X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2930 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

fixed time for leave the Room & fixed time to eneter the room when arrival is very sharp and it is not good at all & because the time should be flexible sepcially related to person com from outside USA and releated to Aierway flight 2_nd why take money for logent the back for only 3 hrs to wainting time for airwaytravalling 3_rd why take 5 dollor to call taxi for airport & and taxi take 20 Dollor although should be 17 dollars and alerady I arival to hoseltle from airport only 13 Dollars

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Rooms are cleaned but they smell


89%

My only complaint and i realise they are a religious based organisation, was there quite ridiculous block on wifi which stopped me visiting many of the pages i would have liked to read. Not porn just day to day listings for various events going on in New York. Gay bars, theatre, even the Mermaid Parade in Brooklyn. Quite barmy when you could type in various other searches to take you to porn etc and no block. Gay was definitely a blocked word.


94%

Had a great stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA. It's really good value for the money. Ok, the rooms are small, but I got a TV, fridge, free wi-fi in the room and aircondition. The bed was also one of the best I had in a hostel. I would stay there again if I go back to New York alone. :-)


77%

Great location, easy walk to Times Square and Grand Central Station. Rooms small but adequate for a short stay. Basic kitchen. Toilets and showers a little unclean and the showers only had curtains which didn't offer much privacy.


77%

It was pleasure my stay there, It is very convinient located

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

With the gym in the entrance there was no real hostel atmosphere. The location was good but the staff were cold


83%

The Vanderbilt YMCA was great. Good location with nice people and a gym for me to work out in during my stay. The only problem I had was that my room wasn't made up when I arrived. It looked like someone was residing in it already (bed unkempt, TV on, used bath towel). Other than that, everything else was good.


77%

Your get what you pay, book it for the location and prize, not for hotel/hostel experience. Great for young travelers. Just to sleep. Needs to improve showers (bad condition, graffiti, cold water, clean), bathroom looks like Walmart , storage machine slow, and beds.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed here for one week as a solo female traveller. The room is very basic (dark

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Please let us know next time you stay that you would like a brighter room. We will try to accommodate you. thank you

69%

I am disappointed for not having internet Access in the first Day of my arrival, June 1st.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We apologize that the internet access was not working the first day. Sometimes, work is being done in the area and it interferes with our access. However, on your next visit, please be aware that the lobby area usually has great access, and please let the staff know if you are experiencing any problems and we would be more than happy to help you out. thank you,

71%

Basic, expensive, awesome location though!


74%

Apart from Carlos, Ingrid, Gabby from the desk and night security guy, all the staff didn't show any interest or kindness, despite I always approached them politely and with a smile.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We will let Carlos, Ingrid and Gabby know they are going a good job and we will also address the rest of the staff about showing more hospitality. We apologize for any staff behavior that was not hospitable.

54%

The one private bathroom was good, but the fact there was just one private bathroom near my room was kinda bad. There were more showers next to the toilets but you couldn't lock those :S

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

In general the services and cleanliness was so good. I stayed at room 936 and my comments would be the never ending sound of the air conditioning fans of the building outside, and the distance of the room to men's room and showers. There should be a design that at least a number of rooms with small shower and toilets exist.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed 7 nights in a double room. We were pretty satisfied with everything (cental location, friendly staff, huge gym, clean towels every day, etc), so I would totally recommend the Vanderbilt YMCA. I would not recommend though leaving the bags in the luggageroom, there we had some troubles before the departure. Plus the airconditioner was not working perfectly in the window, it was quite a sauna on the 10th floor. (:

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We appreciate it and we are glad you were satisfied with your stay. We hope to see you again.

100%

great place to stay affordable clean

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Very disappointing stay. Got back to hostel late, cards didn't work, security guards didn't seem to have a procedure in place for this kind of problem esp considering you need card access for toilets.also the Manager next morning assured me he would follow up on a cleaning issue and 2 weeks later I have not heard back, I will be following this up. Also Rooms tiny, bags take up the little floor space you have in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your feedback. We will make sure all security guards know the proper procedures. We can't do anything about the size of the rooms but we will also follow up with housekeeping about the cleanliness of rooms.

37%

The location is perfect, between 47th and 3rd avenue. Rooms are too small Beds are not that comfortable, ok for a night but definitely not for 10. Noisy staff EVERY MORNING at 8am waking me up while they laughed and screamed in the corridors. Dirty room, not even sweeped. Toilets and showers are disgusting. The man in the reception for travels, sold us a ticket and gave incorrect instructions about where to take it. Definitely a place to avoid.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

stayed in a twin room, which was absolutely tiny, and the fridge did not seem to work, so we had to throw away some of our food - there were no communal fridges. definitely very secure, and close by to a lot of downtown attractions, plenty of places to eat near by.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We apologize that your fridge did not work. We would have replaced it, had we known. We hope to see you again.

(72 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback