X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3020 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Everything is pretty good except location that it stays long distance from subway. You need to plan more time if you want to take subway to go anywhere. Btw we had have a great time with that place and so much fun.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were very helpful and kind.My room was perfect for what I wanted except I could feel the springs in the bed and there was a very loud noise from the heater/a valve in the room every couple of hours!all the facilities were great and I really enjoyed my stay!


74%

Wifi signal is very poor! Especially in the room! You have to be outside at the lobby to assess. Even then sometimes the signal is weak. They should look into boosting the wifi signal. I hv stayed in this hostel in the past years but the wifi problem still exist. Wifi is important because most visitors are foreigners. Thank you.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Pros: location, price. Minor cons: - you have to pay $2 per bag to store your luggage after you check out which is kind of annoying - the rooms and the kitchen look quite old and uncomfortably cheap - one of our keys wasn't working even after we replaced both of them


97%

Staff very friendly but checkin and checkout is very slow. Kitchen is not really a kitchen. No plates, can opener, etc. only cooktop, no oven. Staff told us they have a problem with stealing. Only buy something you can heat up in the microwave. Mini frig in room is nice. No freezer. Room is very adequate.


74%

Communal area is tiny. No social activities. Very clean and great location too.


100%

great value

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hotel was in a great location. With amazing facilities. The room and the bathrooms where quite clean and they changed the towels every single day On the other hand, it was too hot in the room and it was quit small.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The room was very dirty and they gave me the worst room in the hostel and when i asked them why? They said because i book via hostelworld.com and the price is lower than thier avrage. It was a very bad experiance. The only good thing about this place is the location. Other than this every thing is very bad.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Just like others mentioned,the stuffs are not kind...but the location is great.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Terrible room with a window opening to the bathroom side and very nice(!) smells coming from the bathroom


83%

Clean sheets, well lit, no critters scurrying about, communal bathrooms were okay. Overall, it was satisfactory. I will return in the future and would recommend.

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was an excellent experience, a great value for money.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

People in the reception not friendly .


100%

No privacy in the shower areaarea ! Other Ys have individual shower stalls with curtains ! No Guest permitted upstairs......policy is Victorian !

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location! Rooms are small, as pictures show. Mine smelled bad.


91%

Great location in midtown east nyc. About as low a price as you could ever hope to find. Recommend staying here.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Some rooms are nicer than others. Security seems good, which is important in nyc. Cleanliness ok. I didn't use the gym, but that would be a major plus. Looks like a great gym. The line at the desk to check in and out was the only complaint. It took forever, and that's without a lot of other people in line. There seems to be zero sense of urgency at that desk. If there was a big line, it's not hard to imagine being there 30-45 minutes or more. Overall good value & great to support the YMCA.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback