the hostel, over double the time they have advertised on hostelworld. The staff were pretty nonchalant about helping us out but no rude or anything. Weird cliquey vibe to the place too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your email. It is 14 min on skytrain to downtown from our Metrotown skytrain station. It is 17 min to downtown waterfront terminal, and hope this answer your question. We have some helpers from different countries, and English is not their first language. They are always willing to help out you request. Thanks for staying with us.

  • rhianon_aston3955
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.4

We booked a dorm room but they gave us a private, AMAZING. We liked that it was quite here and more like a house. The staff were nice, the room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The place got cleaned every day so it's in pretty good condition for a 'hostel'. Our bedroom door (basement room 1) did not lock which was really frustrating and they have nearly no kitchen utensils.. 1 fork, 1 spoon, 1 pan etc. Close to the SkyTrain and Metro Town mall. I'd recommend it over a city hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.