X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2873 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

GOOD LOCATION, GOOD SERVICE


89%

Clean and comfortable. Staff could not be more helpful. Always felt safe. 20 minutes walk from Times Square. Brilliant location. Would highly reccomended.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again next time you visit New York.

89%

The location is fabulous but noisy. We were awakened early to honking horns and beeping from trucks backing up. We might try to get a room off the street next time. We didn't try to take a shower since we were only there for 1 night but with only 3 showers on our floor (and 100 people per floor) I'm not sure how long we would have had to wait. But we would stay there again!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, We are glad you enjoyed your experience. In New York, it is difficult to keep the noise level down but please be sure to mention that when you check in and we will try to accommodate you with a room off the street. Also, we serve about 55 or so people on each floor and we rarely experience any waiting for the restrooms, but you can also use the locker rooms on the gym side of the building, if needed. We hope to see you again soon.

69%

Lobby lovely. Rooms not good. Bunk beds with no bar. Rooms dark and dingy. Hostel spent all the money on the gym and lobby. Bathroom grubby with no where to put belongings. Location saved the stay.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The YMCA is a community based organization. Part of our mission is to serve the youth and families of our community, that is why the gym and lobby area are so big. As you know, we also have two pools. These accommodations add an extra value to your stay. We have been upgrading our guest rooms for the past few years and will continue to do so. We hope by your next visit to have upgraded even more rooms.

77%

No bed bugs! :) Free gym access! :) Midtown East! :)


51%

Location is excellent, just 5 minutes walk from Grand Central. Swanky reception with view of their gym. However, the rooms are grim, unclean. Stayed on 6 floor. Never ever seen the toilet clean. I wouldn't recommend.


97%

IT WAS VERY NICE TO STAY IN THIS HOSTEL, SPECIALLY I COULD SLEEP ALL NIGHT. BATHROOMS CLEAN, ROOM CLEAN, GOOD AIRCONDITION. WITH REFRIGERATOR AND TV WITH CABLE. PERFECT FOR ME. MRS. RODRIGUEZ PUERTO RICO

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you stay with us again.

83%

Had a really good stay here at the YMCA. Location was excellent, close by to the subway and within walking distance to Times Square. Also very clean with new towels and sheets every day. Only downside was there wasn't enough showers/toilets per floor meaning there was often a queue which was annoying. There were also lots of school trips staying at the hostel with lots of teenagers taking over/ lurking in the hallway.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We host alot of students from overseas so sometimes the bathrooms can get busy. If you experience that next time you stay, please feel free to use the bathroom facilities in our locker rooms on the gym side. We are also working on assigning rooms to individual guests on different floors from the groups. we hope to see you again.

69%

Facilities were clean but VERY old

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for staying with us and we are always striving to update and upgrade our guest rooms. We take pride in keeping our facilities clean and safe for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

80%

Noise AC...

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize if the AC was noisy. We hope you stay with us again and please feel free to bring any concerns to our front desk staff so we can assist you during your stay.

63%

Great location for hostel but for the price I felt rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Vanderbilt. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

57%

Cockroach city!!!


100%

Thak You for all the staff.......You are very helpfull and very nice

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your lovely comment and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

69%

Pretty nice location to see nyc for a few days if you are planning to spend most of your time outdoors. The gym is excellent and the facility is actually a fitness center (with some rooms for guests). The rooms are very tiny and with bunker beds. The restrooms are very few in number (only one shower room and 2 wc for a 30 room floor) and that is a major concern. You have to plan for a 10-20 minute wait each morning in front of the shower room.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

enjoyed the stay because it was in a great location and the staff was very accommodating, plus the price was right!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

It is impossible to sleep without the A/C, however, the A/C is so noisy that it makes it impossible to sleep too. You have to sign a paper in which the hostel takes no responsibility in case of robbery. You can put your passport and small things in a safe, but if you have a laptop there's no way to put it. The luggage room also says the hostel is not responsible for robbery. You need lookers!!!! You also need more toilets/showers Wifi good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We apologize for the AC being noisy. If you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to report any problems to the front desk staff or security and we will be happy to accommodate you. We are always making improvements to our guest rooms and will strive to make your next visit more comfortable.

51%

I was very disappointed with the staff and how I was treated I also ask if I could stay for a few extra hours because someone was coming to get me and would not be there before a certain time and was told that I would be charged It's the worst stay ever and would never stay at any YMCA ever again Doesn't matter if I have to pay tons of money

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the staff not being more helpful. We are always striving to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable and it is unacceptable that a staff person did not behave in this manner and it truly does not represent our organization.. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further. My name is janet and the main line is 212-912-2500.

37%

I was shocked at the condition of the rooms , especially for the price charged. They were small,dirty,smelly and the floor had to be washed due to urine smell. The price of over $100. Per room was not justified at all.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

should provide iron in the utiliti/laundry room. Extended the check out time till 12 oclock. Abolish $2 per bag as storage fee. Should provide more toilet/bathroom

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We do provide an iron in our laundry room on the 3rd floor. We also extend the check out time, if possible. We hope to see you again and meet your expectations. If you have any concerns, please visit the front desk staff and we will be happy to help you.

71%

This is a very big hostel with a massive Gym (that is used mainly by locals). There is not much int he way of communal area - so little 'atmosphere' or chances of meeting people outside of the room share. I had a single room with shared bathroom. Unfortunately the room smelt like armpit from the moment I opened the door. That said - it is the cheapest place to stay in New York....you just don't get much for your money.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback