X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2891 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good location, clean, affordable. Can't really ask for much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time you visit New York.

80%

My single room was every bit as good as the VIP room for entertainers etc when I was in Korea.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great place to stay if all you want is somewhere to dump your stuff and spend the day/evenings out & about in NY. There is a really good gym which I used a few times in the mornings. There is also a really good café & a Starbucks nearby for breakfast. The bread & butter place across the street was also good for coffee & snacks. The cooking facilities in the hostel are not very good.


57%

This is a fair enough place. You can stay here and feel safe with good location. And it's clean. But I don't want to stay there again, It was more a hotel than a hostel. We couldn't check in without one of the staff trying to sell us a trip, maybe his own little business on the side? Don't try to use the pool. It's not free to use as you like, but part of the gym. There are several silly rules strictly enforced. At times there isn't water pressure in some of the showers.


46%

The room was really tiny and run down. Toilets were dirty, showers ok. Only two showers for about 30-40 rooms. Rooms had paper thin walls, you could hear even the slightest noises. Front desk staff was very impersonal and seemed annoyed, not as we experienced with all the other people in NYC, maybe they had to sleep in the hostel too ;) Price doesn't meet value by far! Absolutely not recommendable!!


74%

GOOD LOCATION, GOOD SERVICE

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

89%

Clean and comfortable. Staff could not be more helpful. Always felt safe. 20 minutes walk from Times Square. Brilliant location. Would highly reccomended.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again next time you visit New York.

89%

The location is fabulous but noisy. We were awakened early to honking horns and beeping from trucks backing up. We might try to get a room off the street next time. We didn't try to take a shower since we were only there for 1 night but with only 3 showers on our floor (and 100 people per floor) I'm not sure how long we would have had to wait. But we would stay there again!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, We are glad you enjoyed your experience. In New York, it is difficult to keep the noise level down but please be sure to mention that when you check in and we will try to accommodate you with a room off the street. Also, we serve about 55 or so people on each floor and we rarely experience any waiting for the restrooms, but you can also use the locker rooms on the gym side of the building, if needed. We hope to see you again soon.

69%

Lobby lovely. Rooms not good. Bunk beds with no bar. Rooms dark and dingy. Hostel spent all the money on the gym and lobby. Bathroom grubby with no where to put belongings. Location saved the stay.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The YMCA is a community based organization. Part of our mission is to serve the youth and families of our community, that is why the gym and lobby area are so big. As you know, we also have two pools. These accommodations add an extra value to your stay. We have been upgrading our guest rooms for the past few years and will continue to do so. We hope by your next visit to have upgraded even more rooms.

77%

No bed bugs! :) Free gym access! :) Midtown East! :)


51%

Location is excellent, just 5 minutes walk from Grand Central. Swanky reception with view of their gym. However, the rooms are grim, unclean. Stayed on 6 floor. Never ever seen the toilet clean. I wouldn't recommend.


97%

IT WAS VERY NICE TO STAY IN THIS HOSTEL, SPECIALLY I COULD SLEEP ALL NIGHT. BATHROOMS CLEAN, ROOM CLEAN, GOOD AIRCONDITION. WITH REFRIGERATOR AND TV WITH CABLE. PERFECT FOR ME. MRS. RODRIGUEZ PUERTO RICO

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you stay with us again.

83%

Had a really good stay here at the YMCA. Location was excellent, close by to the subway and within walking distance to Times Square. Also very clean with new towels and sheets every day. Only downside was there wasn't enough showers/toilets per floor meaning there was often a queue which was annoying. There were also lots of school trips staying at the hostel with lots of teenagers taking over/ lurking in the hallway.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We host alot of students from overseas so sometimes the bathrooms can get busy. If you experience that next time you stay, please feel free to use the bathroom facilities in our locker rooms on the gym side. We are also working on assigning rooms to individual guests on different floors from the groups. we hope to see you again.

69%

Facilities were clean but VERY old

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for staying with us and we are always striving to update and upgrade our guest rooms. We take pride in keeping our facilities clean and safe for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

80%

Noise AC...

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize if the AC was noisy. We hope you stay with us again and please feel free to bring any concerns to our front desk staff so we can assist you during your stay.

63%

Great location for hostel but for the price I felt rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Vanderbilt. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

57%

Cockroach city!!!


100%

Thak You for all the staff.......You are very helpfull and very nice

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your lovely comment and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

69%

Pretty nice location to see nyc for a few days if you are planning to spend most of your time outdoors. The gym is excellent and the facility is actually a fitness center (with some rooms for guests). The rooms are very tiny and with bunker beds. The restrooms are very few in number (only one shower room and 2 wc for a 30 room floor) and that is a major concern. You have to plan for a 10-20 minute wait each morning in front of the shower room.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

enjoyed the stay because it was in a great location and the staff was very accommodating, plus the price was right!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback