Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vancouver Backpacker House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
Vancouver Backpacker House Located at 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC, , Vancouver.
Vancouver Backpacker House
Canada
Vancouver British Columbia V5J 3Y8 7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC
75% 435
49.2200190 -122.9994879
Vancouver Backpacker House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff are the one who wants to live there for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
4.9

Turned up to this house, was put in a room with two bunk beds and people on the floor, the other people in the room looked like they were living there, they had so many clothes and trash lying around the room, really didn't have anywhere for us to put our bags since they took up the whole place. I think there were more private rooms upstairs but obviously we booked too late and got thrown in this mess. It's a 15 minute train ride to the city like it says... Plus a 15 minute walk to the station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.4

The location info is disingenuously deceptive and need to be changed immediately. It takes 30 minutes on the skytrain to the hostel, over double the time they have advertised on hostelworld. The staff were pretty nonchalant about helping us out but no rude or anything. Weird cliquey vibe to the place too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your email. It is 14 min on skytrain to downtown from our Metrotown skytrain station. It is 17 min to downtown waterfront terminal, and hope this answer your question. We have some helpers from different countries, and English is not their first language. They are always willing to help out you request. Thanks for staying with us.

  • rhianon_aston3955
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.4

We booked a dorm room but they gave us a private, AMAZING. We liked that it was quite here and more like a house. The staff were nice, the room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The place got cleaned every day so it's in pretty good condition for a 'hostel'. Our bedroom door (basement room 1) did not lock which was really frustrating and they have nearly no kitchen utensils.. 1 fork, 1 spoon, 1 pan etc. Close to the SkyTrain and Metro Town mall. I'd recommend it over a city hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.9

It's not a hostel. There was no social aspect at all(I saw one person the entire time I was there) if you aren't there to socialise it's quite good. We were in a private room which isn't in the main hostel it's 2 streets down. It was basic but clean and we had use of the kitchen which saved us some money. The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing (This seems a training/management issue rather than incompetence). Overall if you want a cheap, basic, clean place to stay this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel is kinda strange, but you quickly relax into it. My stay at the hostel was made especially lovely by the house keeping assistant Hannah, who is very friendly and kind!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Very good for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ash8553798
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.9

I stayed in a private room for the first time because my girlfriend had never been to a hostel before and was a bit concerned with sleeping in a room with strangers / her personal items getting stolen. The private rooms were in a separate building from the regular rooms, and none of the guests talked to each other in the private housing, which I thought was kinda weird. Also I do wish there were more showers/ bathrooms. Other than that, its a great place, and an ideal location by the skytrain

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jul 2016
7.7

Kind of a weird set up. Arrived and there was no staff there. Had to phone them. They then arrived and took me to another location about 5 minute drive away. More like apartment than a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

Great place. My cousin and I rented a private room, and it was nice. Clean, there was a private porch we could have used (but didn't get around to) and they provided a fan. The place was nice, and it was only a 10 minute walk to the Metropolis at metrotown to shop or catch the skytrain. The neighborhood felt very safe along with the walk there. The bathrooms were also clean. The staff was friendly as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.