X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2689 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I'd stay again.


66%

Great location, room temp was comfortable, restrooms were very clean, but radiator kept clicking and making loud noises all night, and showers were terrible - no place to keep your clothes/towel dry & no privacy. Room was tiny but you won't spend much time in it so it doesn't matter. Would probably stay again if still on a budget.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The bathrooms were dirty and bad. I didnt wanted to go to the bathroom or take a shower because it wasnt nice.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great Place to Stay. Good Facilities and the Staff always kind and helpful.


74%

The location is great, we arrive from newark on train and walk around 5 blocks, everything's really close, we walked to madison avenue, broadway, 5th avenue, etc. The rooms are really small, but there are a lot of things to do in NYC, so basically is only to sleep, sometimes the heat is really high, but you can call to change that, the employees are friendly and they have a great gym, but I didn't have time to use it so I can't comment


97%

Had a great time here! The rooms quite small, but still comfortable. Close to central station and times square. Its not as sociable as other hostels, but we were out seeing the sights the whole time. It has all the facilities you need - including a gym which was great!

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Was visiting New York with a friend for the first time, Vanderbilt YMCA was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. The room was great, facilities were great. Only thing I would say is some (not all!) of the staff could do with cheering up a little, they didn't exactly sell the place, luckily the room did! Thanks very much!


71%

The reception should prepare sufficient small change for the guests such as for laundry, luggage storage.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The kitchen should be improved with a microwave and some stoves.....

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Standard YMCA hotel set up. Beds werent amazing, quite springy and the kitchen was often left by other guest in a pretty gross state. But overall it was a nice hotel, wifi was good and there was a good gym, 10-15 min walk to times square.


94%

Very good hostel! Great location! Clean and safe! Inside the rooms it was a little bit noisy sometimes!

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great value for money in central New York.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Ok place... Bed was very bad, room was very small ....

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good bed, quiet room, Alexander at front desk very helpful, The location can not be beat , as it is near Lexington & 54Th St. Subway, where you can catch the JFK airport express

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Is a big hostel and very clean, everything. The hostel is 4 or 5 blocks from Times Square. I stayed in private room, is small, but for me, was enough. The workers are very nice, and the place too.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Regardless of how much somewhere costs or any other detail - the one thing people need above anything else is the facility to sleep. To expect an adult to be able to sleep on a bed that is of a more suitable size for maybe a 13 year old kid is nothing short of embarrassing, or at least it should be if it weren't for the cold arrogance that oozed out of the staff at the Vanderbilt YMCA, NY. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

the double bed is really uncomfortable. there should be a layer of wood instead of the wires down the little mattress. other tan that its all good

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff at the reception and security entrance are very rude and not helpfull at all. I approached on several occasions to ask about facilities and I was ignored and after several "excuse me"s, they attended to me.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iraq
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The pool should be open longer. We enjoyed our stay, as usual.


97%

Very central, clean, swimming pool sauna .


(58 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback